We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does the job for an overnight stop” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Motel

Safari Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Safari Motel to your Saves list
Safari Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   413 South Main Street, Nephi, UT 84648   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Nephi
Kettering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
“Does the job for an overnight stop”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

Stooped here whilst making our way up to Yellowstone having been to Zion etc. Its nothing flash but its a reasonably priced place to stay. The owner can come across as a bit off hand to start with but when you start to talk to her she is really nice. Her daughter went to school with the lead singer of the Killers! the rooms are pretty standard for US motels and the pool is pretty good. There are a few restaurants nearby, but it has to be said not much else!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
8
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2007

We stayed here overnight on our way from Grand Tetons to Springdale, Utah.

Motel was clean, quiet, and reasonably priced.

The town was incredibly quiet at night. There was a self service car wash near the motel that allowed me to clean up the car after spending 7 days in Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons.

Except for the motel and car wash, we didn't spend a dime in Nephi.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, CO
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2007

Stay here 2X a year for many years so I can speak from experience of the improvements I have seen over the years both inside the rooms and the properity itself. Nice to see friendly faces that make you feel you are more than just money walking in the door. requests of exta pillow or blanket have have never been a problem. Rooms have always been clean quiet and comftorble.

  • Liked — Clean & Comfy
  • Disliked — Not a thing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2007

This is a small one story motel that is well worn. The carpet is a little threadbare and the linoleum in the bathroom a little curled up. However, my room was absolutely clean as a whistle and the folks that run the motel could not have been nicer. I paid half of what I would have paid at the chain motels just down the road. As an overnight stop on May 19 on my way to Capitol Reef and Monument Valley it was just fine. If you are expecting Turkish towels and damask draperies, forget it. But if you want a clean, reasonably priced place to stay for the night, this is it.

  • Liked — Price and friendliness
  • Disliked — Room was a little small
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2006

I discovered the Safari a few years ago when I was going to spend a weekend in Nephi, and decided to get away from the chain motels at the busy freeway interchanges. I have been staying here once or twice a year since then. This is a small family motel, not luxurious, but well kept and comfortable. It is the kind of place where the staff remembers customers from one visit to the next, and will give suggestions for things to see in the area.

Rooms are very roomy. There are one or two with a kitchen, at a price similar to a regular room in a chain motel. There is a tiny pool, recently renovated, one of the smallest at any motel I've seen but enough for a dip to get cool on a warm day.

There are a few restaurants nearby, also other traveler type businesses, but most are at the freeway exits.

The Safari is on Main Street, off the freeway, so it is quiet. And like most small Utah towns, Nephi is very quiet at night (maybe rodeo time is the exception). It isn't a big tourist haunt, but it's worth a quick detour to have a meal, see some wonderful old preserved homes and interesting cemeteries, and see what small-town Utah looks like. Nearby sights of interest to the west include the Utah west desert, the site of Topaz WWII internment camp, and a fine museum in Delta; and to the east, the Mt. Nebo scenic loop and Highway 89, which is a great alternative to the boring Interstate if you have time.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Motel

Address: 413 South Main Street, Nephi, UT 84648
Location: United States > Utah > Nephi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Nephi
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Safari Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Motel Nephi, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.