We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parry Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parry Lodge
Save
You added Parry Lodge to your Saves list
89 East Center Street, Kanab, UT 84741   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Pensacola, Florida
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Historic nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This motel will bring you back to the old west. This is the place where all the stars stayed when filming the old western movies. Most rooms are labeled with stars names and memorabilia. The rooms are small but very clean and unique.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    115
    41
    22
    8
See reviews for
67
118
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Logan, Utah
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Parry Lodge is one of a kind, a clean, comfortable and efficient motel that is also an extraordinary museum of -- and tribute to -- Western movies and their stars. I stayed in Frank Sinatra's room -- the one he actually stayed in when filming a Western outside of town. Cool! Fun! The stories about famous movie star guests of the past are endless. Each night there's a showing of one of the old movies in the "movie barn." Excellent restart, too. Very helpful staff. Beautiful setting. Really couldn't be better. I can't visiting Kanab and not staying at Parry Lodge. May it prosper forever!

Room Tip: Ask for the room of your favorite Western movie star from the past.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver City, New Mexico
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Kanab wasn't buzzing when I passed thru in early January and many hotels were closed for the season. Parry's was opened, even though there were fewer than 10 rooms filled. Thank goodness for them! My room was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. It was close to good food as well. Overall, it was a good value for a good sleep while driving through Utah. Will stay there again on my next trip.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed here four nights to attend the Greyhound Gathering. It was central to all the events and our greyhounds were welcome. They show an old movie in the barn every night-- one
that was filmed in Kanab. The lobby and dining room walls are covered with autographed photos of old movie stars, who stayed here when all the filming was done. Friendly staff, clean rooms, reasonable prices.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Considerably less expensive than the neighboring hotels but no less indulgent, the Parry Lodge is right on the main drag and consists of a main hotel building and motel-style accommodations in the back. I've stayed here several times, always in the motel-style rooms. Which are quiet and peaceful. There's lots of parking, the internet works fine, and the breakfast is worth the price of admission on its own. Don't order off the menu, just get the buffet. Which is ample, eclectic and inexpensive.

Staff were friendly, coin laundry was efficient, and the place is very pet-friendly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is a great stay in Utah. The hotel I quiet the people have an old style hospitality feeling. In other words Its real hospitality not some fake customer service you get at a so called five star big hotel. Some people dont get the fact this hotel is based on its look back in the past. The lighting soft, there is real history on the walls. I even seen many pictures of Sammy Davis jr. It should not be renovated. I like the squeaky front door. It's like being at home. It was funny the one reviewer couldn't get a room stayed somewhere

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I had read about the Parry Lodge in a pamplet and on line so we decided to walk around the grounds while on our way to Kanab. Yes, there is a lot of history at this old historic lodge and it looks pretty well kept up but I don't think I would want to stay given some of the reviews I've read. We enjoyed seeing the names of famous actors over each door and peeking through the windows to see inside. The grounds are pretty but the best part is just thinking about all the famous people who have been to this hotel. Fun experience!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parry Lodge

Address: 89 East Center Street, Kanab, UT 84741
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kanab
#7 Family Hotel in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1931 by the three Parry brothers Whitney (Whit), Chauncey (Chaunce) and Gronway (Gron), Parry Lodge has hosted some of the biggest names from the golden age of Hollywood. John Wayne, Frank Sinatra, Olivia De Havilland, Gregory Peck, Maureen O'Hara, Tyrone Power, Linda Darnell, Robert Taylor, Anne Bancroft, Dean Martin, Lana Turner, Clint Eastwood and Barbara Stanwyck are just a few of the hundreds of stars and character players that stayed at Parry's while filming in the many scenic locales in and around Kanab, Utah. Now owned by Kanab native Steve Heaton, centrally located Parry Lodge can be your base of operations as you visit Grand Canyon, Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks, Glen Canyon (Lake Powell) National Recreations Area, Grand Staircase - Escalante and Pipe Springs National Monuments. These incredible natural wonders are all a 90 minute drive or less from Kanab and form a grand circle with Parry Lodge as its hub. When visiting Zion National Park, be sure to visit the Zion Canyon Theatre and stay at the new Cable Mountain Lodge. Parry Lodge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parry Hotel Kanab
Parry Lodge Kanab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parry Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.