We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed the Canyonlands best kept secret, great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Runnin' Iron Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monticello
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Runnin' Iron Inn
Save
You added Runnin' Iron Inn to your Saves list
Rte 191, 8 miles north of Monticello, Monticello, UT   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Monticello B&B and Inns
Arnhem
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Indeed the Canyonlands best kept secret, great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

First had a basic motel booked in Moab but then we found this place on internet. What a great place. Such a difference to all the other places around.
We had no problems finding it and we were amazed when we saw it. Such a lovely and relaxing place. We stayed in a room called " the Shady Lady" Just great!

Unfortunately they don't serve breakfast but as the owner says" There is a Denny's in Moab, they always serve a descent breakfast at Denny's@

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    8
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
24
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boise ID
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2009

I've traveled all over the world staying at the finest hotels, fascinating inns, charming B & B's, and your basic lodging. The Runnin' Iron Inn is a one of a kind. Don't expect luxury accommodations here rather a charm that is unique to itself. It is easy to drive right by this place since it is hidden from the road by lots of juniper and pinon trees. The sign on the road doesn't tell you anything other than it is a RV park. Go up the short road and appearing in front of you is a wood sided building that looks like something out of western movie set.

Bob Musselman is the host and he is a hoot. He also makes a great steak dinner. We enjoyed an evening talking to Bob after dinner sitting on the porch.

Try it out if you happen to be in that part of Utah.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
86 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying one night here. I really liked the intimate atmosphere and old world charm of the Wild West, highlighted by period furniture, with an old gun and hats stuck up on the walls. The bar had coins of all sorts of countries stuck to it beneath a piece of film. The meal was good and reasonably priced, and the rooms had the charm of staying at old 'Aunt Mabel's' with pure wooden planks on the walls. The owner was great to listen to, as he told plenty of anecdotes and had a deep Wild West accent. You can walk about in the grounds which stretch far back.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2008

Stumbled across this place on google whilst planning our trip. It seemed a reasonable price and a bit out of the ordinary compared to the standard motel accomodation we had been staying in. I took note of it being 8 miles north of Monticello as I thought we may have trouble finding the place. We never made reservation as we didn't know whether we would have tried a bit nearer to Arches Park.
I spotted a little sign saying Steakhouse at the 8 mile mark north of Monticello, but thought it might be a bit further. As there was nothing further we turned around an ventured up the track, hoping there would be the place we were looking for.
We were met by a place which looked like it had come out of the Old Wild West.
Bob the owner of the place couldn't have been more hospitable, giving us permission to have a look at all his rooms and see if we would like one. Each room has a name such as Miss Kitty, Miss Bell, Miss Dolly, Madam Roz and The Shady Lady. As sson s we saw Madam Roz we fell in love with it. There was the most original bed we had ever seem which was made almost entirely out of logs, and we even had our own balcony. Better still it was the same price as all the cheapest accomadation around Monticello.
We decided that we would also eat in the Restaurant and had a wonderful steak meal which was cooked by Bob himself.
After a comfortable nights sleep we were given endless cups of coffee in the morning. Entertained thoughly by Bob and his stories.
If you are in the area it would a crime to miss this place. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Liked — The Originality of the property and the character of Bob the owner
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Runnin' Iron Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runnin' Iron Inn

Address: Rte 191, 8 miles north of Monticello, Monticello, UT
Location: United States > Utah > Monticello
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Monticello
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Runnin' Iron Inn Monticello, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Runnin' Iron Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.