We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7231 South Catalpa Street, Midvale, UT 84047-7396   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Midvale
Palo Cedro
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Was a nice stay. Room and bathroom were very clean with no smoke smell. The location for us was very close to all the places we needed to get to. Would stay here again. Cons: chlorine from pool area was a might strong, the green apples for breakfast were too green and the waffle area was rather messy. Nothing to keep us from coming back though.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    71
    41
    44
    36
See reviews for
95
58
32
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014


This was a free stay for me through the La Quinta rewards program. Unfortunately "free" was still too much to pay for this place. Poorly maintained would be the theme here. There was bad patchwork in the bathtub, mold in several places, the sliding window was crooked and off track, coffee pot was filthy and the desk chair arm was broken. To top it all off there was dirty underwear and sleep shorts left in the bathroom, along with a used cup in the nightstand drawer. On a positive note the front desk staff was super nice and the hotel is in a convenient location. In summary, though, I cannot recommend this hotel. It's an older property that just hasn't been well maintained.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Colorado
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Admittedly, I'm a value shopper (read: "cheap-o") when it comes to accommodation. This fits the bill. Got a screamin' rate & was pleasantly surprised. It's got the basics (for me): clean, comfortable, safe room with good hot shower. Then: super-convenient location, friendly staff who provide good service, great variety of restaurants close-by, well-maintained pool & jacuzzi, and better than expected breakfast (still pretty generic, but way over adequate.) The GM, Angela, is very "hands-on": you see her all over the property, making sure things are right. My new "go-to" hotel in SLC.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We selected the place because of its convenient location, right off the 15, and the bargain price. We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the facility. It is your basic, generic chain hotel, but the entry way was inviting, the manager welcoming, and the room clean and spacious. They also have a good exercise room and a jacuzzi/pool. A decent breakfast is included. The breakfast lady was very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask the manager to give you a room away from the bus groups.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
325 reviews 325 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 187 cities Reviews in 187 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stay here whenever I am in the Salt Lake City area because previous have been beyond my expectations. The property is close to the freeway, there are both fast food and sit down restaurants nearby and the experienced staff is excellent. Since my last visit the rooms have been renovated and given an updated feel. What was different this time were the glitches that were frustrating and time consuming and the terrible breakfast situation.

First irritation was my room phone did not work and because my cell phone was out of charge, I had to sit in the lobby and use a house phone and make my calls. I would have appreciated being allowed to use the phone in another room where it would have been quiet and private. Second irritation was the food service delivery truck had parked directly behind me completely blocking my departure in the morning. It was necessary to track the driver down then wait while he moved the ramp and moved the truck. The delay insured I was in morning rush hour.

The biggest disappointment was the breakfast which at La Quinta is usually above average. There was no fruit, no rolls, and only one slice of bread when I arrived within an hour of its start at 6AM. The tables were dirty and sticky from syrup. I looked for a rag or some water to wipe one for myself but could find neither. When I went to the front desk no one was there. When a man did return, he said "It's been a long night." When I explained the lack of food and dirty tables he said a bus load of guests were responsible. Seems to me the staff knew in advance there was a bus load of guests who were leaving early and could have been prepared. Eventually bread was brought out, but tables were not cleaned and the employee said they had run out of fruit the day before. Even worse because the area was not monitored (when the employee was there he sat down where he could not be seen and he could not see the breakfast area), two people brought their dogs to the area rather than taking them back to the room after they had been outside. The dogs sniffed around and made a general nuisance of themselves (earlier I had seen the same two people filling huge coolers with free ice from the motel's ice machines).

I expected better from La Quinta and will think twice before staying at this location again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandpoin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

la quinta midvale, utah is a great place to stay.. friendly staff and nice clean rooms. breakfast is all you can eat and the exercise room gives you a place to work it off. I stay here 2-3 times a year and am bringing my family in July.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale

Address: 7231 South Catalpa Street, Midvale, UT 84047-7396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Midvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Midvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale 2*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn, Midvale Utah is a 100% Non Smoking Property (effective May 1, 2012) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and LaQuinta so you can book your La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale Hotel Midvale
La Quinta Midvale
Midvale La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.