We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   70 South 200 West, Kanab, UT 84741-3409   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Kanab
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed in this hotel 3 days. The beds were good and we had no trouble sleeping. This is an older hotel but kept up pretty good. The breakfast was average. The hot water for tea was never hot enough and had to ask for them to fix. On our 3rd morning (checkout) we could not take a shower because there was no more hot water left. I told the manager and he just nodded!

Room Tip: Try another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    13
    15
    17
    6
See reviews for
12
26
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Quiet place and clean. Otherwise nothing special, but it's a Rodeway, not Comfort. They could invest a bit into the facilities and understand about responding to customer needs. The drain in the sink was broken. At 3:00, when we were to only quests at the time, maintenance guy mentioned he'd fix it if/when he was able to go to hardware store. That was the end of his enthusiasm to fix it although he was just hanging out the rest of the day. Breakfast and lobby left much to be desired. Try to find another place in Kanab.

Room Tip: Try to find another place in Kanab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oscoda, Michigan
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel was old but the beds were comfortable. Not much choice for breakfast. There were some room maintainence issues with the toilet and faucet. The owner seemed to want to correct the issues as soon as possible. Location is great only 80 miles from Grand Canyon North Rim. 80 miles from Bryce Canyon and 30 miles from Zion canyon.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

For us, the room was clean and the bed was not uncomfortable. The pool was nice and the air conditioning, after a day at Zion Park, worked beautifully. All the hotels in this area are expensive, so paying 90 something dollars, seemed reasonable. When we came, there was a cowboy festival in town so we really enjoyed the day. The coffee in the morning was really bad and the breakfast donuts, etc, were stale. There is a Macdonalds up the road - enough said. It is what it is with this type of motel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I paid 90$ for one night here in August 2013. Though it looked reasonable and had a nice pool which we enjoyed, the staff was poorly trained in "hospitality business", and when unable to get hot water from my morning shower (which the previous night had worked fine!) gave no answers and seemed overwhelmed, rude and a "I couldn't care less" attitude.
Finally I was offered a key to shower in a room across the parking lot. But no apologies offered.
I was told that the installations are old and poorly upkept so that was why we had no hot water in the AM.
Breakfast was reasonable. But I expect cordial service and solutions to problems... and that, I did not get.
Avoid the place if you can

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for one night. It was very oldfashioned but that shouldn't have bother us too much if it had been clean. The bathroom was dirty, black hairs in the bath. The watertemperature was not constant, and you could easily burn yourself. When we catched a towel it was wet and had a big pink/brown spot, about three inches. So we went to the reception. The lady told us it was probably from a leak in the ceiling and gave us clean ones. Indeed there appeard to be a big leak, it was in fact still leaking.
The sheets were as if they were used. We felt very uncomfortable, but as we had a long day with a strenuous hike we just fell asleep.
Breakfast: you have to take a tray in your room. It was a very, very basic breakfast.
To ask you to pay $100 for such a hotel is a shame!
Only, the lady in the reception was nice. I suppose she could not do so much about it.

So, don't go to this hotel untill they have renovated it. Plenty of alternatives nearby!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontheroad
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

First impression - the door to lobby barely opens and it scrapes and sticks on the metal threshhold. Then problems with reservations. Then no microwave or fridge in the room. One outlet by the sink, the other behind the mattress or used by the TV/Direct TV box. TV reception and internet service are not good. Hair in the tub, sink stopper broke, stairs are very dark at night and dangerous. One tiny shampoo and 2 bars of soap. Continental breakfast is tiny muffins, bread for toast, cold cereal, milk, juice and coffee (there are tea bags, but no microwave or coffee pot in room to heat water and no hot water or microwave in breakfast area). The breakfast area is the size of the bathroom so you get to take your breakfast to your room. The staff was very nice. Bed was comfortable and I think it was clean. It appears the owners are pocketing the money and letting the place fall down. This is very expensive for what you get and there are a lot of choices in town to check out before deciding to stay here.

Room Tip: Request upstairs or the single story units. The floors are very creaky!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 70 South 200 West, Kanab, UT 84741-3409
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 hotels in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Choice Hotels, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kanab Super Eight
Rodeway Inn Kanab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.