We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey But The View Definately Worth It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The View Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monument Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The View Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Miles E Highway 163, Monument Valley Tribal Park, Monument Valley, UT 84536   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Monument Valley
Rowley, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pricey But The View Definately Worth It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We could only afford to stay here one night, but it is the second time we have been to Monument Valley. The View Hotel is excellent. No matter what room you stay in, you have a view of the Valley! The staff could not be more attentive. The rooms were impecably clean and the beds comfortable. You get to see the sunset and sunrise right from your private balcony if you so desire. The night we were there we got to see an amazing rainbow over the valley--albiet it only rained for about 10 minutes! The restaurant has a good menu and the staff there is fantastic. If you are visiting Monument Valley try to make this a one-night stay.

Room Tip: We got a more expensive top floor. This enables one to see all the stars at night. Any room here wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,752 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,631
    834
    217
    54
    16
See reviews for
722
1486
64
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel has a great view, which is essentially what you are paying for. The hotel itself and the service is average at best. Our room was simple, clean and spacious, however the view from our room was awesome. The restaurant food was simple but decent. We stayed in early February and there were very few other guests but we were made to wait 40mins past the check-in time before our room was ready.
Enjoy the view and be prepared not to expect friendly service or for the hotel staff to go out of their way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Monument Valley! Enough said! Nice hotel, charming lobby, good rooms with breathtaking views, amazing to watch the sunset from the porch and sunrise from your room balcony (or vice versa), good restaurant, can't find a fault really, it was exactly as advertised and expected; a nice hotel surrounded by the rocks you've gone all that way to see

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Rating this place purely as a hotel I'd give it 3 stars, but naturally for the view (hence the name) then I'd give it 5 stars. The location is second to none, in fact I can't believe they got permission to build a hotel literally slap-bang in the middle of some of the most iconic landscape in the US, so on that point this place scores super highly!

We splurged somewhat and got a room on the third floor (about $300 per night), meaning we'd have unfettered access to the star view. Unfortunately it was pretty stormy (surprisingly for July!) but hey that's life, the view was SERIOUSLY amazing and the room was actually a lot larger than we anticipated too.

Going off topic slightly, I must add that after visiting most of the national parks, (Bryce, Arches, Zion, Grant Canyon), Monument Valley is a must-see, it's simply sublime.

Back to the hotel though. It was 'fine' but they fell short on a few things that I consider to be pretty important (and some will disagree), namely;

* Lack of wireless in the rooms. There was wireless in reception, but that's it. I totally get that it's a remote location and there is some good reason for this - but this for me is an important factor in a hotel.
* The restaurant was just foul, I mean seriously foul. My partner was served some Navajo mutton stew which was just slop (and cold to boot, one of my pet hates). The other issue for me is that, being an Indian Reservation, the hotel & surrounds are dry dry dry. You cannot buy a drink anywhere for love nor money. So I urge you, if you are partial to a tipple of an evening then BYOB and have a tipple on your balcony, like I did for my birthday :)
* For the price we were paying, you'd at least expect semi-decent house-keeping. I must say I'm generally a pretty relaxed person (bar the issues above, honestly!) but my bed sheets were literally pulled up (the bed looked like it was made by a messy teenager), the pillows remained on the floor and all the wet towels (on the floor) were not picked up either. Pretty sloppy really.

This hotel is really the only place to stay though, so do go there! It's not amazing, but the valley is!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

we had a corner room on the top floor.....view was awesome......hotel rooms were clean and spacious but short of the quality you will find at four star plus properties.....restaurant was simple to most family casual restaurants......Applebees, Chilis, etc.....no pool or hot tub (would be awesome for star gazing).......WIFI only in lobby........no beer, wine or other alcohol.....many more international guests than USA guests and it was very enjoyable meeting and talking to others from around the world.......front desk folks mentioned to me that international guests generally exceed USA guests most of the time......glad to have those guests visiting us here in the states.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I absolutely loved this hotel . Our room had a magnificent view, it was clean, comfortable and I loved the southwesternmotif. The View very much exceed my expectations. It was so also so much fun to see that the hotel shows Stage Coach as an outdoor movie.
On the other side of spectrum, we not very happy at the Views restaurant's service. While the food was good, the service was terrible. Our waitress disappeared and after 20 minutes we stopped another waiter and ask him to please get our drinks. When you are in the desert keeping hydrated is essential. It took us over 50 minutes to get a simple burger and yes our waitress was still on duty. The rating below are strictly for the hotel not the restaurant!!!!

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor unobstructed view, it was worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

After having come from a few days at the Grand Canyon, my family and I travelled out to Monument Valley for the first time wondering if it was worth the drive. In hindsight, it turned out to be a highlight of our roadtrip. The View Hotel is well worth a stay. It has been thoughtfully designed to give travellers a great experience. From the restuarant that gives you a range of Native American and American food, to the tasteful layouts of the room. The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly. And the view...!

Room Tip: It's a dry county, so either respect the locals traditions or remember before arriving to bring...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The View Hotel

Address: 4 Miles E Highway 163, Monument Valley Tribal Park, Monument Valley, UT 84536
Location: United States > Utah > Monument Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Monument Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The View Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The View is the only hotel inside the Monument Valley Tribal Park. Every guestroom has a private balcony with a view of the iconic formations of Monument Valley - so close that you feel like you can reach out and touch The Mittens! Guestrooms feature flat screen TVs, coffee makers, refrigerator, microwave, and wireless Internet. Enjoy the panorama of Monument Valley while dining in The View restaurant with views to the rising sun and the sunset as well. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
View Hotel Monument Valley
The View Hotel Monument Valley, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The View Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The View Hotel to your Saves list