We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, cheap motel, with very kind innkeeper” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sun-n-Sand Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun-n-Sand Motel
Save
You added Sun-n-Sand Motel to your Saves list
347 South 100 E, Kanab, UT 84741   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kanab
Tilburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, cheap motel, with very kind innkeeper”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2009

We arrived after visiting Zoin. We had planned to overnight in Kanab. We soon noticed that most motels are pretty expensive in Kanab, comparing what you get.

We saw the "36$ Cheapest Motel in town" sign and decided to have a look. Wayne (the guy who runs the place) greeted us and we didn't know what to think at 1st. He showed us the rooms, the room was a bid old, but the room and the bed was clean, that's all we needed. We decided to take a room.

We didnt have a fridge, so he took one from the other rooms and took it to our room. I have never seen such a nice guy! We sad outside, smoked a sigar together, he brought us a couple of beers. He told us he is cleaning the place up. The parking lot also was gonna get paved the next days, that should have happened by now. This was one of the kindest person we've met during our trip!

The free breakfast was good too!

Don't expect any modern rooms. If you want a cheap place, with clean rooms and beds and free breakfast, this is the place to be! As a bonus you 'get' a very cool and funny (and a bit crazy) innkeeper, this is the place to be.

Don't let 1st impression fool you.

Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    36
    12
    10
    13
See reviews for
31
46
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
diminish3d
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2009

We'd spent far too much time at Bryce Canyon,my girlfriend and I were tired,and having spent a couple of pretty dull and average nights in Kanab (en route from the Grand Canyon, and visiting Zion National Park,) we thought we'd try a third, different motel.

My girlfriend remembered a place across the road from the Red Rock Inn, and in no mood to argue, I agreed and decided we'd spend our last night in Utah at the Sun-N-Sand.

As with a couple of previous reviews, I have to say, our first impressions of the place were less than fantastic.The motel itself is bit ramshackle, and I was considering how best to suggest we tried somewhere else, when a guy who looked like an extra from a pirate movie came out of a door next to the office.

I stretched and yawned outside of the car,
'Long day on the road,eh?' the Pirate asked.
Hmm.This guest seemed a bit up himself, I thought.We answered politely, and headed for the office.

To our immense surprise, he followed us in, and stood behind the counter.
This was our first meeting with the owner, and we received the most enthusiastically friendly welcome we've had in our 3.5 months on the road so far.

He stood and chatted to us about all manner of things, and in no time at all, had us totally at ease.

Free coffee, popcorn and hot-chocolate are available in the office.

We were swiftly booked in, and headed for our room.
The room also suffered from first impressions, like the motel, it was battered and worn...but on further inspection, it was clean, as were the towels and bed, and also had a fridge, TV and microwave, which I consider the 'Holy Triumvirate' of decent motel rooms.

The owner had spotted I'd had a little trouble with the door, and headed straight over to help.He showed us into the room, helped us work out the air-con, and straightened out our confusion with the lights.

We carry a laptop with us on our travels, and he also helped us setup our connection for that.I was a little worried that my signal was only 2 bars, but it surpringly turned out to be one of the best connections I've had all trip.

About 20 minutes after we'd settled in, there was a knock on the door.We opened it to find our host with a couple of nice cold bottles of beer for us.A previous guest had brought him some as a tip, he explained, and he offered to share them with us.As Brits on Tour,this impressed us absolutely no end!

He vanished again, and we sat on the step of our room, writing journals and emailing.No sooner had we finished our first beers than he appeared with a couple more!

After finishing those, we bid him goodnight across the car-park which he'd enthusiastically run around all night checking in more guests, who had seemed as equally non-plussed as ourselves at this wildly friendly crazy guy.

A good nights sleep later, we headed for breakfast.
And what a spread was laid before us!Once again, the breakfast area is a bit run down, but if you love a good breakfast, this is the place to go!

On offer was fresh fruit (including watermelon, one of the first of the season apparently), pastries, donuts, OJ, truly excellent coffee (dont let the stained coffee-makers put you off), english muffins, toast, the largest selection of jams and preserves I've seen, and a wonderful carrot-cake, which had been given to the owner by a friend.It is all conducted in a very informal atmosphere by the owner himself again.

