We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and family atmosphere!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thunderbird Restaurant

Thunderbird Restaurant
Junction Of Highway 9 & 89, Mount Carmel, UT 84755
435-648-2203
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Amelia Court House, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food and family atmosphere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We had dinner here on our first night in Mt. Carmel. Quick drive from our accommodations at The Arrowhead Country Inn. Family style dining. Good food, good service, good value! It was the perfect spot to eat and relax after a day of driving.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    118
    66
    21
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
West Sedona, Arizona
1 review
“At least the beer and water where ok”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The cucumbers in the salad bar where yellow. The chicken gumbo did not have chicken or rice. The roast beef dinner was straight from the grocery deli and kids meals are overpriced.
Waitress was nice, other than that, we will not be stopping here again. fyi everything was overpriced.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Good food, great pies. Southern charm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Who would expect much from a restaurant linked with a gas station? But they have been there since 1931, and run a great restaurant. Side salads and soups are self serve from a full salad bar!!!! So not just a bowl of lettuce! Meals are good, but ask your server which ones are home made and which are from "restaurant portions". I had grilled chicken breasts, which were from frozen breasts. My wife had buttermilk fried chicken, which was from fresh chicken. But all the meals are good, and they will replace anything that you do not like. Make sure to leave room for their pie, which is home made (ho' made) and a local favorite. Best pie we ever got in a restaurant!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat after going through the tunnel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Good food, excellent waitress. Ate there around 10 in the morning and although they were busy, service was fairly quick. Food was delivered hot and as ordered.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Pies were awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

The food was fine. Good, yummy, filling, etc. Waiter was attentive. No complaints.

The real review is about pie. Chocolate pie, to be exact. My daughters are allergic to nuts and can NEVER have desert in public - NEVER. But, at the Thunderbird, they make all their pies from scratch. They are truly ho-made, not produced in some factory where there are nuts everywhere and no one can promise that a tiny piece of one did not make it into your non-nutty pie. So, my daughters had chocolate pie. And LOVED that chocolate pie, just loved it.

And husband had rhubarb pie - something he loves but can't get in the south - too hot for rhubarb to grow. He was a happy camper, too.

Thank you, Thunderbird!!!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thunderbird Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thunderbird Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thunderbird Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.