We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, helpful staff.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1030 North 400 East, North Salt Lake, UT 84054   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Salt Lake
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cheshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Comfortable, helpful staff.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here one night. Room view overlooked the car park which wasn't ideal but don't think any rooms would have had a good view because this hotel is close to the interstate. Room was adequate size, clean, bed was comfortable, brilliant power shower. Complimentary breakfast with lots of foods to choose from. Guest computer in lobby area. Helpful staff at reception. Yes, we would consider this hotel again if needing a nights stay - due to location, don't think I would want to stay longer, but no complaints about it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonTreeManagement, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn - North Salt Lake. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our comfortable rooms and helpful staff. We look forward to the possibility of accommodating your future needs.

Sincerely,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    79
    24
    7
    2
See reviews for
72
60
21
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Greater London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We needed a place to stay en route from Idaho to Bryce Canyon and this hotel fit the bill; it was near the highway and several restaurants. The room was large and comfortable and had an especially comfy arm chair with footrest. The room had very good lighting as well. We had to ask for extra towels as there were not enough for us (4 people).
We used the guest laundry which worked well. The pool looked very nice, though we did not use it. Breakfast was average but served in a lovely area. The breakfast coffee was awful, but the lobby coffee (only steps away) was very good (inexplicably). Fox news was playing in the breakfast area; doesn't America have a better news channel?

Room Tip: This hotel does not have elevators, so if you have difficulty with stairs or have a lot of luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonTreeManagement, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn - North Salt Lake. Thank you for for positive comments regarding the guestroom and comfy arm chair.

We are disappointed to hear we that we provided an underwhelming breakfast experience. We are in the process of revamping our breakfast menu, which now includes freshly made scrambled eggs, and freshly baked breads and pastries from a local bakery. I understand that you did not care for the coffee available in the breakfast area, but found the coffee in the lobby area satisfactory. Please don't hesitate to contact our General Manager or myself with any other suggestions on how we can improve our breakfast offerings.

We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in town. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Sincerely,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales

CC: Erik Gumrecht, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a first-class facility (one of the best we've seen in the Best Western chain), with a large, nicely furnished room, and one of the better complimentary breakfasts we had on our trip (eggs, bacon or sausage, etc.).
A few disappointments:
-- Housekeeping failed to come to our room one day.
-- The mini-frig had been turned down; a puddle of water poured out when we first opened it.
-- Despite offering a TV with 5 HDMI outlets and other connection possibilities, we were told we were not allowed to hook up a camera to the set to view our vacation photos.
It seemed this place was too good for these things to happen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonTreeManagement, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn - North Salt Lake. Thank you for the compliments regarding our large, nicely furnished guestrooms. We are also pleased to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary full hot breakfast.

We are disappointed to hear we failed to provide housekeeping service during your stay. We have housekeeping services available 7 days a week, from 9 a.m. - 2 p.m. We are uncertain as to why your room wasn't serviced, and we are still looking into this issue.

It's true that we offer mini-refrigerators in our Deluxe room types. We are embarassed to hear that the temperature of your refrigerator, causing a puddle of water when you opened the fridge. We are working closely with our staff members on this training issue.

Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail and steps are being taken to ensure these types of issues are handled on a preventive basis. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in town. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Sincerely,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, B.C.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

I stayed here in Aug 2012. Was a nice clean place with friendly staff. Pool open 24hrs and gym also.

Breakfast was a standard morning type. Was good for what it is. A few things to choose from. waffles, french toast, breads, cereals, muffins donuts etc.
Coffee and juices also.

Staff was great, helpful for everything we needed. Was our first time in area so they were happy to help us find something to eat each night.

Lots of places close to walk to and grab a bite to eat.

I would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonTreeManagement, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn - North Salt Lake. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to the possibility of accommodating your future needs.

Sincerely,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our family stayed here twice in July and August. On both occasions we called the hotel several times in advance to make sure our room had a micro/fridge for medical reasons. On both occasions we did not get it. On the final night at 10 pm we got one finally but at that point it was useless. The hotel staff kindly let us use the lobby microwave and the ice machines were plentiful but that along with a long wait for our room makes us hesitate to stay again.

