We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Goulding's Lodge & Campground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Goulding's Lodge & Campground to your Saves list
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Main Street, Monument Valley, UT 84536   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had originally hoped to get into The View, but having stayed at Gouldings Lodge we were not disappointed. We stayed in a casita, a short drive from the main lodge but generously spaced for a party of 4, with 2 double bedrooms, fitted kitchen, laundry facilities and – most importantly – a clear view out towards sunrise over Monument Valley.
The Lodge could make more of its Western heritage as a trading post, but there is an excellent small museum and a cinema showing John Wayne movies ("Stagecoach" or "The Searchers") every evening. If you are a Western fan, this is a better deal than The View.
The restaurant was good value although it did get busy during the day because of the tour buses.
We did the full day 4x4 tour of Mystery Valley and Monument Valley and loved every minute of it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Goulding's Lodge management and staff is so pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed their overnight accommodation and Monument Valley tour at our historic property. Established in the 1920s as a Navajo Trading Post, Goulding's Lodge has a long and varied Monument Valley history. The original trading post is now a museum, which highlights Monument Valley and movie history. The All Day tour with barbecue hamburger lunch explores all of the wonders of this unique area, including Mystery Valley, home to the Anasazi(The Ancient Ones). Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    649
    248
    81
    45
See reviews for
404
713
61
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beaufort, SC
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Goulding's Lodge is descended from the historic trading post run by "Mike" and Harry Goulding. The lodge overlooks Monument Valley and the view is spectacular. The original trading post is now a museum and definitely worth a look. There is also a lot of movie history on display; if you watch westerns, you have seen Monument Valley. Since I was with a tour group, we dined in a large side room. The ambiance was more like a cafeteria, but the food was good. There is a nice store/gift shop on the premises. Be aware that there is a hike and a hill (partly traversed by lots of stairs) to get from most of the rooms to the rest of the compound.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Goulding's Lodge management and staff is so pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed their stay with us at our historic property. Thank you so much for your comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent one night here on our Trafalgar Tour in June. Although the rooms are basic, they are ample and clean. The view from the balcony was spectacular and worth staying there for. The bed was comfortable, breakfast next morning was good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Goulding's Lodge management and staff is so pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed their stay with us at our historic property. Thank you so much for your comments...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We wanted to stay overnight in Monument Valley and other than The View ( I believe) there is no other place to stay but Gouldings. Because of its almost iconic status, I expected something better than we found. We stayed in a suite about a half mile from the reception and restaurant, which was not a problem. No views. The living room was really quite smelly but frequently brewing a coffee partly solved that problem! Otherwise the place was clean and the kitchen well provided. The restaurant was modest, a limited choice but reasonably priced. My wife enjoyed the free John Wayne film showing, I suppose it added to the Monument Valley experience. The resort supermarket is large and well stocked. We did the 4WD tour which we thought was overpriced, there really isn't a great deal more to see in the Valley than what you can see from the highway. I would advise not doing anything more than the Basic Tour early afternoon, otherwise you might become seriously bored doing a longer tour.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Goulding's Lodge management and staff wants to thank this guest for sharing their comments with us regarding their stay at our historic property. Established in the 1920s as a Navajo trading post, the property has a long and diversified Monument Valley history. Goulding's also offers Monument Valley tours that depart from the property. The "Basic" tour covers the 17 mile loop drive of the Monument Valley Navajo Tribal Park, exploring the world-renowed monoliths, such as: "The Mittens"; "John Ford's Point"; and "Artist's Point". The longer, "Deluxe" tour covers all that the basic tour covers, but also enters in the restricted areas of Monument Valley, where the tour visits "Ear of the Wind"; "Big Hogan Arch"; "Moccasin Arch"; and "Sun's Eye", just to name a few. I can't imagine a trip into this magnificent restricted area of Monument Valley to be boring to anybody...Thank you again for your comments...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

When we booked this accommodation, we were told that the lodge was sold out, and the only lodging available was the "Rock Door Canyon Casita". They shared that it was in a canyon, did not have a view, and was 1/2 mile from the lodge. We did not find the canyon location to be a problem and it was very close to the main lodge. The unit was clean with 3 bedrooms, 2 baths, kitchen and living room.

In Spanish, a "casita" is a small house. We were expecting a unique Southwestern style accommodation ..... No one ever told us it was trailer/manufactured home. I think calling it a casita is deceptive. We might have booked it anyway due to its proximity to Monument Valley, but would have appreciated a more accurate description of the accommodation.

The staff was polite and responsive.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Goulding's Lodge management and staff wants to thank this guest for sharing their comments with us regarding their stay at our historic property. Goulding's Lodge is a large property of one square mile, almost it's own little community. Besides the regular motel rooms, the property does offer multi-bedroom, family style units for nightly rental. There is a variety of different types of these units, with a varying Monument Valley view. Again Thank You for your comments...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

It is in a reasonable position. If you are camping you will be in a rather small spot. I arrived just be fore a tour I wanted to do started they were very accommodating. Bring your automobile association membership to receive a discoutn.

Disadvantages:

1. It advertises WiFi but it keeps dropping out. Computer in laundry very slow.

2. Showers close at half eight in the evening and are shut for two hours during the day. They also can only be accessed when the office is open as they are part of the building. There is no natural light or mechanism to extract the steam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Goulding's camppark management and staff wants to thank this guest for sharing their comments regarding their camping experience at our historic property. Your comments will help out staff to provide the high level of service that Goulding's property is noted for. Again Thank You...!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We felt our room was overpriced. It was comfortable enough but there were 2 wasps in it when we arrived and there wasn't enough parking in the lot closest to our room so we had to schlep our luggage late at night when we arrived. You really don't have much choice but to eat at their restaurant, which is very mediocre. Monument Valley itself is amazing and we took one of the lodge's bus tours to see it since we only had one day. The tour was the highlight, but again, we felt it was very pricey. There aren't many lodging choices in the area so this was fine, just set your expectations.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Goulding's Lodge management and staff wants to thank this guest for taking the time to comment on their stay with us at our historic property. Established in the 1920s as a Navajo trading post, Goulding's Lodge is one square mile. It is located in a extremely rural area of Monument Valley, so all of the property's infrastructure is maintained and updated by the property owners. Goulding's Lodge is a very unique property, located in a very unique area. Thank you....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Goulding's Lodge & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goulding's Lodge & Campground

Address: 1000 Main Street, Monument Valley, UT 84536
Location: United States > Utah > Monument Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Goulding's Lodge & Campground 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Goulding's Lodge & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goulding`s Lodge And Campground
Goulding`s Lodge & Campground Hotel Monument Valley
Gouldings Hotel Monument Valley
Gouldings Hotel Campground
Gouldings Lodge Monument Valley
Goulding Lodge
Goulding's Lodge & Campground Monument Valley, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goulding's Lodge & Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.