We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but not great Thai food in Layton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pad Thai

Pad Thai
1986 N Hill Field Rd, Ste 8, Layton, UT 84041-2112
801-776-8424
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 151 Restaurants in Layton
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good, but not great Thai food in Layton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We ate here with a large family group. Good selection of Thai dishes was ordered. Excellent service by the staff. The food was very good although somewhat bland for my taste. Luckily they had plenty of Thai chilies in fish sauce to ramp up the flavor. The sum tum (green papaya salad) was as good as any we have had elsewhere. The tom ca gai was weaker than most other places that we have had it. All in all it is a very nice place to eat and I think you will enjoy it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Layton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Thai Food - Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Pad Thai is on a strip mall in Layton. It doesn't look like much from the outside - but don't be deceived. The dining room is elegant and well appointed. The one downside is that the chairs, though elegant looking are extremely uncomfortable by the end of the meal.

The food is fantastic - I have tried many - many items from the menu and i have not been disappointed yet. Meals are served family style, but if there are just two of you and you want a broader variety - try ordering the half plates. They are plenty for two. We usually order 3-4 items that way and then enjoy the meal. You are also served Thai Rice from an elegant serving bowl to go with your meal.

I have never been disappointed with the service at Pad Thai. It seems to be family run and you will often have fairly young people serving you. They are pleasant and attentive and helpful.

Going to dinner here is a real treat for my family and I.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Hidden little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

When all of the eateries around the mall are bulging with average food and poor service on a Saturday evening, we tried Pad Thai. Excellent overall value and service. Food was out of this world. Sweet little Thai lady was back in the kitchen brewing up all of her family secrets. Quiet atmosphere and not too many guests. We were seated immediately and eating in 10 minutes. You haven't lived till you have tried Thai cooking.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“It's OK, but we won't rush back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We are Layton residents and decided to try some take-out from Pad Thai. We have enjoyed Thai food in other restaurants, but hadn't tried this one yet. Our food from Pad Thai was not as great as we hoped it would be. It was a little soggy and the flavor was only so-so. We ordered the pad thai, yellow curry, Thai sweet and sour chicken, and fried spring rolls for a little over $40. Our food wasn't terrible, but there are better Asian restaurants for that price in Layton and we will probably choose one of those in the future.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

Best Thai restaurant around for miles! Try the tom-yum or the massaman curry- can't be beat!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pad Thai also viewed

Layton, Davis County
Layton, Davis County
 

Been to Pad Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pad Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.