The breakfast was very popular with all the members of the family that can eat out and we all enjoyed the lovely side room next to the breakfast area. Very nicely furnished and a relaxing place to chat. Overall clean, nicely furnished, quiet rooms if families don't mind stairs and don't need a fridge or microwave this might be the ideal place for your visit.

Room Tip: All the stairs and hallways.... if you have mobility issues ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonTreeManagement, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn - North Salt Lake. I am disappointed to hear we failed to provide the requested amenties in your guestroom. Currently we offer mini-refrigerators in our Deluxe room types and microwaves are available upon request. I apologize that we failed to deliver the requested microwave to your room.

Please know that your comments have been reviewed in detail and steps are being taken to ensure these types of issues are handled on a preventive basis. We appreciate your patronage and hope you will stay with us the next time you are in town. I can assure we will do everything we can to make your stay a comfortable and happy one.

Sincerely,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grass Valley, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Easy to get to off the main highway. Room was clean and airy. Nice breakfast with waffles.

Room Tip: Great hotel if you have a pet. Nice room and accommodations. They even give doggie cookies to your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonTreeManagement, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn - North Salt Lake for your recent stay. We are happy to hear that you and your doggy enjoyed the cookies.

Did you know that Best Western has over 1,600 pet friendly hotels world wide? Now you can bring your pet along any time you travel. And it's easy to find a pet-friendly hotel; just go to the Best Western website, type the city you'll be traveling to and look for the pet icon.

Thanks again for choosing our Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn! We appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor and we hope to serve you again in the near future.


Thank you,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We came into Salt Lake City Utah after having had one of the worst days we have had in a long time. We were tired, nearly broke after having engine trouble, exhausted from a stressful day, and I am now at the end of a chesty cold. The three young men working called other hotels to try and get is a nice room at an affordable rate but had no success. I told them of our day and they knocked $42 off the bill for us do that we could have at least one god experience during this otherwise miserable day. These young men and this hotel is an absolute credit to the hotel and customer service industries. If I wasn't so tired and road grungy I would have hugged them all. Thanks to these men my 10 year old got to sleep in a nice clean bed in a cool room instead of a car with no ac. Thanks Best Western, if we ever have to come through again this will always be where we choose to spend the night.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CottonTreeManagement, Director of Sales at BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for choosing our Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn - North Salt Lake for your recent stay. We are happy to hear that we helped turn your stressful day into a relaxing stay at our hotel. Although we do not typically offer such deeply discounted rates, we are glad to hear that our amazing staff went out of there way to help you. We are happy to provide all of our guests a nice clean place to stay, at an affordable price.

Thanks again for sharing your positive feedback on TripAdvisor. I will be certain to share your positive comments with our management team and staff members.

Thank you,
Nicole Walker
Director of Sales
Best Western Plus CottonTree Inn - North Salt Lake
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn

Address: 1030 North 400 East, North Salt Lake, UT 84054
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Davis County > North Salt Lake
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Salt Lake
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the BEST WESTERN PLUS Cotton Tree Inn, located on the edge of Salt Lake City, Bountiful City and Woods Cross in North Salt Lake, Utah. This North Salt Lake hotel is close to the Salt Palace Convention Center, the Lagoon Amusement Park, the Energy Solutions Arena, Legacy Event Center, South Davis Recreation Center, the Great Salt Lake and Antelope Island State Park. Our guests enjoy our free hot American breakfast, free airport shuttle, free parking, free high speed wireless internet access, free local calls & 24 hour access to our indoor pool and hot tub. For the ultimate experience, upgrade to one of our Deluxe King or Double Queen rooms which have been COMPLETELY REMODELED. Featuring all new furnishings, new carpet, new paint, new A/C units, LCD TVs and refrigerators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Cottontree Hotel North Salt Lake
Best Western North Salt Lake
North Salt Lake Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn North Salt Lake, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS CottonTree Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.