We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, convenient,friendly front reception staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7134 South 700 East, Midvale, UT 84047 (Formerly Comfort Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Midvale
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Williamsville, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient,friendly front reception staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed here on my first night in Sandy Utah for convenience sake. I was pleasantly pleased with the cleanliness of the Hotel. The front office staff was very engaging and seemed genuinely in tune with making my stay comfortable. Their breakfast offering was not the typical continental. They had coffee, pancakes, eggs, breakfast sausage-bacon, muffins, fresh fruit, cereal, coffee, juices, milk, Danish and cinnamon rolls. I'm sure I'm forgetting something. The dining area was spacious and clean with attendants at the ready if anything needed replenishing. I was so pleased with everything I returned here for 2 nights (family lives close by) at the end of my trip out west before returning back east.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor - there are 3 floors. I had a view of the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffaniPino, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to give us such a wonderful review.
I am happy the complimentary hot breakfast exceeded your expectations.
Our staff is excited to hear that we accommodated all of your needs.
We all look forward to your next visit in Salt Lake City . At our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake city- South Midvale.
Thank you,
Tiffani Pino
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
18
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here one night in early July on our way to Arizona. Was pleasantly surprised to find the rooms were all suites. Very comfortable. The free breakfast was excellent with an especially helpful attendant named Julie. Many restaurants in the area and only a 3 minute drive back to I15.

Room Tip: Try the Longhorn Steakhouse nearby for an excellent meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terry S, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear AZDavePhoenix,

Thank You Very Much for voicing your "Pleasant Surprise" about our very comfortable property at Holiday Inn Express Salt lake City South-Midvale! Julie is very pleased to know you appreciated her! Please come and see us again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Only a mile off of I-15, this hotel is just right for the traveler. There are reasonable restaurants within walking distance. The room is clean and has a refrigerator - great for keeping our food for the drive. Breakfast is included in the room charge. The lovely woman who made breakfast was very attentive. She even gave us a bag of goodies for the trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffaniPino, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear yakhed fom Palo Alto, Ca,
Thank you very much for your kind review of our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City-South Midvale Utah. I am so happy that your experience was a memorable one at our Hotel. I am glad you found a good variety of great restaurants close to us, and I am sure Julie "Breakfast Lady" Will be pleased that you mentioned her and that her efforts to provide you with amazing customer service meets the standard you are used to from Holiday Inn Express.
We look forward to your next visit in SLC.
Travel Safely,
Tiffani Pino
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I stayed here for a night to get in a last day of skiing in Utah on my way back to the airport from Jackson. The rooms were huge and it was a great value, but I definitely don't think it's anything above an average hotel. Clean, cheap, large, and does what it's supposed to (be a place to sleep close to Cottonwood Canyon), but by no means luxurious. Breakfast was pretty boring (basically only carbs), though it was free.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffaniPino, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Dear whizcuz from New York City,NY,

I want to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
It is through our guest's feedback that we continue to learn how we
can continue to provide the quality experience that you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. We just launched our new breakfast that has many more healthy choices.
Please contact me personally if there is anything I can do to guarantee that your next stay is a memorable one.
Tiffani Pino
801-325-8100
tiffani@hiexpressslc.com
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I've stayed here 4 times now and have enjoyed each stay. The rooms are very up-to-date and clean. Many places to eat close by and easy to get to off the freeway. Definitely will continue to be my midway stop when I go to Las Vegas.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffaniPino, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Matt C
Thank you for staying at our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City- South Midvale
We appreciate the opportunity to provide you with great rooms and great service
on your Way To Las Vegas. We all look forward to Seeing you next time around.
Tiffani Pino
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We are loyal Holiday Inn Express customers and this property did not disappoint! It SEEMS very new. We loved the doorbell type "Do not disturb" lights! Our room was very clean and well appointed. The staff was very courteous. When we were checking in the phone was also ringing and the clerk ignored the ring to attend to us "in person" customers. We were very impressed. Breakfast was well stocked, with plenty of seating. The breakfast staff was also very courteous. There are several chain restaurants within walking distance. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TiffaniPino, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear 29kindergartencuties,
What a great 5 star review of our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake - South Midvale. I know our front desk staff will be thrilled when I share this review. Each member takes pride and ownership in making sure each guest has a memorable experience while staying with us. Julie our Breakfast Hostess will also appreciate your kind acknowledgments. We look forward to your next visit to our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake - South Midvale.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I travel through the Salt Lake City metropolis heading south from Canada on hiking holidays, and it is always a struggle finding the right location for a stopover. The new Holiday Inn Express in Midvale is over a mile off the freeway, but in a marvelous location for dining. There are numerous good restaurants within a block, in a nice suburban city, and this time we discovered the Lone Star Steak House, the best yet. From the Union Boulevard, you enter the freeway on an interchange giving you a choice of the I-15 or the bypass I-215 (the easiest way to cross the inner city). I have stayed at other easy-on, easy-off locations such as Orem, but found there is no licensed dining available within walking distance in such industrial locations. Luckily, this time I decided to return to Midvale, where we stayed a week four years ago, and found the new HIE, renovated in the former Comfort Inn building. The building is very attractive inside and out, and the rooms bright and well furnished. They are suites, with a nice lounge area. This prime location is definitely worth the short detour off the Interstate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HieFrontdeskgal, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Dear Hikermeister,
I want to thank you for the Amazing 5 Star review of the Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake-South Midvale. Our Staff feel the same way you do about our convenient location , The restaurant options are plentiful, and I thank you for the compliments about how attractive our hotel is. All feedback is good and the fact you took the time to review us is wonderful. We look forward to your next stay at our Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake-South Midvale.
Thank you
Tiffani Pino
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midvale
0.7 mi away
Crystal Inn Hotel & Suites Midvalley - Murray
2.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Midvale
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Midvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Midvale Inn
Midvale Inn
#5 of 12 in Midvale
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt Lake City-Fort Union
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Salt ...
#35 of 75 in Salt Lake City
4.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale

Address: 7134 South 700 East, Midvale, UT 84047 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Midvale
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Midvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South - Midvale,2014 Trip Advisor Certificate Of Excellence Winner.Where a stay with us is sure to be a memorable one! Built Brand new in May 2011, our hotel is the newest and most modern hotel in the Salt Lake Valley Area. Our beautiful 100% non smoking an Pet Free hotel is conveniently located off I-15 / I-215 and within walking distance to a large variety of restaurants and shopping as well as a short distance from Downtown Salt Lake City, 4 world class ski resorts, and the Wasatch mountains full of outdoor activities all year round. Experience luxurious accommodations and a host of thoughtful amenities such as a complimentary breakfast buffet featuring our signature hot breakfast items served daily, indoor pool / whirlpool, enhanced bath experience, business center, fitness area, wired and wireless high speed Internet access. Nestled in a quiet location along the foothills of the majestic Wasatch Mountains, our centralized location places you near Salt Lake City, Park City, Orem, Provo, Sandy, West Jordan, West Valley and the Salt Lake City International Airport (SLC). Guest will enjoy popular attractions and destinations such as Big and Little Cottonwood Canyons, Alta, Snowbird, Brighton, Solitude, Temple Square, Energy Solutions Arena (Utah Jazz), Rice Eccles Stadium (U of U), The Great Salt Lake, Antelope Island, Southtown Exposition Center, Rio Tinto Stadium, Timpanogos Cave, Historic Wheeler Farm, Thanksgiving Point and Cabelas and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline and BookIt.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Salt Lake City South-Midvale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.