We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Review” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zermatt Resort & Spa

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Zermatt Resort
and 8 more sites!
Zermatt Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   784 W Resort Dr, Midway, UT 84049   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Midway
Provo, Utah
1 review
“Honeymoon Review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After originally booking my honeymoon stay at the Zermatt, they sent me an email confirmation after calling them twice to get it - they indicated they were having computer problems and were switching to a new system and were very apologetic. Unfortunately, when I did get my reservation, it was for the wrong room and wrong suite. I called again and after a couple tries was able to speak to a manager, who was very good to work with - she upgraded us to the honeymoon suite and gave us free breakfast in the morning and a free rose-petal turn-down which my bride really enjoyed.

The honeymoon suite was absolutely beautiful - our only regret was that we couldn't have stayed longer. We wanted to take advantage of the late check-out but were unable to because the resort was completely booked.

Overall, the resort was very nice - and very expensive. For a newly-wed couple, it's probably not in our price range to come back any time soon. As far as for a honeymoon night location, I would probably pick something closer to home and less expensive - we didn't seem to have much time to enjoy the room for some reason.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    197
    85
    45
    32
    14
See reviews for
97
132
11
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The service was wonderful and the staff exceptional. There were a few hiccups from the large amount of people there for our convention, but the staff was very nice and treated us well. The on-site restaurants were good, but nothing overly awesome. The beds are like heaven! The only complaint I have is that the rooms did not have enough towels/washcloths. For a 2 queen bed room as well as a one-room villa, they only gave us one washcloth, one hand towel, and 2 bath towels.

Room Tip: The villas are spacious and offer kitchens for those who wish to cook on-site. The hotel rooms them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

The check in was rushed, almost as if we were annoying the front desk staff and he was too busy to tell us about the resort, although we were the only people in the lobby. We weren't even welcomed with a hello or anyone saying "thank you for staying at the Zermatt."
The young man outside when we pulled up however was very pleasant and friendly.
We were excited to get a 1-room villa and when we walked into the room it was clear there was some kind of a gas leak. We immediately called the front desk, who was incredibly unprofessional, and someone came to check the room. We requested another room and the room was pretty. Great kitchenette. But it's in the details, the couch had horrible stains on one cushion, something you would expect from a Motel 6 or something. The towels were frayed and clearly old, a couple were even stained.
For being positioned as a nice getaway resort, we are highly disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

While I have always been pleased with the quality of the accomodations at this hotel, what really sets it apart is the service. Even through some minor hiccups and glitches the staff has always been especially helpful and courteous, always striving to make sure that our vacation is a special experience. My wife and I have visited for several special occasions as well as just because and we look forward to many more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I was impressed by the attention to detail use by this resort. Doormen dressed in Swiss style attire and waited to be of assistance with parking or luggage. The restaurants and bakery on location supplied delicious food, and the activities available were great. We had a little misunderstanding with the Razor rental but it was quickly worked out and our overall experience was delightful. We will definitely return again with more of our family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Zermatt is one of my family's favorite weekend getaways that we try to do at least once a year. We've been there probably 6 times, but this time was the biggest disappointment. We were given a room out in the other building. The room had nothing but problems. We were there in June and the A/C didn't work. We had burnt out lights in the bathroom and a safe that wouldn't lock as well. We had the repairman out twice before giving up and asking to be moved after sweating it out for about 6 hours in the room. The restaurants have really changed a lot, we miss the buffet on the weekend. We'll still probably return but overall it's going downhill.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the MAIN BUILDING!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar City, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We booked the Zermatt as part of the golf package. We were very impressed with the room. The service at the hotel was great. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Everything we asked for we received. The iron did not work right and within 5 minutes we had a new one. I was very impressed and will be staying there again. Midway is very beautiful and this time of year the leaves were changing which made it even more beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald H, Manager at Zermatt Resort & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for your review and kind words. We strive to meet our guests expectations and when we do it gives us great pride. We look forward to your next visit with us. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Zermatt Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zermatt Resort & Spa

Also Known As:
Zermatt Hotel
Zermatt Resort And Spa
Zermatt Hotel Midway
Zermatt Resort Midway
Zermatt Resort
Zermatt Resort Spa
Zermatt Resort & Spa Utah/Midway
Address: 784 W Resort Dr, Midway, UT 84049
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Midway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Midway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Zermatt Resort & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, GCommerce Solutions, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Zermatt Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zermatt Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Zermatt Resort & Spa to your Saves list