We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goulding's Stagecoach Dining Room

Goulding's Stagecoach Dining Room
1000 Lodge Road, Goulding's Lodge, Monument Valley, UT 84536 (Formerly Stagecoach Dining Room)
435-727-3231
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Native American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

nice people and the food was good. Try the Navajo fried bread, you have enough for 2 days :-)

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    140
    92
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Try the Navajo fried bread with either beef stew or chilli for some authentic native food. Service was kinda ok but the location is great.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Two Good Dinners”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We had two meals here. I did not like the fact that very large grilled green chillies were added to the plates as I hate chillies but I guess it is part of the local cuisine. The chicken I had on the first night was a little dry but tasty and the steak on the second night was pretty good. My husband had a Navajo Fry Bread with chillie con carne and it was an enormous helping. The Fry Bread was delicious, I tasted a small piece, but incredibly fattening!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, CA
Top Contributor
246 reviews 246 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Convenient and ok dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Meals were ok, but not exceptional. The Navajo Fry Bread was a large portion but left my wife with digestive issues for the next day or so. Be aware that alcoholic beverages are not served because of Navajo regulations. Service was ok, with the older wait staff better than the younger servers.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich UK
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 252 cities Reviews in 252 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
“Not the authentic experience ?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Had a pretty unpleasant meal here, and not convinced it was just us not appreciating "Navajo cuisine", and we did pick what we thought was intended to represent as such. I recall greasy fry bread, a plate of chili-hot but otherwise tasteless green gloop, some meat stew, some fried jalopenos. And Navajo law means no alcoholic drinks allowed on the Reservation, let alone in the restaurant. The service was OK though, and my partner's particularly unpleasant main course was substituted for another without any fuss; but wasn't much better. If you're staying at Gouldings it is the only dining-out option, but in the Park over the main road, there are others, such as the View, which may be a better bet. But if you have self-catering options, eg staying in a RV, I would do just that.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goulding's Stagecoach Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Goulding's Stagecoach Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goulding's Stagecoach Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.