We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deluxe tour well worth it if your staying at Gouldings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goulding's Lodge and Tours

Goulding's Lodge and Tours
P.O. Box 360001, Monument Valley, UT 84536
435-727-3231
Improve this listing
Type: Specialty Shops, Sightseeing Tours
Attraction details
Bath
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Deluxe tour well worth it if your staying at Gouldings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We were staying in the RV park at Gouldings and opted for the 3.5 hour deluxe tour. It was reasonable priced, we got to hear a lot of history and facts about Monument Valley and went off road for a short while. It was slightly strange to go visit a lady to watch her weave and I personally would have rathered just seeing some more scenary. If staying at Gouldings its very convenient and if your checking out that day, there are places to leave your RV. It gets extremely dusty so make sure you have sun glasses!

One note: Don't even think about trying to take an RV on the drive yourself!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge and Tours, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Goulding's Lodge management and staff wants to thank this guest for their comments about their Goulding's Monument Valley tour experience. The tours depart directly from the campground and are a great addition to a Monument Valley visit. The tours have a little bit of everything, from exploring the "Eighth Wonder of the World" to experiencing the culture of the "Dine"(Navajo).Thank you!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    38
    16
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Condo with a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed one night with our grown-up sons in one of the houses in the valley behind Gouldings main buildings. Had a pleasant meal in the dining room and then a screening of 'Stagecoach', with a wonderful dawn view of the famous buttes.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge and Tours, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Goulding's Lodge management and staff is so pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed their Monument Valley visit. Thank you for your comments about your stay in one of the Goulding's "house" units. A visit to historic Goulding's Lodge definitely takes you back to the "Old West"....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Ohio
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The Museum Is Good For Film Buffs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

The Museum, which admits you for a donation, is great for movie fans (especially John Forn/John Wayne epics, with lots of info about them. Local history is covered as well.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge and Tours, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Goulding's Lodge management and staff is so pleased to hear that this guest took the time to visit the Goulding's museum. This wonderful historic site contains a large collection of Monument Valley artifacts and movie memorabilia. Thank you so much for your comments encouraging future Monument Valley guests to visit this wonderful piece of history...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appomattox, VA
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“This is a great way to see Monument Valley”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Busses for these tours are available at Goulding's Lodge. They have different tours to choose from. We were on the 21/2 hr. tour with a Navajo guide who was quite knowledgeable about the area. Most of this tour is on Navajo Tribal Lands, and rest stops along the way give ten minute breaks to shop for handmade crafts of tribal members. Our tour also stopped at a hogan where we learned about traditional daily tasks women perform including grinding corn, carding wool, weaving, and other Navajo traditions which we found most interesting. Though dirt roads through the Valley are bumpy and sometimes challenging, our driver was adept at making the ride as comfortable as she could, and the bus saved wear and tear on our car.
Note: if you want the ride that will be easiest on your back, sit near the front of the buss. Take bottled water with you to guard against dehydration, wear sunscreen, and whatever you do take a camera! The scenery is awesome.
We even learned about past and future movies and commercials that are filmed here. Don't miss John Wayne's cabin near Goulding's Lodge. There is a restaurant there for a meal after your ride.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge and Tours, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Goulding's Lodge management and staff is pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed their Goulding's Monument Valley tour...Thank you for your wonderful comments about your Monument Valley adventure...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best views ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a tiny dot on the map on the Utah /Arizona border in Monument Valley but you mustn't miss it. I have been twice now and just love it. Rooms in the lodge are booked months in advance so if you want to stay overnight you will need to book well in advance. They are a little pricey at around $200 per night but worth it for the views. We haven't been organised enough to stay yet and I really regret it. There are also cabins at the nearby campsite for around $100 per night. The views of Monument Valley are amazing and if you spend an hour there you will see the light change and want to photograph them all over again! The museum is free and gives a great insight into life in the Southwest. You can buy a meal in the restaurant and try genuine Navajo flatbread. The gift shop is full of genuine Native American arts and crafts at excellent prices and you will be able to buy something beautiful without feeling that you've been ripped off. The staff are without exception the loveliest people you'll ever meet. And the restrooms are the cleanest I have ever seen anywhere! Next time we visit I am going to book a tour of Monument Valley as well. They range from 2 hours to full day and include full moon tours which sounds lovely if your visit coincides with one.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge and Tours, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Goulding's Lodge management and staff is so pleased that this guest enjoyed their Monument Valley visit...Thank you for your comments...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goulding's Lodge and Tours also viewed

 

Been to Goulding's Lodge and Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goulding's Lodge and Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.