We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This courtyard is not like the others we have stayed in” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Layton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Layton to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Layton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1803 Woodland Park Drive, Layton, UT 84041   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Layton
Warrenton, Oregon, United States
1 review
“This courtyard is not like the others we have stayed in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My parents and I choose to stay in the courtyard hotel because we have always had great rooms and great service. Not this time. Lots of construction to walk around and when my father and I wanted to go and relax in the hot tub we were met with signs closed for maintenance and cleaning but no one was in there some went to the front desk and she told us no. We said no one was in there cleaning and she then told us that they had just tiled it and we could not go in. Well since this was our second day and I had been in the hot tub the night before and the tile was fine I knew it was not the truth. She then directed us to another motel in the chain and said we could use it. So my father and i walked out the door and to the one she had told us. The lady behind the desk had no idea what we were talking about and they didn't even have a hot tub. She then directed us to another property and we walked some more. When we got to the correct property and tried to get into the hot tub it was so hot we could not even get clear in. The other people there told us they experienced the same thing and two night earlier it was even worse. We soaked our feet for a few minutes then left after the management told us they could not do anything about the temperature. I will be asking a lot more questions before I check in again and we are on the road through June 20th. Jeannette

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. I would like to apologize for your disappointment during your stay. We hope that you would give us another chance to prove that we are the Courtyard that you have come to expect next time you are in the Layton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    26
    16
    8
    5
See reviews for
25
3
5
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Very Nice Hotel...Reasonably Priced for a Courtyard Marriott. Spacious Room. VERY Clean establishment. And, no problems with allowing travel companions to park RV and sleep in RV while I stayed in Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
We LOVED having you as our guest! Thank you for the review! We know taking the time to share a good experience takes time out of your busy day! Please come back next time you are in the Layton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swedesboro
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

This facility was outstanding. The front desk was very helpful to our needs and the room was very outstanding and clean/quiet. The Wed. night manager reception was great with food and drinks; and the breakfast($) was a very nice buffet. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance. The coffee pot is always on in the lobby. Need I say more! You are 30 miles from Salt Lake City BUT you can take the local train for a measly $8.00 round trip to downtown in total double decker comfort.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Thank you for your review!! We are very pleased that you had a great stay here at the Courtyard. We hope to see you again at the Courtyard next time you are in the Layton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, GA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

I am accustomed to Courtyards by Marriott being top notch hotels, but I now know the name does not necessarily mean anything. This hotel is as tired and basic as it gets, with none of the flare and quality you should expect for $119. To be fair, the room was large, the bed was comfortable, the flat panel tv had a slew of cable channels, the wireless internet worked well, and the hotel was very quiet. On the downside, breakfast is not included and the buffet they offer is definitely not worth the $9. Also, there are 2 sets of elevators that lead to different sets of rooms on each floor, so be sure you know which one to get on or you'll be frustrated as heck. The best thing of all though, was the superb pubic hair collection on the bathroom floor.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. I would like to apologize for your disappointment during your stay. I would also like to let you know that our Lobby and Dining area are currently under renovation and that we have plans to renovate our sleeping rooms sometime in the next year. I would like to apologize for us not being able to contact you regarding your stay at the Courtyard. Please feel free to contact us at your convenience to discuss your visit. We hope that you would give us another chance to prove that we are the Courtyard that you have come to expect next time you are in the Layton area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

My review is pretty much in line with all of he other reviews. Nice rooms, quiet hallways, comfortable beds. This is the second time I have stayed here, and I will certainly return (as long as the price continues to be competitive with the other hotels in the area).

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank You for your response! Your review is very important to us, and we look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We had to stay here for business when my fiance was training for work. I love the gym its nice and small but I really got a good workout in. The spa wasn't exactly HOT but its was 26 degrees out so it wasn't that bad. Our room was really nice and when the front desk heard that we were there for business they gave us a nice room. We had a room with a king bed and an extra couch. We also had a fridge and microwave. We went across the street to target to get snacks and food for our week long stay.Or flight from Las Vegas took us in late so when we arrived it was raining and snowing at the same time.Being from California I was wearing sandals which was bad on my behalf. Luckily for us the hot water works right away :D

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Layton, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank You for staying with us! We are glad you had a warm place to land and we hope that you will consider us for any future travel you or your finace has in Layton!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel and really enjoyed our stay. We got decent rates and the staff was quick to meet our concerns and needs just by asking and without hesitation. Kudos to the staff! Also, we loved waking up to a nice balcony view of the mountain, definite plus when you haven't seen them before! Cracker Barrel is right out back and plenty of nice rice restaurants and shopping, including the mall! Total enjoyable stay!

(The only downside was the rooms are a little dated and no free breakfast, but the bed was comfy and fresh towels daily!)

Room Tip: Easy access to interstate, SuperTarget across street, mall, and 20+ restaurants nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Layton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Layton

Address: 1803 Woodland Park Drive, Layton, UT 84041
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Davis County > Layton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Layton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Layton 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott Hotel surrounds travelers with the conveniences that makes business and pleasure travel easy. Come and see our new state-of-the-art lobby, the Bistro featuring Starbuck’s, new 24-Hour Fitness Center and recently renovated meeting rooms and Executive Boardroom. The new lobby includes flexible spaces to work or relax in, complimentary Wi-Fi throughout and easy access to the latest news, weather and airport conditions via our GoBoard. The highlight of our new lobby experience is the Bistro - Eat.Drink.Connect. This is where guests can enjoy healthy food and beverages for breakfast and dinner service with cocktails. Stay in shape in our new 24-Hour fitness center, indoor pool and spa or relax at our outdoor patio next to the fire pit. Host your next meeting or event in our meeting rooms featuring over 3000 square feet of space. Our hotel in Layton makes it easier to get things accomplished on your terms.The Courtyard by Marriott is close to Hill Air Force Base, Freeport Center, Lagoon, Antelope Island, Snowbasin and Powder Mountain Ski Resorts and the Davis Conference Center. Shopping, Movie Theaters and other dining establishments all within walking distance.Start planning your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Layton Hotel today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Layton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Salt Lake City Layton Hotel Layton
Courtyard Layton
Layton Marriott
Layton Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott Salt Lake City Layton Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Salt Lake City Layton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.