We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“blast from the past” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bluebird Restaurant

Bluebird Restaurant
19 N Main St, Logan, UT 84321-4542
435-752-3155
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 117 restaurants in Logan
Price range: $0 - $24
Cuisines: American, Coffee Shop, Diner, Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Mountain View, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“blast from the past”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

This restaurant is an institution in town and dates back to the early 1900s. I'm always excited to discover these kinds of restaurants. The ambiance and history of the place takes you back to a bygone era, and that alone probably justifies a visit. Sadly, the food is quite ordinary. The menu is priced rather low, so I guess you are getting what you pay for. This restaurant attracts crowds, so you should probably expect to wait for a table at most times of the day. If possible, try to be seated in the original building (not the newer dining room addition next door). The service is friendly enough, but our meals took a long time to come out. Fortunately we were not in a rush and just enjoyed ourselves while waiting.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    30
    25
    17
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kutztown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
1,481 reviews 1,481 reviews
493 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 425 cities Reviews in 425 cities
1,367 helpful votes 1,367 helpful votes
“Old fashioned and very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We were visiting Logan and tried this historic landmark place. It is a real throwback, from another era. We had meal loaf and chicken with good sides and exellent soft rolls. You feel like you are back in the 1920s or 30s--a real experience.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Could Be A Gem”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

This was our second stop here on our way home from Yellowstone. Once in 1998 and now this visit. Sadly, the restaurant/soda fountain has declined even since our visit in 1998. The food is just okay. The sundae's are just okay. Decent portions for the price, but I would gladly pay more for quality food in what could be a gorgeous restaurant/soda fountain.
On this visit I was hoping to find this diamond in the rough restored. But is has not been. It is unfortunate that this building hasn't found the caring enough owner to give it a respectable restore to it's original glory. This place could be gorgeous, and with the right chef and kitchen staff I would think it would do wonderful in the area it is in.
Also, the wait staff could be much better. They seemed rushed, did not clear dishes without being prompted and were gone once the food was served.
We go to Yellowstone every year, but until we find that the Blue Bird has been authentically restored and has a caring owner with good quality food, we will not be back.
It's sad to see a place with this much history get this worn down. I gave this restaurant an overall average rating, but truly, it just barely makes average

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not very good food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2010

Come here to see the unique setting, sit at the soda fountain counter and have some ice cream, skip the dinner.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A yummy taste and glimpse of time past.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

My husband and I have eaten here several times and have loved everything we have ordered. They give you big fresh dinner roles with every order, and they practically melt in your mouth. The menu has things ranging from salads, to chicken fried steak, to sweet and sour chicken. And when you are done eating dinner, they have an old fashioned candy counter and soda fountain. You can even order their own special soda with your dinner that is unique to the bluebird alone. The building is located on historic Logan mainstreet. The walls are lined with pictures of Logan back in the day, and one of the rooms has a mural depicting Logan from the time it was settled clear to current times. If you want a home cooked meal feel and a little step back in time, then the bluebird is the place for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluebird Restaurant also viewed

 
Logan, Wasatch Range
Logan, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Bluebird Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bluebird Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.