We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy with my room - no complaints - nice breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property to your Saves list
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   190 North 300 West, Kanab, UT 84741 (Formerly Victorian Inn - A Canyons Collection Property)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kanab
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very happy with my room - no complaints - nice breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed a Sunday night in June 2013. Very happy with my room. Great location, Walking distance to restaurants, shops in Kanab, Great view outside the hotel. Nicely decorated and comfortable. Easy check-in, parking. No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drueann B, Manager at Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello, :-)

Thank you for your comments. We are in a great location here in Kanab. We are happy you appreciated that we are close to restaurants and shops and that you enjoyed our beautiful outside view. Our red mountains are breathtaking.

We hope to see you again.

Thank you kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    94
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
97
176
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is very nice and clean, probably newly moderated and well maintained. The guest room is pretty ample and the beds are very comfortable. For vacation travelers this is the kind of place we are looking for, and it's a even little more than what we expected for the price. The breakfast included in the price is simple but well prepared and better than what you get from fast food chain restaurants. For the price and value, we definitely recommend this place. One small caveat: ask for your room which is away from the outdoor A/C unit, which could be noisy and bothersome in the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drueann B, Manager at Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hello valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us your compliments and concerns.

We apologize for the humming of the motor of the outside AC unit. It is very rare it bothers our guests. Some are a little more sensitive to small sounds than others. We apologize it was a bother to you.

We are happy you enjoyed our comfortable beds, Breakfast and the price and value you received with us. We hope you will come visit us again and recommend us to your friends and family.

Thank you kindly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, Scotland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

There isn't much to Kanab so it was a relief when we spotted our hotel for the night and it was a lovely building with lovely garden areas. A young man at the desk called Jessie (don't move to Scotland with that name!) was extremely efficient, friendly and welcoming. The only downside is the lack of a lift but otherwise this is a very nice hotel and we would be happy to stay here again. Breakfast was perfectly adequate if unexceptional. As an oasis to stop at for the night, this is a good, safe choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drueann B, Manager at Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Greetings valued Guest,

Thank you for your comments. You are correct in that we do not have a elevator. We are more than happy to help anyone with their luggage up the short flight of stairs to the upper floor as needed.

We are happy that you enjoyed our lovely building with our garden areas, and our efficient, friendly and welcoming front desk attendant, Jessie. :-)

We look forward to you and your friends and family visiting us again soon.

Warmly,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is probably the roomiest, best-appointed hotel in this price range we have ever stayed at. Nothing cramped here -- the bathroom was enormous. Breakfast included in the price was decent, average for what you seem to get these days, but in a very nice breakfast room.
Only 2 minor quibbles:
1. No screens in the windows ... we would have liked to get some fresh air instead of relying on the air conditioner.
2. Very complicated on-line billing. The third-party billing service appears to be based in Ireland, and I got hit with a 'foreign transaction fee' despite being located in the U.S. The third-party collects some of the bill, the hotel the rest, and it took me several minutes to track down all the pieces to be sure the charges were correct.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woking
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a very attractive building and has been decorated in a Victorian style using dark bold fabrics on the upholstery to give it a modern twist. There are 2 floors but no lift so heavy suitcases have to be carried, however we noted that hotel staff are available to do this on request. The complimentary buffet breakfast included omelette scrambled eggs bacon, waffles you make yourself with a fresh batter and sausage and biscuits. There was also cereals breads fruit and yogurt - something for everybody
We were very happy and comfortable staying here for 2 nights Kanab is a convenient place from which to explore Zion Bryce and the Grand Canyon north rim
Lots of restaurants in the town but avoid the spurs grill down the street from the hotel as its a tourist rip off with bad food

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, MA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed for one night in May 2013. We have stayed in many B&B's and, other than the fact that the Victorian Inn it is located in a large Victorian-style house, it is more like a beautifully-decorated up-scale hotel. The lobby is impressive with a grand staircase leading to the second floor but the check-in desk/breakfast room resembles a hotel lobby and is not particularly warm and inviting. Upon our arrival the desk clerk was lying on a couch in the lobby playing with her i-phone but she was pleasant enough once she got on her feet! We stayed in room #4. It was spacious, comfortable, beautifully decorated and acceptably clean (the vacuum and floor mop never quite reach all the way to the walls), but it was very noisy. We shared a wall with the house laundry and when we first went to bed we could clearly hear the washing machines running. There was also a persistent and annoying hum which turned out to be the refrigerator. Breakfast was buffet-style, nearly identical to that found at most hotel chains. For me, the appeal of a B&B is being served a cooked breakfast and sharing a table with travelers from around the world. To be fair, my husband preferred choosing his own breakfast food. Upon checkout, they tried to charge us more than the confirmed rate and I had to dig through my paperwork to find our confirmation. They finally did honor the original rate. Overall, I would say that the place is beautiful, the rooms spacious, the beds comfortable, but it might not be what you are expecting if you want a true B&B.

