We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shooting Star Saloon

Shooting Star Saloon
7345 E 200 S, Huntsville, UT 84317-9711
(801) 745-2002
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Restaurants in Huntsville
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Hamburgers
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Provo, Utah
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The Shooting Star Saloon is a great, old fashion, western bar, with personality plus. Everything in the building (from the dollar bills scattered across the ceiling to the moose head above the ATM) has a story. One of the signs on a wall says, "We serve Beer, Burgers, Chips, Beer. In order to save the rain forests in South America, we do not serve fries, salads, etc." And that's the truth. They have 3 burgers, chips, sodas, and beer. The star burger is worth getting. It's a heart attack waiting to happen, but worth it. No one under 21 is allow to enter, but for anyone over 21 it's worth the visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“My oh my - the Starburger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is a great old bar! Where so many others try to recreate the saloon experience, this is the real thing, a genuine Old West saloon. Against the odds (and in Utah those odds are particularly long), this place has survived since 1879 and is a part of American history. The staff are happy to fill you in on the history of their little bar if you ask nicely and the walls are covered with all sorts of ephemera including a the stuffed head of a St. Bernard. The Starburger is possibly the unhealthiest thing I have ever eaten, but it certainly tasted good with a couple of beers. I have a photo of it that I look at whenever I need motivation to go to he gym.

Make sure you stop by if you're in the vicinity!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Unique”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

The food is okay, the place is not spotless, the bathroom is a little primitive, but you can't beat the uniqueness of the place and the fun feeling you get there. Be ready to accept some gruff treatment from the staff. I think that's part of the ambiance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eden, Utah
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“YOU GOT TO SEE THIS PLACE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

They put the Hole in HOLE in the WALL and they like it that way.. Great food and Great ambiance, a must see and fun adventure.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Odd Place - But Definetly worth the visit if ......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

In Ogden, Liberty, or Huntsville, if you like burgers.

Place is small and not much on the menu as it is primarily a bar, and one of the oldest in Utah. The burger to get is the Shooting Star Burger, aka The Star Burger. Constantly voted a top burger in all of the ski magazines.

It's a townie bar that outsiders (skiers) visit. Typically Mountain/Western motif with animal heads on the Wall, including Buck The Dog, the head of 300 lb St. Bernard that was once the owners. Ceiling is plastered with dollar bills

Place has a small sitting bar and about 6 to 8 tables and pool table in the main room. Jukebox, but not much else.

It's a nice place to grab a unique burger and brew at the end of hard ski day if your skiing Snowbasin or Powder Mtn.

I frequented this place often when I lived in Ogden and now make it a point to get a Star Burger any time I visit Huntsville/Snowbasin.

NOTE: Folks under 18 are not allowed in per Utah Law.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shooting Star Saloon also viewed

 

Been to Shooting Star Saloon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shooting Star Saloon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.