We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away or Stay Someplace Else” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Red Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Red Hills to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Red Hills
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   125 West Center Street, Kanab, UT 84741-3417   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stay Away or Stay Someplace Else”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My family and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend and it is not worth the money, it is old and run down, the pluming and pipes and noisy and in poor working order, the toilet ran, the TV looked like it was 3d without the glasses, the air conditioner was very loud, the internet worked one day and was out the rest of our stay and I was told that it must have been my computer yet it is working fine now, the cleaning crew did a poor job (my daughter left a pair of clean folded jeans on the end of the bed and they left the bed unmade with a note that stated that they could not move personal items so they could not make the bed, yet this did not stop them from making my bed that had pillows we had brought with us), the room was very noisy from voices in adjoining rooms and parking lot noise....you get the idea, it was not a good stay, so look some place else with visiting this area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Barry, I'm very sorry you were disappointed with our hotel, we try very hard to make all of our guest comfortable and feel welcome. We did replace all of our TV's 3 months ago with 37" Samsung HD Flat Panels that are very modern but are not 3d. Again, I appologize we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    167
    92
    43
    23
See reviews for
128
159
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I had a great room here. I did not share their "like" of a local restaurant, however, the room was clean, bed was fine. Sure, I did hear other guests, but, it is a hotel with people coming and going all night. The staff was very friendly, changing our room to a bottom floor rather than the second floor at last minute. Breakfast was good, plenty to choose from and hot. Lots of room to park our truck and boat.

I did tell everyone on our houseboat that this was a hotel I would be glad to stay in again next year.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our Best Western. I am glad you (and your dog) found our hotel comfortable and inviting. We do have a nice section of the hotel we set aside as pet rooms near a nice grass area. Thank you for refering us to your friends, we really appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Clean room, good bed, hot shower, nice fridge, adequate pool, hot tub.....What more do you aspect from a Best Western in a small town?
Sure...it's a simple hotel and the 'free' breakfast is not realy special, but all in all it's comfortable and adequate.

The main reason I stayed here however is it's excellent location. I could easily make day trips to Zion -, Bryce- and Grand Canyon (north Rim) national parks frrom Kanab.
The price was a little bit stiff for a simple hotel like this ($128,-), but it was in a weekend and I guess you pay for the location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hello from Kanab and thank you for your review! I am glad you liked our hotel. Kanab is a great location....65 miles to Lake Powell, 80 miles to the Grand Canyon, 30 miles to Zion and 75 miles to Bryce Canyon. Thank you for your business and please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have always enjoyed staying at a Best Western. I felt that the reputation, by the chain name, would be "worthy" of staying there. I could not have been more WRONG. The bed was comfortable, the television was nice, BUT, the thin walls were horrible. I could hear the traffic from the street, not to mention the voices in the NEXT door room, as well as the noise from the weight of the person walking. I have no idea, how OLD this motel is, but things need to be properly insulated. (My opinion)

Room Tip: I wouldn't know where to begin, in suggesting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello from Kanab. I am sorry to hear that you wouldn't return to our hotel. Although it sounds that you found the room comfortable enough, I am sorry that you were disturbed by exterior noise. We have recently done quite a few renovations including a new breakfast room, install a new elevator, new TV's and case goods and well as new bedding to try to make our rooms as nice as possible. I sincerely hope you will reconsider staying with us if ever back in Kanab.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, England.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Easy enough to find on the Main Street. Waited in car for a while in car park due to heavy rain! Car park was really flooded. Check-in ok, could have been greeted a bit warmer. Got top floor room requested which obviously had not been re-modelled. Very strange building lay out. Room had 2 doors, one leading to a small private balcony which must have been the original outside entry before inside renovating. Had to push wooden plank back in wall before stepping onto rain soaked balcony carpet. Room servicable for 1 night although not very modern with horrible wooden hanging wardrobe area. Smelt fresh and clean so ok for 1 night. Slept very well but not over keen on the 4 mini sized pillows on the bed. Breakfast area in the basement, although supposedly renovated was very bleak, badly need some wall decoration to brighten the place up! Food fine, well replenished by breakfast lady as area was pretty full. Did not feel inclined to linger as the room was pretty bleak! Did not try pool due to rain!

Don't think we would return here or to Kanab.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry you got caught in a nasty rainstorm, during August and September they can pop up on us all of a sudden. I hope you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanab, Utah
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We came into Kanab for a few days to work with a dog that we will be adopting just as soon as he gets his CGC at Best Friends. We stayed here because of it's central location in town and the price wasn't too bad either. The people at the front desk were fun, charming and knowledgeable about the area, it was like talking to old friends that you've known forever. We were in room 148 which is on the ground floor in the back. The room was clean, comfortable and quite just what we were looking for so we could work with some dogs on overnights. Because of the staff and hotel everything was a success.

Room Tip: If you're coming to Best Friends, let them know. Thies hotel supports them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
George, Thank you for returning to the Best Western Red Hills, it's a pleasure to have you stay with us again. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorshire
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

really comfortable stay, no complaints at all, everything we needed. we ate in the evenings at Calvin T's smoking gun and saloon which was a great experience, with some great artifacts outside and the food and staff were just great. Dennys wigwam is also a great store. Loved it all here in Kanab.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Glad you had a nice visit. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Red Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Red Hills

Address: 125 West Center Street, Kanab, UT 84741-3417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kanab
#6 Family Hotel in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Red Hills 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Red Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Red Hills Hotel Kanab
Best Western Hotel Kanab
Best Western Kanab
Kanab Best Western
BEST WESTERN Red Hills Kanab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Red Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.