We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY AWAY!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Discovery Inn

Save Saved
You added Discovery Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Discovery Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   380 W 7200 S, Midvale, UT 84047   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Midvale
Park City, Utah, United States
1 review
“STAY AWAY!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Checked in at 1:00 P.M. Dec 2012--- Checked out Just after midnight. Could not stand the smelly pillows and mattress, broken microwave.Fridge kept my food warm. Dirty carpet, stained towels, stained walls, screen on window hanging off. WIFI worked occasionally. Finally left at midnight and found a different and much nicer hotel to stay in. Manager could care less

Room Tip: I cannot think of a room in this place, anyone would want to stay in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    6
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
7
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Maryland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Let me note at the outset that this review is for a 10-day stay here in late 2007, at a time when the hotel was calling itself a "National 9 Discovery Inn", when I needed to stay in the south Salt Lake City area for an extended research field trip.

Based upon an online search, I chose this hotel and made my reservations for the 10-day stay online; the price per night quoted in the online reservation was quite reasonable, around $55. After having made the online reservation, I then called the hotel the next day to ask if it would be okay for me to use two parking spaces instead of one, as a friend of mine was driving down from Idaho to join me for 5 days of my stay, and she would be needing to park her pickup truck in the parking lot too. And, I also asked if it would be okay if she brought her two well-behaved mid-sized dogs along.

Well, the person to whom I spoke on the phone, who turned out to be an assistant manager, was angelic! She first thanked me for having made the 10-day online reservation the day before, and she then okayed my friend parking her truck in the parking lot (i.e., as a second vehicle associated with my stay) for the durationof her 5-day stay with me, and she also gave me permission for my friend's two dogs to stay in the room with us, at only a tiny additional charge.

And, to top it off, she happened to notice that I when I had made my online reservation, I had agreed to pay about $57 per night for the room. She told me that she had made a notation on my reservation to the effect that she was reducing my price-per-night to just $50, because, she said, I sounded like the kind of person that she wanted to reward for staying in her hotel.

Well, my stay in this hotel turned out to be great! In fact, the only thing that I noticed that would qualify as a complaint was the fact that the WiFi reception in my assigned hotel room was somewhat spotty, but this was, in part, due to the internal WiFi antenna/modem built into my the laptop that I was using at the time; it was noticeably insensitive. To help solve this problem, the front desk clerks loaned me an external WiFi card to plug into a port on my PC, and this loaner external WiFi card turned out to be quite a bit more sensitive than the internal WiFi antenna/modem in my PC, and this solved the WiFi access problem to a great extent. The front desk staff also offered to allow me to switch to a room that had stronger WiFi signals, but I refused their offer, as I did not wish to bother changing rooms.

I can think of no other problems associated with my stay at this hotel. Yes, it is true that the external paint job on some of the buildings was getting a bit thin and old, but I did not find this at all visually offensive, and, in fact, the faded color helped the hotel to blend into the local sandy desert/suburban landscape. And yes, the towels were a bit worn, but they were very clean, and they were extrmely absorbent, and also very soft and comfortable to use, and, from my viewpoint, what more could one ask of a good bath towel or hand towel?

Yes, it is true that this hotel, as is true of all lower-priced urban and suburban hotels, had a modest percentage of guests who had obviously been placed here by the city or county social services department, but this did not cause me any problems in any way.

One REALLY NICE thing about this hotel is the location - it is near all the large N/S main roads and highways servicing the southern SLC region, and there is an amazing old-fashioned restaurant called "The Mining Company" located next door to the hotel, and even better, diagonally across the street I found a thoroughly amazing high-end Mexican fast food place (with an enormous seating area), apparently not part of a national chain but rather privately owned by a local family, and the food was of very high quality! (I am trying not to obsess about their breakfast burritos as I write this review. ...!).

By the way, my friend who had driven down from Idaho to spend five days of my stay with me also thoroughly enoyed the hotel, and her dogs loved the room (and they treated it with great respect)!

In closing, I will tell you that if I ever needed to stay in this south-SLC area again, I would choose this hotel again in a heartbeat, because all of my memories of my lengthy stay here are wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Okay, I will give the place points for:
1. Being colorful
Dingy and grey.
Towels were stained black.
Sheets and comforter were stained yellow.
Tub had mildew

2. Loud
Bathroom blower
AC

3. Amenities
Fridge was broke
TV was small and old
I couldn't get wi-fi

Get the picture?

I booked this dive nonline. The pictures and hotel description were deceiving.

Finally, I have a license to carry a concealed weapon. I kept my weapon on the nightstant. The place is creppy.

I feel the motel owner has failed the public by offering such a product. He or she needs to fix it or close it!

.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearn, UT
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Even tho we had a non-smoking room, it smelled of cigarettes all the time. Running the bathroom fan made it worse. Hordes of people standing right outside their rooms smoking away and those on the second floor sprinkling their ashes over the railing onto cars parked below.

Sign in the room says towels will be inventoried at end of stay and a charge added for missing towels. Who would want them - tiny, rough, stained, smelly.

Mildew in the shower and around the toilet.

Staff was friendly and helpful and has a nice pool.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

We just needed a basic place to sleep during long road trip, and this was suitable. Used a highway magazine coupon and got a double for $50, which was cheaper than all the others in the area. A/C was very noisy, but other than that, room was decent, with all the amenities. However, the towels were the worst I've ever seen in a motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed for 1 night on route between Jackson and Kanab. We picked this up after the Days Inn wouldnt honour their coupon. This hotel was reasonable price and had a pool. The room was big and the bed was comfortable. All the amenities were good (fridge micro etc). The best thing about the hotel was the staff. At first i thought they were a bit off hand but they really did try hard. We had brought a phone charger from the UK but it didnt work in the US so we asked the lady on reception if she had one. She brought two to our room to see if they were any good. She also wrote down the names of pubs/restaurants and was very helpful with local travel. Also, she got us pool towels really quickly and was generally really helpful.

In addition, the breakfast was great. I saw no evidence of any unusual people or activity.

Overall a really nice short stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Although I had prepaid for the room on-line with hotels.com, the front staff insisted that the hotel did not accept any prepayments. After going to our room I was able to locate my receipt to take it to reception. The "non-smoking" room were were allocated stunk of cigarette smoke, so I had something else to complain about. At reception the staff had changed over. The new lady gave us a different room with no problem but said that I would have to see the original person who booked us in to remove our new card payment. This would be at breakfast next day. Inconvenient, but this duly happened alright, with apologies.
The room was clean and comfortable. However the outside area was dirty, with rubbish around the many stairways (we had to negotiate four sets with baggage because of our room change on arrival). The place would benefit greatly by a coat of paint on the outside walls, which were discoloured and uninviting. The lobby area is a non-carpeted large space and has a very cold feel. There were several individuals lounging around outside; it was the only place on our trip where I did not feel safe.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Discovery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Discovery Inn

Address: 380 W 7200 S, Midvale, UT 84047
Location: United States > Utah > Midvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 hotels in Midvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Discovery Inn 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Discovery Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Discovery Inn (National 9) Hotel Midvale
Discovery Inn Midvale, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Discovery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.