We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disasterous double and triple overbooking” 2 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added University Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
University Inn & Conference Center
4300 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322-4300   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Logan
istanbul
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Disasterous double and triple overbooking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

What a disorganized place at the USU campus. I booked using their website a month and a half in advance of a conference held here. They somehow overbooked massively because there was more than one convention in town... and relocated several of us to other hotels. The staff at the front desk were rude about it and did not apologize. There was a letter of apology at the other hotel... and a waterbottle and token for free ice cream on USU campus.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
6
2
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, UT
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went about 3 weeks ago. It was a great value. The rooms are well kept and have a fridge available. The rooms aren't large by any stretch. I could see parking being a problem if school is in session. As it was we went in the summer.
The building was not easy to find. That would be my single complaint which I level more at Google maps than anything else. We drove around a bit to find it. It could be better labeled.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

My husband and I were on a road trip and didn't know where or when we'd be staying. Stumbled upon this little gem and were delighted. A bit tricky to locate on campus but no big deal. Room was great and loved the double vanities. It was so cool to be on campus - even though it was summer there were lots of kids/students around and I enjoyed the atmosphere. Also nice to walk around campus in the cool early mornings. The young man at the check in desk was very helpful and recommended good places to eat and told us about free bus transportation. Best part? The free ice cream token for a giant size ice cream from the shop right on campus. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Even after several years of not using this motel, it was good to see that it still is a great motel with friendly and helpful staff. Over the last 10 plus years we have stayed at this motel as we visited our son at Utah State University. The location is great and easy to visit students on campus. Most of all the other motels in Logan are down the hill from Campus. This one is directly on the campus which makes it easy to visit with people attending college there.

On this visit, we stayed in the deluxe King room. Since it has a small couch and chair it made it great to sit in our air conditioned room and visit. The bed was very comfortable and nice bedding on it too.

In the morning, we enjoyed the free breakfast. We enjoyed the make you own waffles, pastries, yogurt and cereals. There were other many other options too along with coffee and juices.

We have always stayed at this motel and will continue to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alto, NM
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nothing but good things to say about our experience here. Room was great, service was fantastic, breakfast was great for what I needed, price was good, location is convenient. Everyone on staff is friendly and helpful. It's not a luxury place but for a good middle of the road hotel, this is perfect.

Room Tip: Breakfast room is on 5th floor, which is unusual. But the 5th floor seemed a little hotter and noisi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springville, Utah
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I often stay at hotels that advertise they are eco-friendly, helping the environment by using less water, less soap, etc. But most don't honor what they post. Oh, the sign is about the same - something like "a towel hung up means 'I'll use it again', and a towel on the floor means 'please replace'." But do they really follow that practice? Most often not. I've tried everything I can think of to get the hotel to "only" pick up the ones on the floor for laundering.

A stay at the University Inn wins a green star in my book. They did precisely what they advertised. When we returned to the room for our second night, the only towel that had been replaced was the one that was on the floor. The rest of the items were still hanging, including the washcloth hanging over the shower bar! Giant kudos for that. Of course they also offer other ways to go green - including using their soap dispensers rather than a regular bar of soap, eliminating a lot of waste.

The University Inn was remodeled some time in the past year. The rooms are well appointed, the mattresses and bedding quite comfortable. We stayed in a deluxe room with a king-sized bed. It also offered a small couch with ottoman, desk/work area with outlets for easy charging of your electronics, flat screen TV, extra sink, oversize mini-fridge (with a separate freezer area), and microwave oven. Wireless internet is free, although a bit of a fuss to set up on some systems, requiring a re-start; once set up however, it works well for the duration of your stay. The daily continental breakfast offers a wide variety of items including waffles, hot cereal packets, hard-boiled eggs, muffins, and a variety of juices. And covered parking is included.

While once an Aggie, always an Aggie, one might not always think of staying on the campus when visiting the area. If you haven't yet tried the University Inn, you should - even if not an Aggie, and even if for no other reason than to reward the singular hotel I've found in years that actually honors the green system as advertised!

Room Tip: If traveling alone or as a couple, ask for the Deluxe King room (as opposed to the Classic double qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, Pennsylvania, Usa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good. Room was clean and comfortable. Slight difficulty in initially finding building but not a big problem. Room noise is noticable from adjoining rooms. If doing something on campus the location is convenient.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn & Conference Center

Address: 4300 Old Main Hill, Logan, UT 84322-4300
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Logan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Logan
#7 Business Hotel in Logan
#7 Family Hotel in Logan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Heart of Utah State University is the University Inn & Conference Center. We have 74 hotel rooms and suites more than 59,000 square ft. Of conference space designated for continued education through conferences, workshops, seminars, & symposiums. Our experienced conference management team can plan and coordinate your next event on or off site, including online and/or onsite registration as well as logistical planning and event execution. We will make your event and your stay, your way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your University Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Logan
University Inn And Conference Center
University Inn & Conference Center Logan, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.