We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice modest property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Goulding's Lodge & Campground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Goulding's Lodge & Campground to your Saves list
Goulding's Lodge & Campground
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 Main Street, Monument Valley, UT 84536   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Montgomery, Alabama, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Nice modest property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My sister and I decided to stay another night in Monument Valley. We had been at The View but they were booked for the next night. We decided to stay at Goulding's Lodge. Although not as grand as The View, we enjoyed our stay. We visited the Goulding's Museum and the John Wayne movie set home. I felt this property did a good job of capturing the movie history made here. They also showed the old black and white film of Stage Coach. Since we had been to Monument Valley the day before, it was fun to recognize the trade landmarks in the film.

Room Tip: I would choose the rooms on the second tier by the trading post and restaurant - less stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, November 23, 2012
Goulding's Lodge management and staff is so pleased that these sisters enjoyed their Monument Valley visit and overnight stay at our historic property. Established in the 1920s as a trading post, Goulding's Lodge has a long and diverse history in the Monument Valley area. A visit to this unique property definitely brings the visitor back to the "Old West". Thank you for your comments..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    649
    248
    81
    45
See reviews for
404
713
61
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Overgaard, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed for one night with our dogs in the campground, which was packed. Unfortunately, it was hard to stay and enjoy the incredible views of Monument Valley because we were all packed in like sardines. We have an RV with tow vehicle. The sites are way too small. The showers had scorpions in them, (my husband killed two in the men's) so I opted to use our RV shower instead. One other downside was the red dust that gets everywhere. The site had no grass or gravel, so our outdoor space was red dirt. We have indoor/outdoor carpeting but even with that, the red dirt tracked everywhere. We would not stay in the camp ground again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Goulding's campground management and staff apologizes to this guest for their less than satisfactory stay at the campground. Thank you for your honest comments. This will help the campground staff to provide a higher quality of service for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick , Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed at Gouldings from Oct. 23 to Oct 27. What a wonderful experience it was..The Navajo people who take care and work at the lodge were very nice. The meals were big and delicious.We took 2 tours The 3 1/2 hour and the next day the whole day tour..When they say the west is big I now know what they mean. Ask for Georgy for the all day tour.He taught us many things and explained everything we asked. He sang us a beautiful song as we rode along..This is the 8th wonder of the world and it lives up to it. I now watch John Wayne movies with a different look at the back ground . The history of Gouldings is just amazing..Go and you will not regret it. Ron and Diane

Room Tip: The third level has the best view and your room will be close to the restaurant and museum.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you Ron and Diane for taking the time to comment about your stay with us at historic Goulding's Lodge. The management and staff truly appreciates it. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your Monument Valley tour and were able to learn about Navajo culture from the tour guide. Goulding's Lodge Monument Valley tours truly brings back the "Old West"....Again, Thank you...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our group took Gouldings' Deluxe Tour of Monument Valley, saw the free movie, and had lunch here twice, without staying in the hotel (there was not room for the group). My family had camped in the campground last year and found it fine-with GREAT views. The restaurant served the best food we had on the whole tour (until we got to Flagstaff). Everyone appreciated the tour, though many of the places on the tour could have been seen in one's own car. I don't think the commercial tour bus would have been allowed to enter the Valley, as it is part of Navajo Tribal Lands, and they reserve the right to make money on their lands. If I were to go back again, I would try to stay at Gouldings as it is less dear than The View inside the park and the views are good and the hotels in Kayenta are nothing worth writing home about. I highly recommend the museum of John Wayne and John Ford memorabilia that resides at this former trading post.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Goulding's Lodge management and staff appreciates that this guest shares her Monument Valley knowledge and experience with other individuals. Thank you so much for your comments regarding your group visits to the Monument Valley area and historic Goulding's Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here in mid-October and were not disappointed. We had a very friendly and competent check-in, a very clean modern room with an awesome view of Monument Valley. We had advance reservations as we were traveling with a small dog (our über friendly Norwich Terrier). However, pets are allowed on a request basis so plan ahead.

I give 5 stars to the room as it was clean and had a coffee maker with real ceramic mugs. The bed was large and very, very comfortable. The A/C (which really wasn't needed much) was slightly noisy but that's a real nitpick. Free WiFi. Nice....

The restaurant was passably good but not exceptional. The salad bar was well stocked but nothing of particular note. We tried a couple of dishes with Navajo fry bread which were good but we weren't counting calories!

This is an excellent place as a base of operations for exploring Monument Valley.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Goulding's Lodge management and staff is so please that this guest and four legged companion enjoyed their Monument Valley visit. The staff at Goulding's Lodge believes that a family pet is part of the family and has rooms to accommodate these wonderful friends. Thank you so much for your comments about your stay at historic Goulding's Ldoge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
277 helpful votes 277 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Firstly the negatives: despite booking a specific room some months ago, we were told on arrival that we could not have that room because someone had decided to stay over. Instead of moving those guests, we were forced, without apology of any sort, to accept a different, less satisfactory room. Not the way to treat people in my view.

Monument Valley and the original trading post are sights of great historical and scenic importance. Despite that the current guardians have decided to build a large motel of zero architectual merit out of plastic faux-wood. Ghastly looking place. and a blot on the landscape.

A dead cockroach in the bathroom light fitting.

The positives: the position obviously. And staying in Gouldings Lodge means that you don't have to look at it. The room was reasonably OK, although fitted out in retro 1950s style.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Goulding's Lodge management and staff appreciated the honest comment from this guest regarding their Monument Valley stay. These comments will help to provide a higher level of service to future guests. Thank you for staying with us at historic Goulding's Lodge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My boyfriend and his family had stayed here a few years ago and he kept talking about taking me to Monument Valley and staying at Goulding's Lodge so we finally visited a few weeks ago. He reserved the same house he had a few years ago, the Hill House and almost scared me saying it was a very "old" house, very rustic, etc. So my hopes were not too high but we were only staying there one night, so no big deal. My first comment is that their website does not even highlight all of the houses they have for rent...so you have to ask for "the Hill House". Secondly, the management moved us into the Lodge without telling us because we were only 2 people. We accidentally found out about this before we got there so the management took care of the issue and all was fine. Lastly, what a nice surprise on the house. True, it is a 1950s style ranch house with not too many frills but they have done a nice job updating the furniture and the bedding. The view is tremendous... It is private and had a large kitchen (outdated but who cares ...it was clean). The back yard is a little rough...they could use a little work there but again, the view is tremendous so not a deal breaker. Would have loved to have a grill but all they had was a campfire with a grate. We made it work though. There is a nice fireplace in the living room. We had a very lovely stay there and would definitely go again.

Room Tip: I would ask for the Hill House or maybe another house with as good a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouldings, Manager at Goulding's Lodge & Campground, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Goulding's Lodge management and staff is so pleased to hear that this guest enjoyed their Monument Valley visit. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on your stay in one of our "house" units...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Goulding's Lodge & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goulding's Lodge & Campground

Address: 1000 Main Street, Monument Valley, UT 84536
Location: United States > Utah > Monument Valley
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monument Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Goulding's Lodge & Campground 3*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Goulding's Lodge & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goulding`s Lodge And Campground
Goulding`s Lodge & Campground Hotel Monument Valley
Gouldings Hotel Monument Valley
Gouldings Hotel Campground
Gouldings Lodge Monument Valley
Goulding Lodge
Goulding's Lodge & Campground Monument Valley, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Goulding's Lodge & Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.