We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Sleigh Ride. DO NOT GO!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain Outfitters

Rocky Mountain Outfitters
633 West Soldier Hollow Drive, Midway, UT 84049
(435) 654-1655
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 14 Attractions in Midway
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come by and visit Utah's Premier Guide Service. Rocky Mountain Outfitters has been selected a finalist for North America's "Guide Service of the Year in 2011 and again 2012" We strive at providing the best experience for you and your party.
Provo, Utah
1 review
“Terrible Sleigh Ride. DO NOT GO!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

First we were told that our sleigh ride was a private ride with just our group of 5. But when they go there, they put us with a large group in a big 20 person sleigh. If your kids are loud and annoying and misbehaved and you are bad parents and let them do whatever they want even if other people are around, then this is the perfect thing for you, because you'll fit right in with a bunch of other screaming kids.
Don't believe what they say on their website, its hype. Just plan on getting about 10% of what they portray.
The Santa experience is a joke. Might as well make a house out of cardboard in your back yard, get your neighbor to dress up in red pajamas and put on some cotton balls, and tell your kids its santa. Even our 4 year old knew it was some guy in a really bad costume with a sofa pillow stuffed in his shirt. If your kids are old enough to know that Santa isn't real, then this will be a fun place to go, because you can all make jokes about what homeless guy they dragged in there to play santa. But if your kids still believe, then don't take them here, or that will be the end of it for them.

They advertise that they have warm blankets, but there are a couple really thin ones, not enough for everybody.

Biggest problem is that none of the staff care. They just shuffle you in, and don't care what they promised you, its take it or leave it when you get there.

Go to park city and pay a few bucks more for a santa sleigh ride at the resorts, and you'll get a real life real winter wonderland experience.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe L, Owner at Rocky Mountain Outfitters, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Lani

Sorry you feel like the experience was a let down. We offered this Santa Sleigh ride at a discounted price and sold it as a group sleigh ride. You did have a choice to book a private sleigh ride for just your party and not share the sleigh with others. There is an upgrade for a private ride. Sorry Santa didn't meet your expectations. He's pretty popular up here in the Heber Valley and people enjoy him. We try our hardest to please everyone and thought the experience was pretty unique. We had roughly 5000 ppl come and had only 5 people complain about a portion of the experience. I know it isn't offered in Park City or anywhere else. Blankets were not supposed to be included for the Santa Sleigh ride, we told everyone to bring there own blankets.

We would love to offer you a private sleigh ride sometime this winter so you can see what a private ride with us is like. I'd also love your feedback so we can improve the experience for everyone that comes with us in the future.

Thanks

Joe
Owner of Rocky Mountain Outfitters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    6
    1
    0
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cottonwood Heights, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fun Sleigh ride and visit with Santa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Our sleigh was pulled by two large draft horses around the golf course behind the Homestead Resort under a full moon. I thought we might be on a huge sleigh with a ton of people, but we only had a total of 9 people on our sleigh, which was a size to fit probably 12. Our sleigh driver was very nice, friendly and funny. At the end of our ride we were let out in front of Santa's house. The Santa and his helper were also very friendly, and the decorations were cute. Santa's helper took pictures of our kids with the jolly man next to a Christmas tree and in front of a fire place. I was delighted when they emailed the pictures to us for no additional charge. :)

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claymont, Delaware
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Great organization!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I mistakenly reviewed this place for horseback riding and gave them a poor review. It was another outfitters we had problems with NOT Rocky Mountain Outfitters. We have used Rocky Mountain outfitters for their sleigh ride in the winter and had a marvelous time. The guide/driver was fun and informative, prices reasonable and the length of the ride was nice and long. Please consider them for fun outdoor adventures and I apologize for mistakenly giving them a poor review they did NOT deserve!! (I removed it.) That the owner/manager was quick to respond to my mistaken post to attempt to make my experience right is a testament to their integrity. Thank you!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fun horseback ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

We signed up for the Raft n' Reins. This is a two hour horseback ride, lunch, and a raft trip down Provo Canyon. The horseback riding is through Rocky Mountain Outfitters. The horseback ride was fun. The horses are tame and sweet. The guide was knowledgeable and friendly. There is no galloping, but you are climbing up and down rocks with your horses, and it is beautiful. They also provided lunch here. The lunch was a deli sandwich, chips, cookie and a drink. The sandwich was really good. After lunch, we had to drive down to the river to catch the raft as there is another company that actually does the rafting. The owner of Rocky Mountain Outfitters explained how to get to the river and drew a map. It would have been good to have printed map of the area though. It is good to confirm reservation before going or even make the reservation over the phone. It was an excellent experience, and we would do the horseback riding again.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Guide for a newby !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just returned from a great trip to DV and went on guided 1/2 day fly fishing tour with a GREAT guide - Ryan was awesome. Fun time, learned a ton and actually caught a bunch of beautiful trout; rainbows and browns on the Provo. Joe was great about communication during the planning and being sure I got the right location to meet them. I am hooked !!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocky Mountain Outfitters also viewed

 

Been to Rocky Mountain Outfitters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain Outfitters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.