We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hidden Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Homestead Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Homestead Resort to your Saves list
Homestead Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   700 N Homestead Drive, PO Box 99, Midway, UT 84049   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Centennial, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had a wonderful time at the Homestead Resort! We loved the variety of accommodations and were amazed at how reasonably priced they all were. We just had breakfast at the restaurant, but it was great as was the service. My daughter got her scuba certification at the crater and the entire activities staff were amazing! Ask for Eddie if you want a great scuba experience!

Room Tip: I would suggest calling rather than booking online to get the type of room you need. They have so ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    67
    35
    27
    24
See reviews for
79
97
7
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the Homestead before. Always for local family vacation getaway. The separate cottages are nice and Iike the fireplace venue. The granddaughters love swimming in the natural springs hot pot and you cane even scuba dive there.

This time, the room design was still good and so was the hot pot, and but service was poor, and some trash around the building was unsightly... It seemed like the staff was a bit lacking. Plus, the hotel restaurant food was very poor. Overcooked meat, poor tasting food across the board. I won't go back to the restaurant...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We went stayed over night and did the lodge and tubing package. Our room was spacious and clean. We ate at the resorts restaurant- Simon's for dinner, the best prime rib I've ever had! We also walked over to the activity center and bought passes for the crater, so cool!! The water is perfect for relaxing in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We wanted a little get away in between me and my daughter's family, so we met in the middle in Midway Utah. It was idyllic on the weekend before Christmas. We rode the Heber Creeper Christmas train, then went to condo room at the Homestead resort. It was fabulous. Clean, roomy, and with enough bedrooms and bathrooms to spread out with privacy. The breakfast with Santa was delicious and fun for the kids. They had cookie decorating and other activities. We will stay longer next time.

Room Tip: Condos are off site and roomy. They include washer/dryer, desk with a view, fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We were wowed by this place! We showed up and got upgraded to an executive suite with a jacuzzi tub :-)
Dinner was great and the bartender pulled out his smart phone app and made my wife a great drink!
The Crater at Homestead is right next door. My wife got scuba certified, an awesome experience!

Room Tip: It's not a traditional hotel, more like a bunch of 4 and 6 plex apartments, a wonderful place
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Homestead and were initially disappointed, mostly with the treatment from the reservation desk staff. The room was smaller than we expected and there were some double charges on our bill. However, and this is really the topic of the review, upon hearing about my dissatisfaction, I received a personal call from the homestead with a courteous explanation and an apology. To their credit, they more than made up for the previous disappointment.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
western US
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We were given a stay at The Homestead Resort for our anniversary and were so happy by how relaxing and beautiful it was. , Upon checking in we were given fudge to enjoy, which we did :)We had a Garden Room: a bedroom and sitting room with sliding glass doors for light and an open feeling. The room was so clean and that means a LOT to us. It was decorated in a classic style which I love. We strolled the grounds and saw two owls (WOW!) and saw and heard other birds. We enjoyed a wonderful dinner at Simon's and relaxed in the natural mineral water hot tub. It was a weekend that felt like a week...in a good way!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Homestead Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Resort

Address: 700 N Homestead Drive, PO Box 99, Midway, UT 84049
Location: United States > Utah > Midway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Midway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homestead Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1886, Homestead Resort has been welcoming guests with warm hospitality and charming accommodations. Famous for the Homestead Crater, guests visit from all over the world to soak in the 96 degree geothermal spring water. Other onsite amenities include: two full service restaurants, conference and meeting facilities, 18 hole golf course, as well as expansive grounds for exploration and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Homestead Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Resort Midway
Homestead Hotel Midway
Homestead Resort Utah/Midway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Homestead Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.