We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Modest Hikers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crimson Trail

Crimson Trail
Logan Canyon Trailhead, Logan, UT
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 19 Attractions in Logan
Type: Trails, Sports
Attraction details
Logan, Utah
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“For Modest Hikers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

If you are in relatively good shape and enjoy hiking, this is a great, not-too-difficult hike. Begin by taking Route 89 East through Logan Canyon. Park across the road from the Guinavah-Malibu campground and walk all the way to the top of the campground to access the trailhead. The trail begins by switchbacking up a modestly steep area that is fairly exposed--sunblock and water are a must. Then after 1 mile or so you enter coniferous forest, and begin to traverse along a rocky promontory for another 1 mile. Views from here are awesome, you can see up and down the canyon, and the changing vegetation is very cool. The trail then switchbacks steeply down for about 3/4 of a mile, linking up with the River Nature Trail. Take a left and head West on the River Nature Trail, enjoy the interpretive signs, and arrive back at the Guinavah-Malibu campground.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fun & Challenging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We did this hike yesterday. There was 5 of us. We parked across the street from the Guinavah Malibu Campground (near the Wind Caves trailhead) so we did not have to pay to enter the campsite. From the trail head you can either take the river trail down to Spring Hollow or you can begin the Crimson Trail first. The Crimson Trail is about 3 miles long. The River trail is about 1.4 miles. We started with the Crimson Trail. It is a steep and strenuous climb for the first portion of the hike. Much of it is shaded by forest trees. There are some spots with water run off on the rocks that look like small waterfalls at the right time of the seasons. Once you are on top you walk along what is locally called 'The China Wall'. The limestone cliffs offer fantastic views and beautiful landscape. The cliffs are very high. Once you wrap around the mountain you begin your decent which is also steep. At the bottom you are at Spring Hollow Campground. Walk to the bottom of the campground and you can catch the River Trail back up. The river trail offers informational plaques about the surrounding area and wildlife. The trail is easy to follow. We did it in 2.5 hours time with a swift pace. We did take a few pictures but we did scoot along quickly. I would recommend to do this hike in the fall when the leaves are changing colors for a prettier scenery. Also if you want an easier climb, start at Spring Hollow first and descend to Guinavah Malibu. There are places to fill your water bottle at both campsites. I would rate this hike moderate to difficult. My wife felt like it was difficult. Our friends handled it well and they're from California so elevation wouldn't prevent people from doing it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“One of the best hikes in Logan Canyon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This is a great spring, summer, or fall hike up Logan Canyon. It is roughly 3 miles in length, I believe. We typically will do this hike a few times each year. We often park at Spring Hollow, take the River trail to Guinavah campground, then head up the mountain and back to Spring Hollow. Usually takes us about 2 hours roundtrip from our home in North Logan. The steep uphill from Guinavah will really get one's heart rate up (we make a serious effort to not stop just to get the burn), but once on the top of the trail, the great views of Logan Canyon are well worth the effort. We almost always stop at the spring bubbling out of the mountain in Spring Hollow for a few minutes near the end of the hike. Highly recommend this hike for those that like a moderate workout, and fantastic scenery.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Autumn is Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This trail is GREAT! a four mile loop trail, and good for hikers of all skill levels, if you are a novice, just take it slow going up AND coming down as both ends of the trail can be a tad steep but still safe and easy. I LOVE THIS TRAIL

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Worth the climb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The first part of the Crimson Trail, or China Wall, is a steep, rather strenuous climb with lots of switchbacks, but once you are two the ledge, it's smooth sailing with lots of great views and photo ops. If you want to take your time and explore, allow 3 1/2 to 4 hours. My husband and I did it once in a little under two, but we made few stops and ran large parts of the level sections. There are some fun rock formations to climb on or stop on for a quick snack. Watch out for rattle snakes on the rocks, though, especially if it's warm and sunny. Since most of the trail is exposed, it can be hiked earlier in the season than many other Logan Canyon trails, with less likelihood of hitting snow and ice. There are a couple of short sections that take you into the woods, but most of the trip is right out on the ledge. The descent is a little hard on the quads and knees and, it's easy to start sliding if you aren't careful. In order to complete the loop, you have to take the river trail back to the campground where you park. This flat, level, shady section is a nice cool down. Though, it dries quickly in the summer heat, the River Trail is strikingly green and refreshing in the spring.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crimson Trail also viewed

Logan, Wasatch Range
Logan, Wasatch Range
 
Logan, Wasatch Range
Logan, Wasatch Range
 

Been to Crimson Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crimson Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.