We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and excellent service...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7231 South Catalpa Street, Midvale, UT 84047-7396   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast & WiFi!
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Midvale
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Excellent location and excellent service...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

My friend and I were taking a cross-country road trip from Michigan to California in July 2012, and Salt Lake City was our stop for the second night of our journey. I had read some really positive reviews on TripAdvisor.com and decided to reserve a room here because of those reviews and the reasonable price. In general, we were quite impressed.

First of all, the location off I-15 in Midvale is very convenient. It was so easy to find and get to. The front desk attendant who checked us in, Kevin, was very personable and helpful. The first room we checked into (I think it was 216) had kind of an unpleasant odor to it, and he graciously offered to move us to a different room (236) which was much better. The room was very clean, and the bed was quite comfortable. Kevin even recommended an excellent restaurant nearby, Bohemian Brewery, which we ended up eating at for dinner.

In general, the hotel was great. There were just a few negative aspects. First, the computer in the lobby (for guests to use for Internet access) was out of order. I never travel with a laptop but sometimes find it handy to hop online and check out a few things when I can. So that was kind of a disappointment. Second, the outdoor pool area looked rather dingy. It was in a separate building that was kind of indoor and kind of outdoors (maybe like an outdoor pool and hot tub with a giant canopy over it). My friend and I were walking around checking out the hotel and spent a few minutes in the pool area. It didn't look very inviting. Third, the variety of TV channels in the guest rooms was strange. Most hotels usually offer CNN, MSNBC, Fox News, etc. for guests to watch, but this La Quinta only had the local channels plus some other cable networks. (They had VH1 but not CNN - strange.)

Breakfast was fine. They had your typical make-your-own Belgian waffles (that most hotel chains have), fruit, yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, etc. Only two types of cereal, but no biggie. One thing that was unique is that they had two different types of Belgian waffle irons: one was the regular one that made a big waffle, and the other was one that made four small, separate Belgian waffles.

In general, we were very satisfied with this hotel. Great service and a nice facility overall. When we checked out in the morning, we were concerned about the wildfires in southern Utah because we were getting ready to drive through that area. I asked the lady at the desk if she had any information she could provide which would help us out at all, and she gave me the toll-free number for Utah's highway department so we could get up-to-the-minute road conditions. Very helpful.

I would recommend this La Quinta to anyone, but you might not want to use the pool.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    56
    30
    28
    27
See reviews for
73
42
28
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We stayed six nights, to visit family for a reunion. Got in late the first night, the staff was friendly and upgraded our room for their convenience to provide for guests with families. The second night a barking dog kept the nearby rooms awake until 11:30. Hotel staff and security refused to do anything other than wait until the occupants returned from their party. The third night the same thing happened. We propped pillows at the door and kept the TV on until the noise subsided. The fourth night we just stayed at relatives until midnight. For the six days we only had the staff clean the room once, and even at that they didn't bother to vacuum. Price was right, but I guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The hotel was very accommodating to us when we were evacuated from our house due to a fire in the area. They did everything they could to help us out and were very sincere! I also really appreciate the fact that they are so pet friendly! I am very likely to suggest this hotel to all my friends and family, looking for one in this area!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Cs.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

6/22/12

Friendly/caring staff, big room, great pool & waffles for breakfast, so good. Called us asking if we needed anything.

Happy to return in July at end of our vacation.

Peg,
Pasadena, Ca.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed two nights, to visit downtown Salt Lake City. The staff was friendly and attentive. They responded quickly and cheerfully whenever we had a request. Breakfast was basic, but had several choices. The room was clean and comfortable. Everything worked, and the A/C filter was new!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had wonderful stay at LaQuinta in Midvale. Centrally located to everything. Just a block from the TRAX train, which takes you right downtown. We enjoyed the well stocked breakfast including delicious waffles. We certainly recommend this LaQuinta. Very moderately priced for very nice rooms.



  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale

Address: 7231 South Catalpa Street, Midvale, UT 84047-7396
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Midvale
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 hotels in Midvale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Quinta Inn, Midvale Utah is a 100% Non Smoking Property (effective May 1, 2012) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, LaQuinta, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale Hotel Midvale
La Quinta Midvale
Midvale La Quinta
La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Salt Lake City Midvale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.