We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Rate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monument Valley Safari

Monument Valley Safari
Highway 163 Navajo Market, Monument Valley, UT 84536
928.209.1364
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Navajo Owned and Operated touring Company, Offering Private, Scenic, Cultural excursions into Monument Valley and the Surrounding area.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Stroller parking
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“First Rate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Had a perfect experience. Our guide, Clint, was incredibly knowledgeable and professional. He had great insights into the history of monument valley and Navajo culture. Beyond that, Clint helped me frame my pictures so I could get truly once in a lifetime photos. Many people think my photos were taken by a professional thanks to his advice and assistance!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    558
    31
    4
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merritt Island, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great sunset safari!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Everything from booking the tour to being dropped off at the View Lodge was a great experience. Even though we booked the 2.5 hour tour, our very pleasant guide never made up feel rushed and we ending up being with him over 3 hours to enjoy a beautiful sunset! Our guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. He offered photo tips as well as volunteered to be our photographer. I really wish I could remember his name because our group of 7, age range 14 to 58, had a great experience with him on our safari.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutherford, Tennessee 38369
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent tour highly reccommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I had been to the area before but did not appreciate it until I took this tour our guide Mathew was excellent I would recommend the Suburban rather than the open truck. Excellent tour and well worth the money Do not take the self guided tour it is brutal on your vehickle The guided 3.5 hour tour is excellent

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
114 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Starry, Starry Night then Chasing the Light”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Two of us met our Navajo Guide at 3:30 AM at the View Hotel for a chance to take star-studded photos against the monuments. It was an ugly hour, but Clint, our guide took us to some great areas and placed us so we had an opportunity to get some amazing shots!
We had tripods--a must--and we were very comfortable with our cameras and manual settings in the dark--another good idea. This was a bit pricey, so if you're a point and shoot guy, it may not be worth the effort.
The moon was a sliver so the night sky was perfect. Plus there were not many clouds so the Milky Way and the monuments were magnificent.
Clint drove us in a new Suburban and took us down roads marked "No Trespassing." This is the benefit of using a Navajo guide! Plus he is a photographer and has worked with many photographers so he knew where to get us as the light changed.
There was no wasting time. He would position each of us at two nearby locations, tell us to switch, then we would jump in the car and we would tear off to the next location--we really were chasing the light!
As dawn broke, we spent another hour catching light across sand dunes, though arches, and on monuments glowing in the morning light.
A fantastic adventure--well worth the time and money!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Ask for a Nelson”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Prior to our departure Nate helped design the appropriate tour based on our desire to learn more about the Navajo culture, get off the beaten trail and take pictures. We had the fortune of being guided by Nelson in a pristine clean Suburban all to ourselves.He is truly a Navajo elder who related stories from his childhood to the present. One can just not appreciate the sacred culture of Monument Valley without embarking on a more detailed tour. We had the opportunity to observe a rug maker in her home. Now we understand why an authentic Navajo rug is costly.
Splurge and avoid a group tour - our experience was priceless.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monument Valley Safari also viewed

 

Been to Monument Valley Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monument Valley Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.