We dined well, and headed back to pack stuff up to leave.After a quick discussion, we decided to give the owner a gift, a packet of english tea bags, to reciprocate his hospitality, which he recieved with great graciousness.

It was almost a pity to leave, and we left feeling like we'd made a friend rather than spent a night in a motel.

We've stayed in far more expensive places, recieved nowhere near as good service.I've never seen a guy work so hard for our money ($45, an absolute bargain in our opinion.).
For a one-man operation, it puts to shame many other motels we've stayed in which had plenty of staff.

My only criticism, if I had to make one (and it grieves me to do so) would be the 'worn' condition of the premises, but it was more than made up for by the warmth of the reception we received.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heber City
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We didn't even attempt the breakfast. Everything in the last review was true. However, Grandma just called and wanted the phone number so she can recommend it! She and Grandpa loved it!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

This place was fifty bucks. All i ask for when im paying that price is clean and friendly and thats what i got. In addition there was a fridge tv hot water etc. Very satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manimanbat
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

We were a party of five 20&30-somethings from England, who wouldn't have normally stayed here. We generally opted for cheap but clean and comfy places. Our first impressions were "turn away and go somewhere nice", but for some reason we decided to stick with The Sun n Sand Motel and came away with a totally uneventful night in a motel which outwardly seemed like it could possibly have been offering us our last night on this earth.

As we rolled up in our hire car, we were greeted by some guys having a bar-b-q on the side of the car park, in knackered easy-chairs, stools and, I think, a crate or two. This alone yelled, "get outta there!" to most of us. Being mildly intimidated by the shirtless ruffians drinking beer and toasting stuff by the roadside we nobly sent the girls in to check out the room while we "guarded" the van. The place looked a bit of a dive from the outside and the boys weren't optimistic. Conversation focused on how to politely leave. There were bits and pieces of stuff laying about in the lumpy asphalt car park and the reception looked pretty substandard. So, we were astonished when the girls came back after checking the rooms with the dishevelled shoe-less owner and declared that they were, "fine" and "really nice". We were told, "this place will do great". Given that they had said this, and they're the picky ones, us lads were in no position to argue. Our standards were never lower than theirs.

So we checked in.

We had two rooms, one with two doubles and another double next to it. The moment we saw the rooms we wondered how on earth the girls had reported them as anything other than "grim, worn out and dirty". They were just that. But as least the door locked. The window in the bathroom didn't though. But a broom handle saw to that. The disbelief and shock grew and grew amongst the guys as we found very tired looking rooms, terribly stained carpets (blood? paint?) and one very broken bed. Previous occupants had dogs, judging by the scratch marks on the back of one of the doors. Still, the bathroom was clean and the bed sheets were too.

We slept (quite soundly actually) in mild terror that we would be robbed in the night, but we weren't. We ate a breakfast of fruit, coffee and toaster-based goodies with the easy-talking owner who was a real gem. A real salt-of-the-earth guy, definitely a little rough around the edges. He did some extra shopping for breakfast supplies for us and was entertaining in an earthy, hospitable way. In honesty, his motel was about as far down the "comfort and feeling-of-safety" scale as we were prepared to go, but having breakfast in his reception as the sun came up was great. The notion of having "got away with our lives and quite a nice breakfast" made it one of the most memorable nights of an almost 3 week road trip.

How we ended up here was the culmination of a strange sequence of events ending with something along the lines of a sneaky ploy by the owner's son. All the same, our party of five liked him (and his Dad it turned out). He'd actually been very friendly and helped us out before there was any hint that we might be considering accomodation in his town. He ultimately recommended his Dad's motel over some that would have been just as cheap and surely better, but we knew what was happening and decided to see where it got us... Don't go here for anything other than bargain-basement prices and for the chance to say you lived through it. We were in the right mood for it. If you want comfort at a similar price, I don't doubt you could get a better deal in Kanab!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun-n-Sand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun-n-Sand Motel

Address: 347 South 100 E, Kanab, UT 84741
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE UNDER GOING A FACELIFT PLEASE BEAR WITH US! We provide clean, affordable lodging by the day or week. We accept pets. All rooms have fridges and microwaves. We also have "family rooms" which have 3 beds and two rooms with big "kitchen" area with dining table, fridge & microwave ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun-n-Sands Hotel Kanab
Sun-n-Sand Motel Kanab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun-n-Sand Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.