We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome resort complex” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zermatt Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Zermatt Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Zermatt Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   784 W Resort Dr, Midway, UT 84049   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Eagle Mountain, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Awesome resort complex”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This was a surprise getaway that my husband and I recently came back from. We were very impressed with all the amenities, elegance, cleanliness and friendly staff. The resort itself is plush and offers spa, free yoga class on Saturdays to resort guests (which, was incredible!), amazing pool area with a great indoor jetted hot tub that has a waterfall spilling into it, an incredibly challenging 18 hole mini golf course, a large work out facility with an adjoining equally large steam room and quiet resting room (adjacent to the steam room) as well as tennis courts. I was really impressed by all that there is to do on the resort and locally. That having been said, we had high expectations of the on site restaurants. Which fell flat. We ate at both the Chop Haus and Matty's and were really disappointed with the food. The service and ambiance were excellent in the Chop Haus, but the food was over priced for what it was. Our steak was over done, cost close to $40 and everything was ala carte. Boo. I would not go back. The second night we ended up going to The Snake Creek Grill off property and we were not disappointed with the value, service or food quality. On Saturday morning after yoga, we went down to Matty's to finally eat breakfast. We had been there earlier and had gotten a light over-priced snack, then came back to eat a real breakfast. Even though it was not yet noon we were informed that they would not serve us breakfast. Their menu for lunch was not appealing and we ended up going to Kneaders in Lehi. So, if you plan on staying at the Zermatt I would consider booking reservations elsewhere-Blue Boar Inn, Snake Creek Grill, Even Simons across the street for dinner. On the morning of our last day there, Sunday, we ended up walking over to the Homestead for breakfast and ate at Fanny's. Their menu selection was better than Matty's and the service was great as well as being able to look out on their beautiful golf course while we ate. It was a very pleasant experience. If you are used to fine dining and expect amazing cuisine, then you will be disappointed with the food at the Zermatt.

Room Tip: We were quite impressed with our King room and I have stayed with girl friends in the queen room man...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    93
    52
    37
    16
See reviews for
116
154
13
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vernal, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Perfect stay for a weekend getaway for fun and relaxation. A group of four went for our annual Girls getaway. We booked spa treatments, (massage and facials), which was Amazing. The scenery is so beautiful for the Fall Season and there is lots to do in the area. Park City is only about 20 minutes away.

Room Tip: Many options available depending on your reason for getting away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Had booked a king room but daughter decided to come along so needed 2 queens. Checked with the booking service who said no problem, just let them know when you check in--should be plenty of 2 queens. Arrived (early) and was told there weren't any 2 queens. Only option along those lines would be to stay in one of their fantastic villas for an additional $179/night. But she would check with manager while I reviewed other lodging options. Came back a few minutes later and said they would put us up in a villa at not additional charge. This was great. Trekked a considerable distance with luggage but with a happy heart. Opened the door and it was a tiny room with a steeply sloped ceiling--obviously just the extra bedroom of the villa. So, I called back and asked for the king with a rollaway (which they provided). When I returned to the front desk, it was obvious that I was now a "problem" guest despite being very polite and calm the entire time. The king room was adequate. I believe Zermatt has bad management. They could have easily made this a great experience. If this is how they treat a member of a sizable group during off-season, how do they treat individual travelers? There are many fine lodging/resort options in Midway, Heber City, and Park City. I would recommend looking into the others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TripXpert1, Manager at Zermatt Resort & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We encourage our guests to reserve the room type of their preference at the time of booking to ensure a pleasant stay. We have reached out to your booking service to make them aware of your experience and we will work together to eliminate this type of situation in the future.
We were disappointed to learn that you felt your satisfaction was not important to us. We found it truly unfortunate that the room change was not available at check in. We had hoped the complimentary upgrade to the Villa would accomodate you as this was the only option given the hotel's occupancy at the time.
I appreciate your valuable feedback regarding the service you received and I would like to sincerely apologize to you for feeling as though you were a problem guest. We strive to provide the highest level of customer service and will continue to coach our team in that direction.
We hope to have another opportunity to show you the expereince we are able to deliver.

Sincerely,
Eric Clark
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After originally booking my honeymoon stay at the Zermatt, they sent me an email confirmation after calling them twice to get it - they indicated they were having computer problems and were switching to a new system and were very apologetic. Unfortunately, when I did get my reservation, it was for the wrong room and wrong suite. I called again and after a couple tries was able to speak to a manager, who was very good to work with - she upgraded us to the honeymoon suite and gave us free breakfast in the morning and a free rose-petal turn-down which my bride really enjoyed.

The honeymoon suite was absolutely beautiful - our only regret was that we couldn't have stayed longer. We wanted to take advantage of the late check-out but were unable to because the resort was completely booked.

Overall, the resort was very nice - and very expensive. For a newly-wed couple, it's probably not in our price range to come back any time soon. As far as for a honeymoon night location, I would probably pick something closer to home and less expensive - we didn't seem to have much time to enjoy the room for some reason.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The service was wonderful and the staff exceptional. There were a few hiccups from the large amount of people there for our convention, but the staff was very nice and treated us well. The on-site restaurants were good, but nothing overly awesome. The beds are like heaven! The only complaint I have is that the rooms did not have enough towels/washcloths. For a 2 queen bed room as well as a one-room villa, they only gave us one washcloth, one hand towel, and 2 bath towels.

Room Tip: The villas are spacious and offer kitchens for those who wish to cook on-site. The hotel rooms them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The check in was rushed, almost as if we were annoying the front desk staff and he was too busy to tell us about the resort, although we were the only people in the lobby. We weren't even welcomed with a hello or anyone saying "thank you for staying at the Zermatt."
The young man outside when we pulled up however was very pleasant and friendly.
We were excited to get a 1-room villa and when we walked into the room it was clear there was some kind of a gas leak. We immediately called the front desk, who was incredibly unprofessional, and someone came to check the room. We requested another room and the room was pretty. Great kitchenette. But it's in the details, the couch had horrible stains on one cushion, something you would expect from a Motel 6 or something. The towels were frayed and clearly old, a couple were even stained.
For being positioned as a nice getaway resort, we are highly disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

While I have always been pleased with the quality of the accomodations at this hotel, what really sets it apart is the service. Even through some minor hiccups and glitches the staff has always been especially helpful and courteous, always striving to make sure that our vacation is a special experience. My wife and I have visited for several special occasions as well as just because and we look forward to many more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Zermatt Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zermatt Resort & Spa

Address: 784 W Resort Dr, Midway, UT 84049
Location: United States > Utah > Midway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zermatt Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 350
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GCommerce Solutions, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Zermatt Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zermatt Resort And Spa
Zermatt Hotel Midway
Zermatt Resort Midway
Zermatt Resort & Spa Utah/Midway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zermatt Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;