We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late Night Save - Service over Newness” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun-n-Sand Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kanab
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun-n-Sand Motel
Save
You added Sun-n-Sand Motel to your Saves list
347 South 100 E, Kanab, UT 84741   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kanab
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Late Night Save - Service over Newness”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here three nights ago. We were traveling very late and found ourselves in a pinch to get some sweet shut-eye. We called around and Sun-N-Sands was the cheapest rate in town. This place is not for the faint hearted who prefer the latest and greatest. For those who want so save a few bucks, don't mind a little wear and tear, and like to make friends (Wayne, the owner was VERY hospitable and enjoyable) then this is the place to be. We even left our pillows in the hotel accidentally and Wayne was very kind to mail them to our home.

Room Tip: Wayne recommends the king sized beds, they are newer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    36
    12
    10
    13
See reviews for
31
46
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I stayed here one nite a week ago. Was doing a lot of driving by myself and didn't have energy to get back to Mesquite. This place was a haven for the frugal and sincere. Wayne, the owner, is very hospitable. The room was clean and quiet. There is FREE WI-FI! The bathroom had shampoo and conditioner [which my motel in Mesquite did not!]. There's always coffee on, and free tea bags. You get a ten-percent discount at the quite acceptable restaurant across the street. The place does not look great at all, but Wayne makes the difference. If he likes you, he'll sell you a real beer in a longneck bottle for a dollar. Breakfast has fruit, PB, and is fine for the outdoorsy types who don't need all that eggs'n'bacon cholesterol.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

That pretty much says it all. There are enough reviews here that tell the same story.

Wayne is a super friendly guy who will help in any way he can. He puts you up in a room that is dated and worn, but right smack in the middle of it is a huge brand new king size bed. It was by far the comfiest sleep we had on our trip (4 hotels in 6 days). The water pressure is great but the shower head is pretty low. I'm 5-8 and I had to stoop every so slightly to get under there. But this was part of the charm for me. If you need the sanitized feel of a chain motel there are plenty of them in Kanab but you'd pay quite more, miss out on Wayne, and you'd miss out on those beds. I guess it comes down to what you care about when travelling. Budget travelers will rejoice here.

Oh and there's coffee, tea and breakfast goodies in the morning. I don't stay in many motels at that price and get that thrown in.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

We chose this place because of the 4/5 rating by tripadvisor.
What a mistake!
The place is just filthy and nothing works well (very old fridge & heater)
it's located at a junction on a highway so there was a lot of noise during the night of accelerating trucks.
The mattress was almost as old as the motel itself. I haven't slept even a single hour.
I always use tripadvisor to check on places and couldn't believe the reviews were so far off the reality.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

Yes, it's inexpensive and yes our room had a relatively new bed but the place was pretty dirty and run down. You'd have to be starving to eat the breakfast that was laid out. Stale bread and pastries, an open jar of peanut butter, flies, etc. Wayne was nice but he was actually too helpful for us. We just wanted to get into our room after a very long day of hiking and find some dinner. For the price it was a pretty good value so it just depends where your tolerance level is.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed there for a week in July 2011. We were traveling across the country on a National Park tour, and after some research we called Wayne directly. He gave us a great deal and was a great source of information the entire time we were there. Wayne and his wife Terry catered to our every whim, and Wayne even bought biscuits and gravy for us one morning and delivered them to our room! The motel is old and worn no doubt, but it is clean and reliable, and you cannot ask more from Wayne and Terry. There is simply no other place to stay if you're on a budget and looking to see the natural wonders in the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

The owners are great! They definitely try with what they have. Great value. Little worn down and slightly dirty but worth the price.

I found better customer service here than at any 3-4 star hotels.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun-n-Sand Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun-n-Sand Motel

Address: 347 South 100 E, Kanab, UT 84741
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE UNDER GOING A FACELIFT PLEASE BEAR WITH US! We provide clean, affordable lodging by the day or week. We accept pets. All rooms have fridges and microwaves. We also have "family rooms" which have 3 beds and two rooms with big "kitchen" area with dining table, fridge & microwave ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sun-n-Sands Hotel Kanab
Sun-n-Sand Motel Kanab, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun-n-Sand Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.