We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing BBQ and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joe Morley's Smoked Beef

Joe Morley's Smoked Beef
100 W Ctr St, Midvale, UT 84047-7370
(801) 255-8928
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 121 Restaurants in Midvale
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
California
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing BBQ and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This was our second visit. We have decided that whenever we go to Utah, we HAVE to eat here. The food is delicious, the service is warm, friendly and punctual. Really, there is no better BBQ.
On a side note, they have live entertainment on Fridays. Although it was not unpleasant, it was not our cup of tea.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    25
    10
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
western US
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Simple, ridiculously delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

BBQ brisket sandwhich with steamed onions and BBQ beans are worthy of a trip to Utah alone. This place is for true BBQ fans and while the atmosphere is clean and simple, the food is stellar.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elko, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great, local, family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

If you're looking for delicious, homemade BBQ.... Joe's is the best in the SLC area. Great food, friendly people!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“So so bbq”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I know all bbq places are pricey and Joe's is no different. But honestly, if I'm going bbq from my experience I'm going to Famous Dave's. It's much better in my opinion.

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Love the BBQ sauce and onions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

I am so glad we tried this place out. Big (BIG) thumbs up on the baked beans and onion chips and I really liked the flavor of the BBQ sauce. My chicken was excellent, although my husband's chicken was a bit dry so he was less impressed. The brisket was better than I've had at other local restaurants, much less fatty. Good service, we were seated right away and the server was very attentive.
It can be hard to see from the road whether they are open. It is worth pulling in and checking it out, good food awaits you. The main entrance is to the left of the private dining sign.
A word of warning: don't get the water, it has that awful not-filtered taste.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe Morley's Smoked Beef also viewed

 

Been to Joe Morley's Smoked Beef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joe Morley's Smoked Beef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.