We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved every moment” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property

Save Saved
You added Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   236 North 300 West (US 89), Kanab, UT 84741   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Kanab
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Loved every moment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

What a wonderful place! Stayed here for 2 nights with my 3 teenage sons. Was personally welcomed by the owners Travis and Matt, and was served ice cold home-made lemonade when we arrived. The personal welcome-card and sweets made it just even more special.
The hotel is beautifully decorated and very well maintained. It was clean and comfortable, best beds and nicest pool, and I loved the wonderful seats outside to sit and relax in the afternoon with a book and Travis' delicious Marguarita!
Breakfast was delicious and I really got the feeling of staying in a private home. Matt and Travis were like old friends, Travis even gave me one of his books to keep when I had finished my own, to save me the trip to the bookstore. We wished we could have stayed for longer. Thanks, Matt and Travis!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt W, Owner at Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
We hope you enjoyed the book! Looking forward to seeing your family and you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    36
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
52
129
16
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Langley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Read the reviews! Every single one glowing and for a very good reason! This was my favorite hotel on our recent 'Grand Circle' Tour. It is very quaint, cute and the decor is fabulous! Attention to detail was not wasted on us! We had everything we needed and more. Hospitality comes naturally to Travis and Matt and they are inviting you into their home when you stay at Canyons Lodge. The room was lovely, clean and very comfortable. I am running out of superlatives , just stay here and we will be reading your rave review. I wish we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Call & book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at the Canyons Lodge for one night on a road trip across the country in early June. The room was very quaint, but very well maintained. The breakfast te next morning was a delight! They had these homemade cheese/sausage things... yum yum!

The owners are so amazing! They were so helpful while me and my friend were trying to figure out which way we were going to go, to Zion or Bryce, or both, or neither. Well, they sold us on both!

I just love this little hidden gem! It's a great place! Perfect location, and great people!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

If you visit the parks of the area (Grand Canyon, Bryce, Zion, Antelope, Lake Powell), Kanab is right in the middle and Canyons Lodge is the best hotel you can find there.
It offers a large range of rooms, we were on a budget so we took the cheapest one (also the smallest but it was just what we needed). The hotel and the rooms are decorated with great taste, the bed was comfortable and our hosts were very welcoming and attentive. They even lend bikes! We felt right at home!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I've always loved Kanab because of Best Friends Animal Sanctuary, the most progressive animal rescue, rehabilitation, adoption and no kill sanctuary in the world. In my several visits, I have noticed little oasis,' such as this motel, popping up in this small town of less than 5000 folks and many rescued animals.

At first, this small two story motel on the main drag doesn't look like too terribly much...until you walk into the office and meet either of the owners Travis or Matt. Then they offer you a complimentary glass of wine...really in Utah, we can get free alcohol?

Then we notice the tiny kidney shaped pool is filled with the motel guests, including our own kids...so what if it's small, we want to hang out here!

Rooms are wonderfully decorated... with all updated with all the amenities, including terry robes. The only downside is that our downstairs neighbors complained that our kids were being too loud...hmmm, partly true. Suggest if you have kids, request a first floor room and bring plenty of duct tape!!

Hearty continental breakfast included and good coffee! Something you don't find often when traveling.

Will definitely be a repeat experience. : )

Room Tip: If you have kids, stay on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We just returned from Kanab, UT, where we were visiting our son at Wingate Wilderness Therapy. When I went online to search hotels, there were cheaper options, but I knew this would be a difficult trip, and thought staying somewhere that didn't have a corporate brand stamp might be comforting; Was I ever right! Canyon's Lodge feels more like visiting your hip, younger brother’s house, rather than a Motor Lodge. "What makes it so special?" you might ask. It could be the personal card that was (almost;-)) in our room at check-in, the ice cold lemonade delivered while I was on the patio reading, the cruisers available for a ride around town, the yummy sausage nuggets for breakfast that looked strange yet were tasty, or the bedsheets so soft I felt like I was sleeping on angel's wings. It was all fabulous! My only complaint is that the firepit, with lively conversations amongst travelers from around the globe, and the glass of wine quickly offered, kept me up past my bedtime. We will definitely return to Canyon's Lodge when we go to pick up our son. Thanks for the comfort during a highly emotional time for us. Travis and Matt rock!! And the Canyon's Lodge Does Not Suck!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Wonderful tasteful gem ! Truly quaint and stylish! Every comfort one would want. The decor is outstanding, and very comfortable. The details are amazing, from the bicycles any guest can use, to the personalized welcome card, to the the keys to the room. Warm and friendly greetings at the desk, and the owners take great pride in the establishment. Very clean and so well cared for. You can tell they love what they do, and I feel confident it will be a must stop every time your in kanab.

Room Tip: Seems to me ALL rooms are the right room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property

Address: 236 North 300 West (US 89), Kanab, UT 84741
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kanab
#1 Family Hotel in Kanab
#2 Green Hotel in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely Remodeled (2013), Clean and Comfy Large Guest Suites are found in our Rustic & Contemporary Styled Inn. All rooms offer: Supple Soft Linens - Microwave and Refrigerators, Complimentary WiFi, Direct TV Channels, Complimentary Continental Breakfast with Pastries, Fresh Fruit, Juice, Teas and Hot Coffee each morning. In-Season Outdoor Pool, outdoor fire, complimentary bikes and our wonderful and welcoming hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bob Bon Hotel Kanab
Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property Kanab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyons Lodge - A Canyons Collection Property, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.