We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit seasoned but very comfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Inn Kanab

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Inn Kanab to your Saves list
Royal Inn Kanab
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   386 East 300 South, Kanab, UT 84741   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
North-Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A bit seasoned but very comfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed here for one night after a day of hard trekking and this hotel gave us a good night of sleep! The room was very quiet, clean and comfy. The breakfast was good, with a lot of juice, good muffins, milk and cereals and you can do a Waffel too. We had a coffee machine in our room and it was very useful if you're so tired that you don't want to go out! The parking lot was good and near, as usual in location of this type.
If you want to try something unusual for dinner, go to the Excobar Mexican Restaurant ... you can go on foot!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    27
    24
    30
See reviews for
22
37
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, null, Puerto Rico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I know the phrase "you get what you paid" but this is not the case. I've stay in a lot cheap hotels but this one is the worst of them. We found hairs in our pillow. After asking for a clean one, we were told that they did't have more pillows. The bathroom: horrible, black mold everywhere.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Can't believe this is getting good reviews. My wife was dreading staying here, so we left. Luckily Priceline was able to convince them to give us a refund.

Here's some reasons why: This is the first motel I've ever seen that has you go in through a main door to a 'room block' with your key, and your door is inside a long dark corridor. Usually motels doors are all accessed from outdoors. The entry there was dirty, (could barely see through the glass), the carpet looked old. We opened the room door and it would get stuck open. 2 beds took up most of the room, we went to the window to look out and there was a few feet back there before a fence with no view. a perfect place for someone to come sneak into your room at night. The window latch was broken! so could not lock it. No bars on the window. Turned on the TV, got fuzzy reception, and remote would not change channels. Small TV way up high and could see the cables hanging down. Next, the toilet was always running on, and would do a little 'flush' correction every five minutes to reset. The dark shower may have been clean, but the old fashioned square 'stall' version, was caulked with white caulk over black mold (trapped in the caulking), and so look dirty and my wife refused to set foot in there.

We really expected to see roaches or spiders but luckily did not.

The guy was actually nice about it and explained that they were renovating. That's great but those excuses did not help us out. Maybe people going back after these renos will have a better experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

I used this hotel for a guys trip. The price was amazing and the location was perfect for out trip to buckskin gulch and to attempt to obtain a permit to go to the wave. We did not get one but it was fun. The room was small but had what we needed to sleep and get out early in the morning. The fridge in the room was a huge plus. the owners were great, they gave us extra towels and anything else we requested. the breakfast was oatmeal, toast, waffles, and cold cereal. nothing spectacular but it was something to fill the gut and get going. I will be going back because we did not see everything we wanted to and it was just great for the price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

This met the needs of a place to stay for a few hours while on the road through Kanab although I feel that I spent more than the place was worth. The room was very small with the king bed pushed all the way against one wall. The bathroom and closet could have been better used for more room space. The bed was terrible--too many fat people have slept on it. I ended up just sleeping across the top of the bed (lucky it was a king) and thus did not wake up sore. The heater was very loud and even when it was not actually heating, it was still noisily blowing air. I ended up cranking it up to get the room warm then turned it off and hoped I would be warm enough through the night. Lucky for me, I had to wake up at 4:30 so when I woke up rather cold around 4, I just got up and left.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you're looking for a "nice" place to stay, move along from here, but if you want something that's adequate and seems to be the cheapest place to stay in Kanab then this is your place. The entire place needs to be updated but is comfortable enough with the basic amenities. Has a fairly average breakfast available as well.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

My wife had just been released from the hospital and we needed a 'Special Needs' accommodation without a reservation , these wonderful owners provided us with a room, at the last minute, changing a reservation to accommodate us with a room that not only took care of our needs but offered a Microwave, Refrigerator ,a comfortable bed and full service TV at the lowest price I have ever found in the US . A clean room with excellent, considerate service

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Inn Kanab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn Kanab

Address: 386 East 300 South, Kanab, UT 84741
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn Kanab 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Inn Kanab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Inn Kanab Hotel Kanab
Royal Inn Kanab Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Inn Kanab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.