We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, Relaxing, Remote” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnson Mill Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Midway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Johnson Mill Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Johnson Mill Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
100 N. Johnson Mill Rd, Midway, UT 84032   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Midway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Panama City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Romantic, Relaxing, Remote”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We stayed at this B&B after a few nights near the ski slopes. This was a nice place to get away from the chaos. A 10 minute drive to Wasatch Mountain State Park puts you close the mountains and outdoors. Took a nice stroll around the grounds and into the town of Midway which has lots of European Architecture (I assume Swedish since it was settled by Swedish and English settlers in the 1800s). The B&B room we stayed in (Mill Pond) had a great view of the mountains and the pond on the grounds. There was a fireplace and beautiful large bathroom. I would love to come back here time and time again. The breakfast was great and at night there were yummy cookies waiting for us in the common area.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    35
    17
    16
    3
See reviews for
9
138
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roy, UT
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We have stayed at the Johnson mill several times, and we always love the location, and the beauty of this bed and breakfast overall. The breakfast is always delicious, and is usually better than most other bed and breakfasts we've stayed at. I really appreciated that when I asked if our favorite cooked still worked there, they called and asked her if she would come in, even though it was her day off the next day. Jill is a sweet lady, and an excellent cook, and seems to be the warmest and friendliest of the staff, and she always makes sure my husband gets enough to eat. We love the stuffed French toast! The evening refreshments were also delicious. We loved the white chocolate lemon cookies.

However, the last couple of times we have stayed there, we've noticed that there seems to be some lacking in the housekeeping department. We found a half empty bottle of mountain dew under the bed left by a previous guest. We stayed 3 nights, and after the first night, housekeeping came in while we were at lunch, and refreshed our towels, but they didn't bother making the bed back up for us. We let that slide, and then the next day, we went out for lunch, and thought that for sure someone would come and check on the room and refresh it, and nobody had been in there when we returned. We left again, and this time the housekeeper was in the next room cleaning, and she asked if we needed anything. We asked her to refresh the towels and the bed, but apparently if you don't ask for more than that, that's all you get. We had ran out of tissues, so I pulled the box out of the little holder so they would notice and put a new box in there, and all the housekeeper did was throw the box away, she didn't bother putting another box in. Our garbage can was also full, and it was not emptied. Since there is no fridge downstairs anymore, there was nowhere to store my leftovers, so there they sat in the garbage for 2 days. I just feel like when you are paying the price of an expensive bed and breakfast, we shouldn't have to ask for every little thing to be done. If the "do not disturb" sign isn't left out, I think it is acceptable for me to assume that housekeeping will go in and clean and refresh our room while we are out.

We were also disappointed that the pictures downstairs are gone! That's not a huge deal, but we loved looking at them.

At any rate, we will be back to Johnson mill again next year because we do love it there, but we expect a little better service in the housekeeping dept.


  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We stayed at Johnson Mill when it first opened, and loved it. Years (and years) later we returned and were very disappointed. There didn't seem to be anyone who worked there fulltime, and the front office was staffed intermittently - in fact no one was around when we checked out.

The one breakfast we got consisted of a cold pancake, semi-warm sausage and some reasonably fresh fruit. Our room was not made that day and we had to ask for clean towels. While the new ones were clean, one was so stained I simply left it in the trash.

We were there between the end of the ski season and the start of the fishing / spring season. I don't know if regular management was on vacation, but it seemed the operation was being run by the jayvee team. It saddened us because we had such fond memories of our earlier stay.

As an aside, the Courtyard Room is accessed through more of a gravel parking area than what you might assume would be a courtyard. The window in the main room is directly on the front porch, so it might be noisy when there are other guests staying here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Pulling in I was somewhat skeptical because of the location. But that lasted about 2 seconds. We walked in through the big old front door and boy did it meet our expectations. I took my girlfriend, soon to be fiance here for our 1 year. She fell in love with the place. We road the 2 person bike around the park, used the canoe for an early morning paddle with coffee and sat in the gazebo at midnight to enjoy the quite. The water was like glass and the reflection of the mountains along with the swans swimming around us made us feel like we were on a movie set. We stayed in the Waterwheel room. What a room big with sliding glass doors to a porch that is on the pond. The ladies that work here are fantastic!! Thank you Johnson Mill!! If things go right our wedding will be here!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This is our second time and we chose a different room. The view was just gorgeous. Staff was friendly and accommodating. My wife is pregnant and received and we purchased massage and she slept like a baby the rest of the day. The masseuse was amazing. We look forward to making our trip there again next year. So far we have tried the honeymoon suite and the Mt. Timpanogos room. Both are extremely romantic and highly recommend either room. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Johnson Mill was simply awesome. Beautiful room, quiet area, great atmosphere. The breakfasts were amazing, very well done. We have already recommended this place to several friends and hope to be back soon. Lovely place, very friendly staff. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehi, Utah
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This was the second time my husband and I stayed at Johnson Mill. We stayed in different rooms and loved them both. The cook was very friendly. I will say the rest of the staff was not but to be honest, we weren't looking for friendly on a romantic get-a-way where we wanted to be alone. Everything was great except for there was one used, plastic fork behind the standing sink in the bathroom. That was kind of gross! We've only stayed in the winter when everything was covered in snow and beautiful. We are planning another visit during the summer. We loved it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Johnson Mill Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johnson Mill Bed & Breakfast

Address: 100 N. Johnson Mill Rd, Midway, UT 84032
Location: United States > Utah > Midway
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Midway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redbook Magazine recently named the Johnson Mill "One of America's 4 most romantic Bed & Breakfasts", and has received the AAA 4 Diamond rating every year since 2002. The renovated Flour Mill sits on 30 pristine acres, its own 4-acre trout pond (paddle boats included), and a 40-foot waterfall that once powered the Old Mill. It's also Utah's only Inn found on the world class, blue ribbon fly fishing Provo River. Utah's most unique and very special destination.The Historic Johnson Mill, built in 1893 is a perfect getaway from the hectic everyday life. The fourteen acre property provides guests with the unique opportunity to enjoy a stroll along the lake at sunset, to picnic in a secluded area along the banks of a picturesque cascading waterfall, to enjoy a snooze in a hammock stretched between two towering trees being lulled to sleep along a gurgling brook, or take a romantic evening canoe ride in the shade of the majestic Mt. Timpanogos (this is not your typical bed and breakfast or place to stay in Utah).The Inn was recently renovated to preserve its historic charm and style and offers a variety of activities to its visitors to Salt Lake City and the surrounding area. Centrally located halfway between Park City and Sundance, your stay at The Mill b&b provides easy access to Deer Valley, Park City, The Canyons and Sundance Ski Resorts claiming the "Greatest Snow on Earth"!Activities Around Johnson Mill:-Fly Fishing-Bird Watching-Skiing-Tubing-Ice Skating-Snowshoeing-Site Seeing ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Johnson Mill Bed And Breakfast
Johnson Mill Hotel Midway
Johnson Mill Bed & Breakfast Utah/Midway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Johnson Mill Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.