We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A treasure between Zion and Bryce” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Carmel
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins
Save Saved
You added Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins to your Saves list
2155 S. State St., Mount Carmel, UT 84755   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Mount Carmel B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A treasure between Zion and Bryce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one week while exploring the beauty of southwest Utah. This is a perfect location for visiting both Zion and Bryce and the surrounding area. We stayed at the new Cedar Creek Cabin which was delightful and quiet. It has a full kitchen where we ate all of our dinners. There are a few restaurants, but after hiking all day we were happy to be able to fix our meals there. The cabin was very clean with very comfortable beds and sofas; we loved the back deck for stargazing. It was very cool when we were there and the gas fireplace was wonderful. There is an itinerary booklet in the cabin with suggestions for your day trips which we found really helpful. Prepare for a lot of driving, but it does help that the scenery is so magnificent! You can really get off the grid here: WiFi only in the main house and no cell phone service. It is true: Jane's breakfasts are fantastic! Jane and Jim are both great hosts and we enjoyed our conversations with them. We hope to go back to this area again as there is so much more to see and we will definitely stay with Jane and Jim. My only disappointment was that they no longer offer horseback riding. Overall, a perfect place to really get away from it all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    21
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
71
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder Creek, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The place was very comfortable, staff (owners) were very nice, informative, and helpful. And the breakfast was the best! Good to travel so far and get home cooking! We stayed in the Yellow Rose room, which was located in the main house. It was very spacy and comfortable. We had a wonderful stay, thank you for everything!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Due to our last minute family vacation plan (8 members), the lodging options near the “popular” locations like Zion or Bryce Canyons were not available. But that turned out to be a good thing because we stumbled on the Arrowhead Country Inn.

When you check out the location on the map, it seems a bit far from the many of the major parks. But that's not the case, and this is a great “base” to visit the attractions. The Arrowhead web site (http://www.arrowheadbb.com) has a list of the places within driving distance, and the driving times are pretty accurate.

We stayed for five nights in the Garden Cottage, which had a VCR and an extensive collection of movies. It also has a satellite hook up.

We interacted with Jane a lot and she was the “cook” during our stay. The breakfast was fantastic. They made us really feel at home. They called the attractions for reservations and information. Jennings' teen-ager grandson, Kasem was helping out. He kept us entertained during breakfast and gave us “city folks” a personal tour of their farm. The main lodge has a lounge area with wi-fi access and is decorated with many personal touch, including Jane's clay sculptures. The positive comments on the Tripadvisor do reflect the great qualities about the B&B.

Since accessibility is not typically covered on these travel review sites, I will focus on the subject for the rest of this review.

My wife and I are disabled and use power wheelchair. We can stand and transfer with little difficulties. My wife spoke to Jane when we book the rooms. Due to a personal situation in her family, she was very aware of the needs for someone in a wheelchair. We travel a lot, but this was our first B&B and we looked forward to this. One's disability is a very individual thing so talk to Jim or Jane before booking.

For those who need totally accessible accommodation - there is no automatic doors or paved sidewalks. For that, you should consider a hotel in the nearby towns – like the Best Western East Zion Thunderbird Lodge. Otherwise, if you are willing to be “out” there for the B&B experience, the tranquility of the morning air and a family atmosphere, this is a great spot to hang.

The ground:
The Arrowhead is a farm with tractors, horses, chickens, etc. As such, the ground is mainly grass and gravel paths. The paths are pretty leveled around the guest area. But the farm area has steep hills. The main lodge (and registration office) has a ramp (may be steep for some wheelchair users). Most of the cottages have steps onto the porch except for the one that we stayed.

The “Bed”:
During our booking, Jane went to rooms to measure the doorways to make sure our chairs would fit and free of obstacles. Our cottage was roomy. The bathroom was big enough for a wheelchair to turn around and has grab bars on the wall near the toilet. It has a shower. There is about an inch floor lip to prevent water flow out from the stall. The shower stall is big enough to drive your wheelchair into and then some. The stall has a built-in seat. Jane got us a shower stool so we can prop up our legs for stability.

The kitchen area has a small refrigerator, a table, coffee maker, microwave and a sink. The counter space was at a “normal” height. Since we are able to stand, this was not a problem.

