We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Don't Get It” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton to your Saves list
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   762 West Heritage Park Blvd, Layton, UT 84041   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Layton
Helena, Montana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I Don't Get It”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I just finished another completely flawless visit at the HGI in Layton. Check-in was perfect. The room was perfect. Manager's reception. Room service. Breakfast. There was not a single beat missed anywhere at this property, and I'm comparing it to almost countless HGI properties where I've stayed nationwide.

And yet, the Hampton is rated higher. The H2Suites is rated higher (which is the worst property I've ~ever~ stayed at, worldwide, hands down, bar none).

I'm not sure what other travelers use to measure a property by, but I'm baffled. This HGI property is among the best I've seen. Rooms are nice. Location is convenient. You can't ask for better waiter/waitresses for breakfast/dinner.

There are a dozen properties within 2 blocks of this location, but you won't find a better place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    63
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
56
21
18
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Very poor service for a HGI. One example, I am a gold member for Hilton so I am supposed to get a newspaper at my door each morning. The first morning, no newspaper, I called around 1:00 to let them know, they said they would deliver one to me. I called again at 5:00 and they said they ran out - I asked why they didn't call to let me know - they mumbled something about the maids probably ran out of papers or something.

Also, they have a Manager's reception each night from 5-6 - however, they didn't tell me about it when I checked in - I found out when I went to the lobby at 6:00 to find them shutting it down - I inquired and found out about it - would have been nice to know as there was free beer and wine and some good looking snacks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nkala, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Dear Service Seeker:),
We are so greatful that you are sharing your experience and giving us the opportunity to make it up to you! We are so sorry we didn't live up to our standards during your stay!! We strive for excellence and fell short this time. Please accept our appologies. You should have had a newspaper at your door and it wasn't there, not only was it not there but it looks like we didn't order enough and should have went out and purchased another one regardless! You should have been informed at check-in of our Tuesday social hour from 5-6pm where we offer complimentary beer and wine with an appetizer provided by a local restaurant.
Please let me know when you will be here again or email me at nancy.dejong@hilton.com so that I can send something your way to make up for your not so great experience! Hope to hear from you soon!
Sincerely,
Nancy DeJong
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Top Contributor
809 reviews 809 reviews
160 hotel reviews
Reviews in 364 cities Reviews in 364 cities
326 helpful votes 326 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very nice, clean hotel. Well appointed rooms with nice common areas. Nicely stocked and useful business center too. Breakfast was average but did the job. Nice option to have Starbucks available in the lobby too. The bar/lounge was well done too. Easy walking distance to shopping and restaurants. Try Rooster's next door for local beers. I will definitely stay here again when in Layton.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vonore, Tennessee
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel several times. I have been pleased with the cleanliness & quality of the rooms. The hotel has both a good restaurant and lounge/bar within the facility. The hotel has both an indoor pool and a well equiped exercise facility. Service by the entire staff is very good. I recommend this hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, Montana
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I reviewed this property in October last year, and at that time (in my opinion) they were working to find their groove. I've stayed several times since then, and I'm glad to say that they've found it. the check-in process is much smoother, the staff is much friendlier, and they've raised the bar quite a bit on the overall experience. Dave at the front desk, and Amy in the restaurant are absolutely top notch.

There are a lot of hotels to choose from in the Layton area (probably a dozen or so within a few blocks of this HGI), but none are better. I'd highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

The facilities seem pretty new. The bed was comfortable and service was good. I stayed here for business and it met my needs. Our business meeting was not held at the hotel, but rather down the street at another hotel. There are many places to eat within walking distance. As well as two small malls also within walking distance. Target has a grocery section which is good for picking up fresh foods when you're travelling on business for extended amounts of time. As well, the lounge had drinks for a fair price.

My only complaint is that my room was pretty much the furthest point from the lobby. It took two long hallways to get to it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to the elevators or lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen, GA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

If you have business with Hill AFB, this is a great place to stay. Nice room with free wifi, fridge & microwave.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton

Address: 762 West Heritage Park Blvd, Layton, UT 84041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Davis County > Layton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Layton
#3 Business Hotel in Layton
#4 Family Hotel in Layton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton Hotel Layton
Hilton Garden Inn Layton
Hilton Layton
Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Salt Lake City/Layton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.