Room Tip: There's no elevator. If you have a lot of luggage, ask for a first-floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soutahhospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
I am sorry about the confusion regarding whether our property is a B&B or a hotel. We have had some issues with Tripadvisor in the past on this (as we want to be listed as a hotel instead of a B&B) And I think because of your review and another one we received recently we have finally got them to change it to a hotel. So thank you for helping us clear up this issue. I will also bring to the attention of our staff the other items you mentioned. We are glad you chose to stay with us and we hope to have you back soon!
Thank you for your review and for being our guest,
Jace Burgess
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonsall, California
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
480 helpful votes 480 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

In general, I agree with what the more positive reviews have said. You do get more than you expect for the price here. The Victorian theme is carried out through the rooms, so it is either beautiful or Haunted Mansion-esque depending on your viewpoint. The thing is, if you are going to have decor with lots of stuff around and dark colors, you need to dust more thoroughly.

That brings me to the reason I can't rate this place any higher than average. The room was only semi-clean. There was a lot of dust in areas that aren't touched frequently and around the edge of the carpet and baseboards. That I can live with, but the bathroom was filthy. Dried urine caked on the part of the toilet behind the seat and a large dried puddle of it behind the toilet. Judging by the amount of hair and dust stuck in it I'd say it had been there for a while. The shower had mold in all of the seams and even in the shower head itself...it also smelled like mildew. I'm sorry, but I expect a clean bathroom in even the most inexpensive motel and certainly in a place that overall looks as nice as this one does.

The beds are very comfortable and the rooms have nice amenities. The free wi-fi worked very well. The A/C is one of those noisy under the window units which I'm used to, but it cycled on and off every few minutes and was annoying. If there was some way to keep the fan running it would help to muffle the noise from adjoining rooms. The walls are very thin and we could easily hear the conversation next door even though they were speaking in normal voices and not loudly. We could also hear some sort of vibration periodically. Maybe one of the Jacuzzi tubs in another room, I'm not sure. Our room door was very difficult to close, which is something you'd think a housekeeper would notice and report.

Breakfast was fine. They had what you would expect for a free breakfast...premade cheese omelets, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, a waffle maker...the usual. It was plenty to get us started. There isn't much seating, but we arrived toward the end and it was very quiet.

The staff at the front desk was polite and the woman in the morning was extremely congenial. Too bad she also had to do the laundry and answer the phone, but it didn't bother us at all. Just shows that this place is being run on a shoestring budget.

As much as I would like to have rated this place as highly as everyone else did, I can't overlook the dirty bathroom. Sorry, but I would choose one of the restored old motels in town next time. The town itself is charming with several outstanding restaurants to choose from and the scenery is amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drueann B, Manager at Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Mr. Gidd,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. I am sorry about the list of problems you had with your room. As you can see from our reviews we have never had this happen before.

I have spoken to all of my staff and I assure you things like a dirty room are unacceptable. We really do take pride in our beautiful property & its cleanliness.

We have taken steps to investigate and correct the other items you have listed. Thank you again and we hope you will visit us in the future so you can see that we have earned our great reviews.

Warm Regards,

Drueann Bistline
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property

Address: 190 North 300 West, Kanab, UT 84741 (Formerly Victorian Inn - A Canyons Collection Property)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kanab
#1 Green Hotel in Kanab
#3 Family Hotel in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southern Utah's finest and most luxurious inn. Complimentary Full Breakfast, Complimentary WiFi, Spa Tubs, Fireplaces, Luxurious linens and bedding. Choice of two outdoor swimming pools (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, T4B, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victorian Hotel Kanab
Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property Kanab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canyons Boutique Hotel - A Canyons Collection Property, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.