We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBC in Utah?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famous Dave's

Famous Dave's
1166 E Fort Union Blvd, Midvale, UT 84047
(801) 566-4442
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 121 Restaurants in Midvale
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Farmers Branch, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“BBC in Utah?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

For some “food groups” Texans find it difficult to accept the notion “good” is ever found outside Texas. BBQ is high on that list.
This is a great place for a sandwich: chopped pork, beef brisket, or hamburger. Or go really big, try a Famous Feast.
We were in Salt Lake for some skiing last month, ate here twice. Everything met or exceeded our expectations. Even this old Mudgeon from Texas was pleased.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    14
    8
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“early bird great food for a good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went here in the mood for some tasty food and we were not let down! At first glance the menu looked a little pricey and then we looked at the early bird specials on the back. I was surprised to learn that the specials went until 6 pm every day instead of just weekdays. It was only 5:30 so we took advantage of them and the portions were ideal for a sit down dinner. We didn't have any leftovers to take home, but the value was great.
I ordered the ribs and they were perfect! They were very tender and fell right off the bone. There was very little fat on the ribs so I was able to enjoy the meat without dealing with the yucky stuff. According to everyone else at the table, their meats were delicious and there were NO complaints on the food.
The only negative thing I noticed was that there was a sign on the table saying that if the manager did not come out and ask how the meal was before you paid your check, you could get $10 off your next meal. The manager didn't come to us so we asked our server about it. She said that she would get the manager and after 10 minutes of waiting we decided we would just go.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“We love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We are from Barbecue Land in the Midwest and yet find Famous Dave's to be one of our favorite stops. Great smoky flavor with moist tender meat and the sides are so much better than most smoky barbecue stops.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Probably the best, consistent bbq I've had.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

Never been disappointed with Famous Dave's. Whenever I've had a problem the manager has bent over backwards to make it right. There food is always consistently good and always plenty of it. I can always count on a great experience here.

Visited June 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Hit or miss..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

My wife and I periodically hit this place up. I always get the rib tips when we eat here. Sometimes, they meat is tender and juicy, other times it's overcooked and tough. You never know what you are gonna get. I do have to say that the beer sucks at this place. It's never very cold and it's ALWAYS flat. If you do order a beer, stick with a bottle and avoid the draft.

Will I go back? Most likely...It's good, but not great.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famous Dave's also viewed

 

Been to Famous Dave's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famous Dave's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.