We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down-home appeal of yesteryears' lodgings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parry Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parry Lodge
Save
You added Parry Lodge to your Saves list
89 East Center Street, Kanab, UT 84741   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
South Central Orange County, CA
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Down-home appeal of yesteryears' lodgings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We stayed in Room 131 (the Tyrone Power room) for three nights. By the end of our trip I was ready for a better bed. The property's site lists the beds as "queen size", but I found them to be significantly smaller than queen-size beds at our next stop on our trip. Not only was the bed narrow so that I spent much of the night with my daughter's elbow in my ear, but also the bed wasn't very comfortable.

The room was showing its age. While I like vintage fixtures, the lights were inadequate to illuminate the room. The floors and doors squeaked and groaned loudly. A chair in the second room would have been nice to go with the desk. My daughters liked the odd-shaped closets so they could play hide and seek, and they didn't seem to mind the room condition. The bathroom floor tile looked newer than the rest of the room. The coffee maker was small but serviceable.

Service was the highlight of the stay. All staff members were courteous and friendly. I also apprecated the free wi-fi. If we are in Kanab again I will either spend more for a better room at the Parry Lodge or see if the Victorian Inn has openings.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    115
    41
    22
    8
See reviews for
67
118
15
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

"Home to the stars" of yesteryear!! People 'of a certain age' will identify with the pics and movie posters in the lobby and restaurant. The motel is old, but clean and well kept. It's a typical motel of the 40's-50's...if you're expecting a Holiday inn...keep driving. There is a nightly (free) movie in the playhouse (movies are of the same vintage as the motel) Restaurant is closed on Sunday, but we had a very good dinner just across the street. Breakfast is either 'off the menu' or a $5.99 'all you can eat' in the dining room. Above the doors to the room appears the name of the 'star' that (may have) stayed there. The name above the 'Omar Sharif' room is spelled 'Shariff'.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Oh-my-gosh! Didn't think about reservations so there were no rooms anywhere we looked. Finally someone said to check Parry Lodge. Yeah! We got a room and we couldn't have done better had we planned it out. This place is GREAT! Really classy room that is decorated beautifully and super-comfortable. Stay here!! Larry and Marilyn from Redmond, Washington.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011 via mobile

After a few nights of over-stimulation and excess everything Vegas, my wife, two young kids and I started a quick road trip to hike in Zion and Bryce. We pulled into Kanab, a clean quaint town, and gravitated toward the big, brand new Holiday Inn Express. We could tell they had done a nice job by the lobby area. The Front Desk gentleman was extremely nice and very helpful, but alas, there was no room. He directed us to the Parry, and we are glad he did! The main lobby is chock full of autographed classic western stars who stayed in the 50s and 60s at the Parry. The staff is nice and the idea of pulling the car right up to the room was so nice, especially after the parkades and elevators in Vegas. The room was nice, though not Modern, was in tip-top shape with comfortable beds and nice bedding. It is very evident that whomever oversees the maintenance and cleaning of this property has an eye for detail and knows what they are doing! The carpeting was near new, as were the plumbing fixtures in the sink and shower as well. The AC unit is newer as well, though we did not try it as we were happy to have fresh air through the opening window! This property was so peaceful we felt perfectly comfortable and had a great night's rest! Well done Parry ownership and staff!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

Parry Lodge is a clean comfortable motel. So much history there.
Staff was great and helpful.
Breakfast could have been a little warmer. It was good but on the cool side.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

Front desk clerk has loooooong red nails and is a ringer for Angelica Huston in a character role. Didn't get the warm fuzzies from her, but she was definitely OLD HOLLYWOOD.

The setting of the Parry is astonishingly beautiful; much more beautiful than in the pictures. Book this hotel for a wedding, or fancy family reunion. I also recommend this if you are traveling with mature relatives. The cafe and banqueting facilities reminded me exactly of the restaurant from Joan Crawford's film, "Mildred Pierce."

I was not disappointed and will be a returning here again.

Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Kent, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

This place has lots of character and doesn't deserve the poor reviews. I particularly liked the two washbasins in our room - one inside the bathroom, the other just outside. You have to wait to be seated at breakfast, but this isn't a problem. The bread pudding is gorgeous.

Stayed October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccparrylodge, General Manager at Parry Lodge, responded to this review, October 21, 2010
Thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parry Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parry Lodge

Address: 89 East Center Street, Kanab, UT 84741
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kanab
#7 Family Hotel in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1931 by the three Parry brothers Whitney (Whit), Chauncey (Chaunce) and Gronway (Gron), Parry Lodge has hosted some of the biggest names from the golden age of Hollywood. John Wayne, Frank Sinatra, Olivia De Havilland, Gregory Peck, Maureen O'Hara, Tyrone Power, Linda Darnell, Robert Taylor, Anne Bancroft, Dean Martin, Lana Turner, Clint Eastwood and Barbara Stanwyck are just a few of the hundreds of stars and character players that stayed at Parry's while filming in the many scenic locales in and around Kanab, Utah. Now owned by Kanab native Steve Heaton, centrally located Parry Lodge can be your base of operations as you visit Grand Canyon, Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks, Glen Canyon (Lake Powell) National Recreations Area, Grand Staircase - Escalante and Pipe Springs National Monuments. These incredible natural wonders are all a 90 minute drive or less from Kanab and form a grand circle with Parry Lodge as its hub. When visiting Zion National Park, be sure to visit the Zion Canyon Theatre and stay at the new Cable Mountain Lodge. Parry Lodge is listed on the National Register of Historic Places. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parry Hotel Kanab
Parry Lodge Kanab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parry Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.