We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best way to see Monument Valley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monument Valley Safari

Monument Valley Safari
Highway 163 Navajo Market, Monument Valley, UT 84536
928.209.1364
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Navajo Owned and Operated touring Company, Offering Private, Scenic, Cultural excursions into Monument Valley and the Surrounding area.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Lockers / storage, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best way to see Monument Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Monument Valley was a must see for me, and I booked both the Lower Monument Valley and the Mystery Valley tours. Clint picked us up for the dawn Monument Valley tour. Clint is a cool and knowledgable guy. The tour went further into the Valley than the public is allowed and Clint showed us various meeting places, petroglyphs and some former dwellings. The colours in the early morning light were lovely and warm, and Clint had a good eye for a photo opportunity. One of the good things about this tour compared to many of the other tours on that morning was the fact that we travelled in a nice comfortable and warm Chevy, rather than suffer in the back of a cold and windswept open vehicle.

In the late afternoon Myron met me for the Secret Valley tour, and as luck would have it, I was the only person on this particular trip. Secret Valley is different and smaller in extent, and has a somewhat different geology to Monument Valley itself. There are also many more old dwelling places to see. Myron explained to me various aspects of Navajo culture and history as we drove around and walked through many interesting places.

At the end of the day, I felt privileged to have been able to participate in these tours. My guides were Navajo people, with a history and connection with the land, and a willingness to show and teach.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    539
    28
    4
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
1 review
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My wife and I experienced two wonderful four hour tours with Monument Valley Safari, each emphasizing photographic opportunities: One with Ray to the Mystery Valley, and the other with Clint to Lower Monument Valley. Both guides and tours were spectacular. They tailored the tour to our interests, were friendly and provided us insights into Navaho life and culture. We highly recommend this company and these guides.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrific”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

What a wonderful experience,to see the valley for real is truly great,we have all seen them on Cowboy films but nothing is as good as seeing it with your own eyes.The guides are all wonderful,and can tell you everthing you will ever want to know,and all the little extras that they put in makes you feel like you are really special to them,you cant explain the true magnitude of this wonderful valley

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolsover
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Memorable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My wife and I visited Monument Valley Utah during September 2013 and before we left the UK we booked a jeep tour with Monument Valley Safari Tours.The tour we booked was a 3 hour tour and this certainly was not too long.We were met punctually as requsted in the lobby of the View Hotel at 10-45 am by a tour representative who was very cheerful and informative.Our Navajo guide for the tour was Bobby and this guy was brilliant.All through the tour he was extremely informative and showed great interest in is job,which at times for him must be very repetative.There were only five people on our particular tour,a couple from Australia,a young lady from Transylvinia,and ourselves.All of us were tremendously immpressed with the tour and our guide.Bobby even took us to a cavenous rocky canyon deep in the valley and played Navajo music to us on his flute..Absolute magic!..My wife and I found this tour to be one of the top highlights of our US visit and we shall never forget it.The tour was great value for money and carried out in the most professional manner and offered all of us on the tour the greatest enjoyment .From the experience we had with them we cannot recommend Monument Valley Safari Tours highly enough..easily a 10 out of 10..Wonderfully unforgetable experience!
Ruth and Clive Monks
United Kingdom

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent way to see incredible landscape”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

In our opinion, jeep tours are the best way to see Monument Valley to the fullest. We took the 3.5 hour scenic and cultural tour (most of which was scenic with the guide providing cultural information along the way). This tour included the 17-mile loop that the public can drive plus many other areas that were exclusive to tour groups. The areas for tours only include petroglyphs, several stunning arches, and a natural amphitheater (to name a few). If you’re considering driving the loop road, the road conditions are about a 4 out of 10, meaning that small rental cars would have trouble (we saw a mustang having difficulty) but the road is possible but still bumpy for larger SUVs with higher clearance.

Monument Valley is spectacular, so any tour would probably do. We chose the afternoon one because the light is better in the afternoon towards sunset (its more shaded in the morning). Our guide seemed a bit new, so he was ok but not excellent.

For information about accommodation, see our review of the View hotel. For more stories from our trip, see The Curious Travelers blog.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monument Valley Safari also viewed

 

Been to Monument Valley Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monument Valley Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.