We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST PLACE EVER BEEN - DON`T STAY HERE !!! SEE THE PICTURES!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Inn Kanab

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Royal Inn Kanab to your Saves list
Royal Inn Kanab
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   386 East 300 South, Kanab, UT 84741   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Sarasota
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“WORST PLACE EVER BEEN - DON`T STAY HERE !!! SEE THE PICTURES!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

CALCUTTA STYLE - MOTEL!!!
Very dirty, trash all over the place, the bed sheets havn´t been changed from the guests before, messy dirty breakfast, overflowing stinking trash bins in front of the lobby entrance, noisy washingmachines, open stinking trash containers right at the entrance to the main motel building, dirty corridor, dirty bathroom, most of the room furniture is broken, leaking dropping fauwcets, you can not close and lock the window of the motel room, DON`T STAY HERE.
This place really can harm your health, very very messy and dirty all over. It is better to sleep in the car!!! This place need to be checked up by the local health depertment the business needs to be closed, till everything got renovated. We booked online, did see the `nice`pictures in the internet, maybe taken 10 years ago??? I don´t know, how a place like this can be booked at expedia or hotels.com???? It needs to be removed there. When I checked in, the guy, sitting behind the counter was scratching his b...s inside his pants. Then he gave me the key. UGLY place, but there were no rooms in any other motel around. It is noisy at the main street.
DON`T STAY HERE !!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    18
    28
    25
    30
See reviews for
23
38
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012 via mobile

The rooms were small and I do mean small... I didn't measure, but less than 100 sq ft. The cheapest room was $35 for 2 double beds, we opted for the Queen for $10 more and he gave us a king for the same price.

There was a little mold on the caulk in the shower and the room was out dated, but for what we were looking for, it fit the bill exactly. We wanted cheap and we wanted convenient. The breakfast looked a little lacking, but most are, so we went to McDonalds. But there was free wifi, so it worked for us.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We reserved a room with two queen beds, and the room was not very large but very correct. It is not a luxury experience but it is VERY correct. Clean. Breakfast is not a charming experience, but you can do your own waffles ! Service is very friendly. I liked it. We did not reserve in advance and were very happy to end up here for such a low price...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

After a 530 mile drive this was literally the first place we came to that had vacancy signs up (probably a good reason for that!) And had I had internet access there would have been no way we would have stayed there. However we were all exhausted but I wished I had trusted my gut instincts, the reception smelt of a mixture of curry and incense, it was also not very clean.

But I went ahead and booked the room and as soon as we walked in I knew we had made a mistake. There were marks on the ceiling and after a fun game of guess the stain we settled on blood splatter marks. Also judging by the patch marks in the plaster board walls it was obvious how the blood got there! The TV in the room belonged in a museum and the Wifi was terrible, kept dropping out every 5 minutes.

In the interests of giving a balanced view though I would say that the bedding appeared clean and the bathroom was also of an acceptable standard. Overall though a depressing, grotty hole that we were glad to leave.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We arrived at Kanab after dark and all the nice hotels like the Victorian Inn were fully booked. We ended up at the Royal Inn. A curry taste greeted us at reception and the room was tiny and old. WiFi did not work well and the sheets smelled as if they had not been changed from the previous guest. It was just disgusting. The breakfast was practically non-existent, butter coming out of a bottle, etc. Now, this was definitely the worst hotel experience during our otherwise awesome trip.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tulsa, ok
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. First of all we reserved a room with two queen beds and when we arrived we discovered what they were selling as queen beds were actually double beds. The inside of the room was so tiny that the two full size beds took up the entire space. The room was has not been updated since the motel was built in the 60's. It smelled bad and looked very dingy. I was afraid of the bedspread coming into contact with my kids faces. I'm sure they haven't been washed in years. The bathroom walls were rotting out around the shower. If it hadn't been so late when we arrived I never would have stayed there. I was almost tempted to just spend the night in my car. It would have been much cleaner. I just can't describe how bad this place truly was. The mattresses on the beds were very old and worn out. The whole bed mattress slanted downhill on one side. I also killed the biggest roach I have ever seen at this place. This place was the biggest dump I have ever seen in all of my travels and it just needs to be torn down. If it's the only place left in town you would be better off to keep on driving or sleep in your car.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Montezuma, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Made the reservation online the day before arrival. Other places we had stayed were booked by all the bus loads of tourists this time of year. On arrival we were greeted by a friendly desk clerk, and easily checked in. The room was comfortable, nothing fancy, but adequate for the two of us and clean. Later in the evening when I returned to the office, there was a delicious aroma and I commented on it. The man kindly offered me a taste of the dish, cautioning me that it was spicy. It was delicious! not too spicy, in fact, I have a chocolate bar with chili that is far hotter! (serious, from the Lillie Belle Chocolates in Oregon...yummm, but that's another story.) Breakfast in the morning had a great waffle making setup, and very adequate 'continental breakfast.' Have had many just like it at fancier motels. I'll stay here again. Thanks! (we did drive back into town a few blocks to enjoy shopping and entertainment.)

Room Tip: Rooms on side opposite the parking area might have less light outside. The light outside anyway did...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Inn Kanab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn Kanab

Address: 386 East 300 South, Kanab, UT 84741
Location: United States > Utah > Kanab
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 Hotels in Kanab
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn Kanab 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Inn Kanab reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Inn Kanab Hotel Kanab
Royal Inn Kanab Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Inn Kanab, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.