We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very noisy room, no privacy” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Junction SR-9 & US-89, East Zion, Mount Carmel, UT 84755   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Phoenix, United States
1 review
“Very noisy room, no privacy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

After a long day at the wheel, we were put in a room with the patio door literally feet from the pool gate and the hot tub. Kids and adults making all kinds of noise and no privacy. We had to keep our curtains closed to be free of wandering eyes. Management did little to help our situation. Said they will ensure the pool was emptied by 10pm, (Its closing time.) They offered us another room, however too little too late.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Next time you are in a hotel and you see your room and you don't like the location, just go right back to the desk at that time. It's a lot to expect to go back hours later, after you are dirtied a room, the hotel is full and want to move because you don't like the rooms location. We do our best to make all guests happy and most love that room! Let yourself be known, but earlier please and a room switch at that time is easy for all. That way you don't have to move your luggage twice either.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    234
    87
    26
    8
See reviews for
178
251
23
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel, for the access to Bryce and Zion National Parks. Everything about it was excellent, with the exception of one VERY slow waitress at one of the three meals we ate in the attached restaurant. The other two waitresses were fine, so it was an isolated problem. The food was great, the room was clean, big, and everything else was satisfactory. We will definitely stay there again the next time we go to those parks.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
The Restaurant is actually under different management, but I do own the hotel and my husband manages it. I am thrilled you found everything with your lodging acceptable. The best compliment I can get is you will return! Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathsville, Virginia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Our room was very clean and spacious - and the staff was extremely helpful. The beds were nice and hard, TV and A/C worked fine, and the room had a little balcony - which was very pleasant for viewing the thousands of stars.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
I hope we never loose our clean skies. The Coral Pink Sand Dunes and Bryce Canyon often have start gazing events, but I would much rather sit on my own balcony at night and enjoy.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harderwijk, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

We wanted a place to stay between Zion park and Bryce canyon. This is a small place with not much around. The hotel has a great restaurant with nice waiters and good beers / food. The rooms are very big and we had a balcony with a view over the golf course. It is very quiet at night and the bed's are very nice. Also a great flatscreen tv for the people who love to watch tv. What can I say, it is just the quality you expect from Best Western.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
You just described the ideal place for me. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
league city, tx, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

It was a nice hotel. Very clean, well laid out, comfortable, and everything worked. We really liked the hot tub after a day of hiking at Zion. The hotel restaurant was good and the staff was very friendly. I think breakfast should have been included with the room price; it is at so much of the competition. It was a bit farther from Zion than I anticipated and I'd look for a place closer next time. If I couldn't find one, I'd satay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Zion is 12 miles from the hotel along a gorgeous scenic byway. If you were on the other side of the park you would get on the shuttle and it would actually take you longer to get into the park and you would be without your car. I love this location! It's away from the lines, traffic and congestion. As for your second point, If breakfast was included our rates would go up quite a bit. The rate of this hotel are very low compared to similar lodging in nearby cities. I personally would rather have the extra cash in my pocket instead of the freebee hotel breakfasts that are usually hard to stomach.

Thank you so much for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

stayed at this hotel based on a recommnedation from a friend, about 30 minutes from Zion which we were viseiting for a few days the room was spacious and very clean. lcd screen and Directv to watch the evining highlights of the world cup, great staff, good rate definetely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
The hotel is exactly 12 miles along a beautiful scenic byway with little traffic, not lights and no stopping. It is about 30 minutes or so to get to the parks visitor center, but that is not the park! Zion and the drive through it is one of the most scenic drives in the US! Enjoy it!

Thank you for your nice review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel was average. It is overpriced. There are no meaningful competitive hotel/motels nearby. The room was a bit tired, but not troubling. The restaurant--did not offer free breakfast. The service at the restaurant ranged from terrible to very good, the terrible part being the reception and seating.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tanya M, Owner at BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
This hotel is not overpriced. We offer some of the best pricing in the area. There are a lot of alternatives including the cities of Kanab and Springdale.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge

Address: Junction SR-9 & US-89, East Zion, Mount Carmel, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Mount Carmel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Mount Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Zion National Park lodging at its best! The BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge offers a refreshing pool, hot tub, great golf fees and free club rentals. Our rooms are 100% smoke free, 100% pet free, with balcony views and patios that overlook the beautiful mountains and lush green golf course, satellite TV. In-room coffee and tea, guest laundry facilities, direct dial in-room phones, free local and 1-800 calls, internet connections, AAA, AARP. We are located 12 miles from the east entrance to Zion National Park, 60 miles from Bryce Canyon National Park, 85 miles from the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, 45 miles from Cedar Breaks National Monument, and 12 miles from the Coral Pink Sand Dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Hotel Mount Carmel
Best Western Mount Carmel
East Zion Thunderbird Hotel
BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge Utah/Mount Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN East Zion Thunderbird Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.