We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish & chips in Utah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Taste of Britain

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Little Taste of Britain
1095 North Main Street, Layton, UT
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 164 Restaurants in Layton
Cuisines: English
Description: One of two Little Taste of Britain locations. See URL for details.
Restaurant details
Description: One of two Little Taste of Britain locations. See URL for details.
Utah
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best fish & chips in Utah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good fish & chips are a rarity in our land-locked state. I was a little skeptical after receiving a recommendation from a trusted friend, but I was not disappointed! Great fish, very light and not over battered. The chips are good enough, nothing to really write home about. The atmosphere is non-descript, a little British market when you walk in. The staff is helpful and the service was adequate. We've been twice and will go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Authentic, Tasty, and Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had been wanting to try Little Taste of Britain for quite some time, and just had not had a chance when we were in town. We frequently visit the UK for business, and crave authentic English fare when we are away for long. We tried several items on the menu, including Fish and Chips, Steak Pasty, and Black Pudding. All were very authentic and very tasty! The restaurant is run by an English family who moved to Utah several years ago, and who imports most of their ingredients. The restaurant also includes a small English Grocery with a great selection of English Candy, Food, and Gift Items. Little Taste of Britain is worth the visit.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“The Best British Fish n Chips - As approved by a local Brit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I'm a Brit who lives in the area and I can truly testify that this is one of THE best places to get fish n chips. They have a great menu with a good selection of other British foods to sample, including pies and pasties, in addition to other kid-friendly choices such as chicken and chips. You should also try some of the sides, including the mushy peas, curry sauce or pineapple fritter (very British and yummy!).
The fish is delicious. It's cod and very fresh and comes in larger portions (one large piece of fish) and battered to perfection. The chips are very authentic and in England we season them with salt and lots of vinegar.
If you've always wanted to try Haggis (not for everyone of course, they sell these frozen and crumpets and pasties). They also have a mini store selling British food items such as chocolate, sweets, marmite and other British products.
It's a small restaurant and nothing fancy but it's not supposed to be. It's just an authentic, brilliant British "chippie," with great food and wonderful service run by Mandy (a Brit) who is extremely friendly and will answer any of your questions or make suggestions on menu choices. Just don't tell her that the chips don't look like American "British chips!"
Oh and for the lady who mentioned in her review that she thought the chips ("larger french fries") were served with vinegar - you put the vinegar on yourself - it's on the table :-)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Utah, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“"Ello Govenah!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Definitely one of a kind and 100% authentic. My only complaint is it prices. A little steep for Fish & chips. But the owner of the place was very nice and helped us decide what we wanted. I loved their chicken pastry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Exactly as the Name says a "Little Tast Of Britian"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We really enjoyed this restaurant; it is a very refreshing change from the typical "chain Restaurants found in the area. The prices are very reasonable, the place is neat and tidy, the cook is fast and friendly and the fish and chips are the best in Utah. A great place for lunch that the kids will particularly enjoy.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Taste of Britain also viewed

 
Layton, Davis County
Layton, Davis County
 

Been to Little Taste of Britain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Little Taste of Britain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.