We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange plave.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Red Hills

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Red Hills to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Red Hills
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   125 West Center Street, Kanab, UT 84741-3417   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Hertfordshire, England.
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Strange plave.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Easy enough to find on the Main Street. Waited in car for a while in car park due to heavy rain! Car park was really flooded. Check-in ok, could have been greeted a bit warmer. Got top floor room requested which obviously had not been re-modelled. Very strange building lay out. Room had 2 doors, one leading to a small private balcony which must have been the original outside entry before inside renovating. Had to push wooden plank back in wall before stepping onto rain soaked balcony carpet. Room servicable for 1 night although not very modern with horrible wooden hanging wardrobe area. Smelt fresh and clean so ok for 1 night. Slept very well but not over keen on the 4 mini sized pillows on the bed. Breakfast area in the basement, although supposedly renovated was very bleak, badly need some wall decoration to brighten the place up! Food fine, well replenished by breakfast lady as area was pretty full. Did not feel inclined to linger as the room was pretty bleak! Did not try pool due to rain!

Don't think we would return here or to Kanab.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry you got caught in a nasty rainstorm, during August and September they can pop up on us all of a sudden. I hope you will come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    166
    92
    43
    23
See reviews for
127
159
36
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kanab, Utah
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We came into Kanab for a few days to work with a dog that we will be adopting just as soon as he gets his CGC at Best Friends. We stayed here because of it's central location in town and the price wasn't too bad either. The people at the front desk were fun, charming and knowledgeable about the area, it was like talking to old friends that you've known forever. We were in room 148 which is on the ground floor in the back. The room was clean, comfortable and quite just what we were looking for so we could work with some dogs on overnights. Because of the staff and hotel everything was a success.

Room Tip: If you're coming to Best Friends, let them know. Thies hotel supports them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
George, Thank you for returning to the Best Western Red Hills, it's a pleasure to have you stay with us again. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north yorshire
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

really comfortable stay, no complaints at all, everything we needed. we ate in the evenings at Calvin T's smoking gun and saloon which was a great experience, with some great artifacts outside and the food and staff were just great. Dennys wigwam is also a great store. Loved it all here in Kanab.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Glad you had a nice visit. Please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, AZ
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Very Nic e people and a really convenient location to Zion N. P. Room was averager and needed a little better dusting but bed was great and shower really hot and refreshing. Best part was their recommendation for a dinner spot. Short walk across the street to a terrific place with some of the best food I've eaten anywhere in the country.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Glad you had a nice stay while at our hotel in Kanab. I agree, the Rocking V (located right next door) has some of the best food in town. Thank you for sharing your review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The hotel was great in every way but what was outstanding was the free breakfast. They offered eggs, bacon, sausage, waffles, french toast, biscuits and gravy as well as the normal cold cereal, toast and bagels. Hot tub and pool were well maintained and I had the best nights sleep on this trip.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a great breakfast and a good nights sleep. I hope you will continue to tell your friends about our hotel and please come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsville, New York
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 125 cities Reviews in 125 cities
346 helpful votes 346 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Best Western Red Hills is located on what I think is the main street in Kanab. Lots of stores and restaurants close by. We ate at the Rocking V restaurant which is right next door, across the street (excellent! see my review).

I always ask for a room away from sources of noise, so we were in the back building, top floor on the end. The room looked newly decorated, very clean and everything was in good working order. Our large room had two queen beds, small table with two chairs, very large separate area that had a mini fridge, coffeemaker, large vanity with sink and mirror and then another separate room sink, toliet and shower. I was very pleased with everything. The bed was very comfortable and we didn't have a problem with noise.

The motel also had a very nice looking outdoor pool, but we didn't get a chance to use it because storms rolled in.

Free complimentary breakfast was very nice. Eggs, sausage, cereals, waffles, yogurt, fruit, etc. all very good. We went early and everything was well-stocked.

Check-in and out went smoothly and all the staff members were very nice. I can't say one bad thing about this motel; very happy with our stay. I found it a good value for what we got.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your detailed review of our hotel. I am happy you found everything to your liking. I hope you tell your friends what a good experience you had at our hotel and hopefully in our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We stayed twice in Kanab on our Southern Utah Trip, but the first night we stayed in Kanab, we couldn't get into the Best Western. They were booked. On our way back from Page, AZ we were able to get reservations at this Best Western. The room was very comfortable and large. We thought that the road noise might be a problem since we were literally only feet from Hwy 89, but it wasn't a factor. We didn't hear any road noise. Breakfast was included and it was great. Good selections and plenty of food. Didn't leave there hungry. If in Kanab in the future, I will definitely stay here again. Too bad we got in so late, I would have loved to use the pool. It looked inviting.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed N, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Red Hills, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am glad you were able to get a room on your way back. Kanab is a great little town and everything is very close to our hotel. I hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Red Hills? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Red Hills

Address: 125 West Center Street, Kanab, UT 84741-3417
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kanab
#6 Family Hotel in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Red Hills 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Red Hills reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Red Hills Hotel Kanab
Best Western Hotel Kanab
Best Western Kanab
Kanab Best Western
BEST WESTERN Red Hills Kanab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Red Hills, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.