Three members of our family stayed in the Yellow Rose Suite which is in the main lodge, on the main floor. We were able to maneuver our chairs inside without a problem. The bathroom is more rectangular and has a jacuzzi with 2 or 3 steps. This room may have worked for us, although getting out of the jacuzzi might be a challenge.

The “Breakast”:
The breakfast is served in a large dining room (turns out that they used to run a restaurant there) with patio access. When you enter the main lodge, you are at the same level as the kitchen, and the dining room has 2 steps going down. They had a small table set up next to the kitchen bar for us. This provided a homey atmosphere and a unique opportunity to interact with Jane and Kasem. Jane would verbally list out the menu and brought us the food and a pot of coffee. One morning, Kasem pulled up a chair and had breakfast with us (it was refreshing to interact with a teen-ager who did not have his face buried in the phone, texting all the time). We never had to wait for the what we needed.

Jane, Jim and Kasem – thanks for the wonderful time.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

Wonderfully homely B&B, good location for exploring the region. Rooms clean and well presented. Jane makes a great breakfast and is a gold mine of information. Real family feel to the place. Would stay here again without doubt.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

We arrived a little early and were pleasantly greeted by our hosts. The Piney cabin looked brand new and was immaculate with everything you would need right down to the last little detail. We spent a long day at Zion and enjoyed a very quiet restful night in a very comfortable cabin. Satellite TV, Coffee maker, and those little things you forget in the bathroom. We enjoyed a very quiet night and awoke to a great tasty breakfast. The location in the middle of 3 National Parks is awesome and our hosts had al the info on what to do and see you could ask. I will definitely stay there on my next visit which could be in the winter for some great views in Zion. Thanks for making us feel right at home only better.
Joe & Lorie

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2010

Smack dab in the middle of 3 national parks (Zion, Bryce and the North Rim of the Grand Canyon)! Not to mention the Grand Escalante National Monument , the little Western movie town of Kanab, Cedar Breaks National Monument, Coral Pink Sand Dunes and on and on. The area is breathtaking.
The hosts of Arrowhead are pleasant and thoughtful. They put an enormous effort into making our stay enjoyable, comfortable and memorable. The breakfasts were superb. We had to be careful not to overeat, otherwise we might not have made it to see the parks eachday, (instead we might have ended up staying in our neat, clean, nicely decorated cabin all-day watching movies from their collection of thousands of VHS videos, not that we wouldn't have liked that too).
We stayed 3 nights. Not long enough. There is way too much to see in just a few days. The next time we come its for at least a week. Now go and enjoy for yourselves!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Center, Kansas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed in the Cottonwood Cabin for 4 nights in June 2010. It was wonderful for a couple who enjoys coming back from sightseeing and preparing their own meals instead of eating out all the time. We did have to drive 17 miles to a grocery store, but we just bought everything we needed and only had to make one trip. Location at Mt. Carmel is fantastic and Jim and Jane and the other business owners were instrumental in getting the road construction in Zion limited to night. You don't often get the government to change, so I commend them for speaking up for the tourists.
Jim and Jane were very sweet people too and helpful to us as far as sightseeing ideas. This was the best place we stayed on our vacation. Thanks you two.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins

Address: 2155 S. State St., Mount Carmel, UT 84755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Mount Carmel
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Carmel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
***Arrowhead Country Inn and Cabins is the perfect BASECAMP between 3 National Parks!! We are only 15 minutes to the East Gate of the spectacular Zion National Park, and 1 hour to Bryce Canyon National Park and 1 1/2 hours to the pristine Grand Canyon North Rim. Arrowhead Country Inn and Cabins is a charming, intimate and romantic Bed and Breakfast in Southern Utah on Scenic Highway 89, across the street from the historic Home Studio of western artist Maynard Dixon. ***A great big full Country Buffet Breakfast is included in the price of your stay ~ Enjoy! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins Hotel Mount Carmel
Arrowhead Country Inn And Cabins
Country Inn Mount Carmel
Mount Carmel Country Inn
Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins Utah/Mount Carmel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arrowhead Country Inn & Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.