We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$50 for a $20 room” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Motel

Safari Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Safari Motel to your Saves list
Safari Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   413 South Main Street, Nephi, UT 84648   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Nephi
Santa Clara, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“$50 for a $20 room”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed at the Safari on my wedding night in 1968. It has been going steadily down hill since. I just stayed there last night and it will be my last. I payed $50 for a $20 room. The wifi wouldn't connect to the internet, the pillows must be from 1968 as they were flatter than last weeks tortilla. I could pee a bigger stream of hot water. Showering was impossible so after wiping someone's pubic hairs out of the tub, I eventually was able to have a bath. The water was so hard i felt like I'd been in a sulfur spring. I can't think of one positive thing to say... Whoops, the girl working there was very nice.

Room Tip: Go some place else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
8
6
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
calif
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We had two rooms for one night in Feb 2013. The good news was 88.00 total for both rooms,
nice beds and no smell. The bad was the lighting, The shower head that sprayed over the shower curtain, the peeling wall paint, old bathroom. Its a good place for a cheap nights sleep.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nephi hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

I stayed one night with my kids and was almost scared!! There was a homless looking man recking of alcohol wandering the parking lot..a girl who was staying on the backside shoveling begging for cigerttes. Its was almost like like a pay by the month hotels you see in bigger citys. The managment was helpful and its in a nice town but for a single woman staying alone with children its very scary!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tooele, Utah
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Any time that I stay in a hotel and actually opt out of taking a shower, that is a sign to me that I should probably not stay there again. The room we stayed in had old towels. They were clean, but why would housekeeping bring towels into a room that look like rags? Unfortunately, the first night of our stay, our child threw up on the sheets and so we put the sheets on the floor. We stayed two nights, but housekeeping did not put new sheets on the bed. They pulled the bedspread up on the bed and left it as-is. And they left the dirty sheets on the floor. The TV was old and did not have a clear picture. The only plus of the room is that it was keyless entry (required a code), but the lock was very loud. The outside of the hotel was unkempt and was not appealing.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Room was clean and comfortable with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Non-smoking room that is enforced so you can breath easy. Friendly management with information about the area. Room is basic, but all that you need for a comfortable night. We like staying at clean, locally run motels when they are available and rooms do not smell like smoke, and this one was good and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

My family stopped in Salt Lake City at a some hotel that cost lots and had a view of a wall. It was Saturday night and a party was getting going near the lobby and we just got out of there. I saw the sign on the highway for the Safari Motel and said, "That's where we've gotta go!" And boy, am I glad we went there. The proprietor was down to earth, the room was big, the big window had a view of the pool and the sunset - sure, the a/c is strange and it's an old hotel, but the Safari has character, charm and was just right for us. It's an "old timey" hotel - you'll have a charming experience if you're OK with that or you'll figure it's run down if you're not OK with that! Go to the Safari and when you leave, you'll wish there were more hotels like this one still around!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Their sign reads 34.95 and up a night. We registered and the rate for 2 went up to $50 a nite.
The rooms AC was located under the bath vanity and had to get down on the ground to turn it on. It took 3 hours to cool the room down. We left the hotel a 4am to find no exterior lighting on which made it difficult to load our luggage on our motorcycle.. The toilet had one bolt missing and the other loose so the seat would slide off the toilet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Safari Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safari Motel

Address: 413 South Main Street, Nephi, UT 84648
Location: United States > Utah > Nephi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Nephi
Hotel Class:2 star — Safari Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Safari Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safari Motel Nephi, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.