We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goulding’s Trading Post Museum.

Goulding’s Trading Post Museum.
1000 Main Street Monument Valley, Monument Valley, UT 84536
435) 727-3231
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Museums
Attraction details
the hague
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Worth the visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

When visiting Monument Valley, you pass by the historic Goulding's lodge where film crews (John Wayne, John Ford) stayed and filmed in the 40's and '50. The museum is actually the original home of the Gouldings and it definitely worth a short visit. It is packed with nostalgia and memorabilia from the movies that were shot in Monument Valley, and tells the history of the trading post and the area around it, and of the Gouldings family and their efforts to show the natural beauty to the outside world.
The little hut behind the museum was used in the movie with John Wayne but he never actually stayed in there.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    56
    12
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“stunning place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

we stayed at gouldings rv park, in sept/ oct 2012
i had wanted to visit as long as i can remember, and the scenery did not let me down, i'll be reviewing that elsewhere, so on to the museum.
as a lifelong john wayne fan, it was an excellent place to visit, with get ups of nathan brittle's cabin, and lots of movie memorabilia.
as i remember, it was donations on the way out.
we had photo ops with a john wayne cutout etc
great place to visit while in monument valley

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Nuys, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great~!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed at Gouldings Dec. 29th-30th 2013. I work in the film biz and the museum not only showed life as it was but a great exhibit of the movies/tv commercials shot there. The entire experience is well spiritual. What an amazing place, exhibit, people. I'm am so glad we made the trip!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, UT
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Well worth the side trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I had been to this museum several times in years past and was eager to take our visitor there. It was special and interesting to me all over again. I always learn something new about the Gouldings, their history in the valley, the Navajo community that they lived in, the wonderful pioneer culture and eventually the Hollywood connection that gave us so many westerns with that beautiful backdrop.
I love it that the museum is housed in the original Goulding trading post with their small, but comfortable living quarters upstairs, left much as it was in their day. The photos are all wonderful as are the artifacts, movie posters and original behind the old, small trading post counter. It makes one appreciate the amazing life that the residents of that valley lived and continue to do so.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Worth the trip up there”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Some stunning scenery and a great snap shot of the history of the homestead. Great visit for western fans.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goulding’s Trading Post Museum. also viewed

 

Been to Goulding’s Trading Post Museum.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goulding’s Trading Post Museum., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.