We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place.. service OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of San Juan Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mexican Hat
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
San Juan Inn
Save
You added San Juan Inn to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Inn   |   Hwy 163 and the San Juan River, P.O. Box 310276, Mexican Hat, UT 84531   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Mexican Hat B&B and Inns
Palatine, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice place.. service OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This is located at very nice place ... just beside the river. The location is excellent but service is average. Its good for one night stay and not more. rooms are small and not at all comfortable but if you prefer location over the room then go for it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    191
    123
    38
    26
See reviews for
108
215
25
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

I realize there's not a lot of choice for food in Mexican Hat but the "beef stew" was Campbell's chunky soup. The other food was very plain, bland, and the hostesses toddler kid was running around the restaurant and wouldn't be quiet. Service was slow, the food was very basic, but if you're the only restaurant in town I guess you can get away with that. My advice... Drive the extra 20 minutes to the View in monument valley

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mexican Hat hotels

Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

For the price i paid, I would expect better service! Lets start with the room, it's clean, and the bed are pretty comfortable. However, it's lacking even the basic amenities, such as coffee maker, and hair dryer....internet service is bad, connection was ok when i first checked in (around 7pm), but it had gotten so bad to the point that i couldn't get connected at all after 8pm....the next morning, i wanted to check my email at 5:30am, i was told by the system that my password had expired...good thing i have my iPhone and was able to get 3G connection. My room is on the second floor, and there are steps on the hallway, i almost tripped several times due to poor and dim lightings at the hallway! I would try other motels or go stay at Bluff (if i wasn't going to make a trip to Monument Valley early morning)...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stay here in October 2012. We had a second floor room. The room was nice enough and clean. The bed was comfortable. It's not a fancy place, but acceptable. The location was quiet. There is a deck on the end that we really enjoyed in the evening. Be careful of the steps and ramps at the deck in the evening, they are very poorly lit and not painted to warn you. Both my wife and I stumbled in the dark while traversing this area. I would suggest that the owners need more lighting and white paint on these areas. We didn't use any food service, but they do have a restaurant. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is just so so. The room was ok, but had a weird odor when we first enter the room. There was no coffee pot or anything that we can use for coffee or tea. The wifi connection was terrible. They gave one password and it only allowed one pc at a time. And even that, it disconnected me all the time, after a while I gave up, it is ridiculous to have to enter the password every now and then. Their TV had bad image quality, can't even watch and enjoy TV. One night is enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darmstadt, Germany
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

If you can't afford The View hotel, this is one possible place to stay. It is located nearby the Monument Valley and just next to the San Juan river. The location is thus very good. The hotel rooms are small and you can hear everything through the walls. But they are at least clean and offer a refrigerator and a TV. Dinner in the Trading Post nearby is good but expensive. The service is ok, the hotel owns a small shop.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester Point
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Highly recommended. Twenty miles north of Monument Valley. Half the cost of the Monument Valley hotels. Very clean, nice rooms, good restaurant on premises. Free parking, On site laundry. I have stayed there 4 times before. Only place to stay in that area as far as I am concerned.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to San Juan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Juan Inn

Address: Hwy 163 and the San Juan River, P.O. Box 310276, Mexican Hat, UT 84531
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Mexican Hat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Mexican Hat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — San Juan Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Juan Inn is nestled along the cliffs of the San Juan River 20 miles north of Monument Valley Tribal Park. All rooms face the river, with the upper rooms having a view of the river. The lower rooms have direct access to the patios overlooking the river and its' colorful redrock cliffs. The Olde Bridge Grille, which is located on property, is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner from 7 am-9pm daily. This Grille is a Native Navajo run enterprise. The motel office is located in the historic trading post. We pride ourselves for buying our Navajo rugs directly from the weaver. Having a well stocked grocery store, general store and curio shop, we run the trading post pretty much as it was in the early 1900s. Come join us! The Navajo people are shy but welcoming, the beauty of the land unsurpassed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel Mexican Hat
San Juan Monument Valley
San Juan Inn Mexican Hat, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Juan Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.