We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goulding's Lodge & Campground

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Goulding's Lodge & Campground to your Saves list
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Main Street, Monument Valley, UT 84536   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Sydney
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Location and Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Very simple cosy cabin with all facilities needed. It kept us nice and warm on a very cold night. Good Value and most importantly close to monument valley. It's worth waking up early and watching the sun rise over the monuments.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Goulding's campground management and staff is so pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed their stay in one of our camping cabins. These cabins are equipped with a little kitchen and bathroom and make for a cozy, comfortable campground experience. And the Monument Valley view isn't too bad either. Thank you for your comments...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    592
    236
    78
    45
See reviews for
370
647
55
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aldridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

The terrible service and organisation at Gouldings Campsite meant we were double booked with 30+ French teenagers and their teachers. Did the campsite and their incredibly rude staff remedy this? No. We camped in the car park because there were no other options and the staff left as the night came in. The bathrooms, although clean, were closed in the morning. The reception/shop staff did not rush themselves at all, attempt politeness or attempt helpfulness as we waited outside the shop to use alternative showers before left (which were also locked until the manager allowed us in). If you are camping in Monument Valley, pay for a Navajo Hogan experience and not Gouldings Campsite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Goulding's campground management and staff is sorry to hear that our campground did not meet up to this guest's expectations. We want to apologize for their less than perfect stay. Your comments will help our campground staff to better serve future campers...Thank you for your comments...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We had a decent experience at Goulding's Lodge on a recent one-night stay. Check-in was smooth and quick, and our room was clean, comfortable and quiet to outside noises. The air conditioner, which was necessary in the heat, made a bit of a racket which was the only thing that disturbed the peace and quiet of the place. As others have mentioned, each room has a porch with knockout views. The rooms look to the east, toward the buttes of Monument Valley, making sunrise truly spectacular. Although adequately sized, our room was a bit on the small side and the bathroom and sink setup are a bit cramped and in need of a makeover. The bathroom had a loose rocking toilet, which was a bit disconcerting. Bath towels were old and scratchy-feeling.

The historical trading post/museum on the property was an interesting feature. Our kids liked the wagons and many of the displays. If you're a fan of John Wayne movies, the property would probably be of more interest.

All in all, I'd give this hotel a higher rating if the price was about 50% lower. You're paying high-end rates for the experience of staying in Monument Valley. The accommodations are adequate, but certainly nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Goulding's Lodge management and staff wants to thank this guest for sharing their comments regarding their stay with us at our historic property. Established in the 1920s as a Navajo Trading Post, the property has a long and rich Monument Valley history. And yes, many Hollywood greats have made Goulding's Lodge their temporary home. Thank you again...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Durham
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed here as a couple in our late 20's for 1 night in the campground part of the lodge. The location was excellent right in the middle of Monument Valley with only a 10 minute drive to the 17 mile scenic drive loop. We stayed in the red rock casita, which was basically a large static caravan. It had a open plan kitchen and living area with sofas, breakfast table and chairs, TV, cooker, large American fridge freezer, washer, dryer and cutlery. The bedroom was a separate room with wardrobes, Bathroom with bath and shower. It also had AC in the kitchen part, and a good sized decking area outside with table and chairs, where we had a BBQ and watched the sunset. The casita was abit old and dated, didn't smell very nice when first entered, needs refurbishment, but was large and clean. The campground had lots of facility's ; supermarket, fuel station, fitness center, shop, indoor pool and the lodge had a restaraunt all very close by. The biggest downside was they did not serve any alcohol due to Indian law, and the nearest town where you could get it from was 20 mile away, so stock up before you get there! The view from where we stayed was very good, the best place for the view was the visitors center which was right next door to the View hotel, but to stay there was nearly double the price of the red rock casita we stayed in at $168 including all taxes. You could book a range of tours from the lodge reception. I would definitley recommend staying here for anyone visiting monument valley.

Room Tip: Make sure you stock up on alcohol before you get there as nearest town to purchase was 20 mile away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Goulding's Lodge and campground management and staff is so pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed their stay in one of our "casita" units. Historic Goulding's Lodge is a large property of one square mile. Not only does the property have regular motel rooms, but also family style units with full kitchens. These units can be a nice change for guests on vacation who are staying in a different motel every night. Yes, Monument Valley is on the Navajo Indian reservation, so the sale of liquor is prohibited. So, just remember, BYOB!! Thank you for your comments....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirmione, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Go there only if there it's stormy, no one is around, it's night time and you like filthy rooms. The bed's blankets were so short that the final part of the mattress was left uncovered having our feet touching what was left by all the other visitors' feet...
I allready immagine their apologies, and this lets me down quite a bit because I'm sure they won't care at all. I do really hope on a change of management and property.
No words deserve to be spent about the restaurant.
If possibile sleep in your car...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Goulding's Lodge management and staff is very sad to hear that this guest did not enjoy their stay with us at our historic property. We do apologize for any discomfort that you may have experienced. Your comments will help our staff to better serve future guests. Thank you for your comments...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed one night at Goulding's and had a very comfortable, clean room with a fantastic view of Monument Valley. It was nice to sit on the balcony in the evening and watch the sun go down. This is the place for western movie buffs....John Wayne's cabin from one of his films is on location along with the original home and trading post that the Goulding's lived in before the lodge was added...meals were great and on the generous side! We enjoyed every moment there. I can't say enough about the staff in the restaurant...they were all very gracious and friendly.

Room Tip: get a balcony facing Monument Valley!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Goulding's Lodge management and staff is so pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed every aspect of their stay with us at our historic property. Established in the 1920s as a Navajo trading post, the Goulding's museum contains a large collection of Monument Valley artifacts and movie memorabilia. The movie location from "She Wore a Yellow Ribbon" is part of the free Goulding's museum. Thank you so much for your comments!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

As part of a trip through West America, I stayed two nights at Goulding's Lodge. Rooms very good quality, more hotel then simple motel. And most important, all rooms with terraces and view on Monument Valley as seen on several photo's posted. View hotel has closer views, but I consider this definitely second best, and easier to book then the View. Restaurant for dining was not good: a steak medium-rate/pink was always served as gray. Second night opted for a pizza from the foodcorner at the gas-station, eat it on the terrace and enjoining the magnificent view of Monument Valley by sunset.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Goulding's Lodge management and staff is so pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed their two night stay with us at our historic property. Established in the 1920s as a Navajo Trading Post, Goulding's Lodge has a long and varied Monument Valley history. From Navajo culture to Hollywood, Goulding's Lodge has a little piece of all that makes the American Southwest such a great destination. Your comments regarding the restaurant will help to provide a higher level of food service to future guests of the lodge. Thank you for your comments...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Goulding's Lodge & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goulding's Lodge & Campground

Address: 1000 Main Street, Monument Valley, UT 84536
Location: United States > Utah > Monument Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Goulding's Lodge & Campground 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Goulding's Lodge & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goulding`s Lodge And Campground
Goulding`s Lodge & Campground Hotel Monument Valley
Gouldings Hotel Monument Valley
Gouldings Hotel Campground
Gouldings Lodge Monument Valley
Goulding Lodge
Goulding's Lodge & Campground Monument Valley, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goulding's Lodge & Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.