We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“USSW2013” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Red Hills

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Red Hills to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Red Hills
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   125 West Center Street, Kanab, UT 84741-3417   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn a $50 Gift Card
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Kanab
Dartmouth, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“USSW2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The staff were friendly and well informed. The room was just so, so. Wood structure building were you could hear people moving upstairs. The room had a slight moldy smell. The breakfast was poor with little selection and not the best quality. The pool was nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry you did not find our free hot breakfast inviting. Most guest enjoy out scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, fresh fruit, toast, muffins, cereal (hot and cold) juice and coffee. I realize we cant supply every item every guest would like but we feel we have a very good selection. I hope you will come back and stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    114
    71
    36
    21
See reviews for
94
111
29
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herrin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

First impression was not good. The floor was very squeaky, but the quiet room and good breakfast made up for it. They have free wifi and a good TV channel selection too. The town is small and people were nice, friendly, and helpful with questions/directions.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
I am glad you liked our free Hot Breakfast and Hi Def television channels. Thank you for your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payette, Idaho
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were happily surprised by the hotel, we might have just been easy to please after our experience the previous evening, but regardless we had a great nights sleep, comfortable beds and clean rooms and showers! The staff was on hand and often asked members of our party if everything was ok or if we needed anything. They were even kind enough to let the guys have a little 'tailgater' out back and I'm assuming since the guys kept it to a low rumble and no one heard them or complained it was all good! It is a 'older' hotel but has been well maintained & kept up! Full house the night we stayed, that says something! The town is a quiet tourist type place, the people friendly and I hope to return for a visit some time, I'd stay @BW again too!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you for your review and your loyalty to the Best Western brand. I hope you can come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This motel looks like an old motel that BW bought to fix up. The room was good sized, the staff was very nice, and the pool was great. Breakfast was free, but downstairs from lobby area. There is an elevator that looks like it was added recently. Parking was a little tight, but there was overflow available on the street. If you are planning to visit Zion NP, Bryce Canyon NP, and/or the North Rim of the Grand Canyon, this is a nice place for a home base since Kanab is pretty much in the middle of all three.

Room Tip: You probably want a room upstairs in the wing where the lobby is - those will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Kanab and the whole Grand Staircase area has so much to offer for sight seeing and outdoor adventure. I'm glad you enjoyed our region, please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We spent one night here, 2 rooms, 6 adults. The rooms were clean and beds comfy. Not well set-up for elderly,,had to go downstairs to breakfast, but kind of a long walk to the elevator. Breakfast was good, but the hotel was pretty full and they were VERY slow at re-filling the food dishes. Also the ice machine was broken and had to go downstairs for ice. No vending machines in the part of the hotel we were in, long walk to another one...LOL. Not what I expect from a Best Western, but at least it was clean and the clerks were friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hello, I am glad you found our rooms comfortable and our breakfast satisfying. I am sorry you found it inconvenient to have to take the elevator to the breakfast room. We did install the elevator last year to make it easier for our elderly guest to access the room and remodeled the breakfast room at that time. We have added a brand new 2nd Ice machine to help keep up with guest needs as well. I hope you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

It's a motel. Room was dated and not clean. I have kids so I chose to enter through the hallway. The doors to the outside of the hallway said they are locked at all times. They were not and they were located on the corner of the street. Had it not been passed time to cancel I would not have stayed. Could hear every word and noise from within the room.
Now you get what you pay for. It was cheap and it had a pool.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property, I'm sorry you stay was anything less than satisfactory. Please know that anytime you are not satisfied, regardless of cancel time, we would not require you to honor a reservation if you wanted to leave. I'm sorry to hear someone left the hallway door unlocked but each room has its own lock and deadbolt so even if it is unlocked the hotel is completely secure. Feel free to contact me anytime if I can be of assistance.

Ed Nelson, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The hotel offered large clean rooms with comfortable beds. It is a good value for the price. The rooms are quite clean. The electric sockets need to be repaired as only half of them had current. They are a bit skimpy on the shampoo and soap as they furnish only a small bottle of shampoo in the room which is good for one person.
If staying more than one night expect to find different solicitation in the room by housekeeping for tips.

The breakfast is included and offers the normal variety of food although lacking fresh fruits.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am glad you had a great stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Red Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Red Hills

Also Known As:
Best Western Red Hills Hotel Kanab
Best Western Red Hills Hotel
Best Western Hotel Kanab
Best Western Kanab
Kanab Best Western
BEST WESTERN Red Hills Kanab, Utah
Address: 125 West Center Street, Kanab, UT 84741-3417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Red Hills 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Best Western, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Red Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Red Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.