We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lodge at Stillwater

Save Saved
You added Lodge at Stillwater to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lodge at Stillwater
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1364 West Stillwater Dr, Heber City, UT 84032   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Heber City
Kalama, wa
2 reviews
“Great for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We had an enjoyable time here. We stayed during the "off-season" (May) and had the place almost to ourselves. We had a two-bedroom condo with three full bathrooms for only $150! Very necessary for our family of 11 (9 kids). We have seldom found a place that caters their rooms to large families, but this was just perfect. The underground parking garage was wonderful too.

The kitchen was a dream! They had nicer appliances than we do at home (even a dishwasher). It was well stocked with supplies and soap. Room service didn't visit our room the first day after we were there, which was an inconvenience because we didn't have enough towels for another day. The large table, when combined with the coffee table served our family well (we brought our own little kid chairs to go around the smaller table).

We got in late - 9:00 p.m. our first night and it was frustrating we couldn't get extra pillows or blankets. The pillows and towels *were* soft and fluffy. The bed was "average" and the Internet connection was superb (again, much nicer than we have at home)! The TV's worked fine and the curtains were dark and keep out a lot of the morning light.

The carpets are definitely worn and could stand to be replaced.

The down side (which was *huge* in our book) was the heating/cooling couldn't be trusted. Our little boys woke up the first morning to their room at 50 degrees - even though we had set the thermostat to 67. *Our* bedroom however, stayed the correct temperature. The next night we couldn't cool any of the rooms off - even the "cool" setting raised the temps to 75 (when they were again set at 67). We finally just turned them off and let the rooms regulate themselves with the outside air temperature and they did better the next two nights.

All in all, this is a good place for a large family on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    18
    10
    9
    15
See reviews for
27
32
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davidson, North Carolina, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I had the pleasure to stay at the Lodge at Stillwater during my first visit to the area. The Lodge was extremely peaceful and quaint. Waking up to such breathtaking views was amazing. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms with views of the lake and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Who is in charge here? Anyone? Typical of the Condo-format hotel, the developer exits and no real hotel operator or operation exists. Operation by a homeowner association never makes for a true hotel nor a good hotel experience. Management either is uninterested in making a nice hotel experience, or unable.

This property and its location, certainly have potential, yet it lacks management and a hotel operation. The experience is more of a dirty suburban rental apartment complex. Under the current operation I would not return.

Property specifics:

Rooms are small
King beds are unavailable
Ant infestation
TV was an old tube-type maybe 19"
TV did not work for 3 of 4 days of stay
Sheets were white, but turning gray from poor quality and overuse
Blanket was frayed
Carpet was filthy, worn in the hallways and mounding from improper installation
Room thermostat was inoperable, can't regulate temperature, always uncomfortably hot
Front desk staff was friendly and polite, but not powered to rectify problems
Hotel is not staffed after 9PM
Exterior of building is poorly lit, giving a ghostly effect
Maids knock on the door
Soap is not refilled
TV cabinet is the only storage for clothing
No restaurant or or food service on site, nor nearby

Room Tip: Go someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom condo through TAN with two full baths on the second floor. It was very clean. Room 2057-2059 (two studios converted to one condo). Full kitchen and TVs in both rooms. The lodge is very nice from the outside but could use perking up on the inside. Even a few pictures or something on the walls would help. The only complaint about the condo is the bed sagged and was very lumpy. Not good for someone with a bad back. I could deal with a tiny place if the bed is decent. This one needs some attention. The lodge is in a great location and has great views from all directions. Has free underground parking which is a bonus and is accessible to most places as it is right off Route 40. Would stay again but would need a firmer mattress.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

NOT what I had expected at all!!! I didn't realize that this property was a "condo" style hotel rental with private owners. I too purchased the Grouon and looked over the Lodge at Stillwater's website, and it seemed like a classy place with an awesome location. So we purchased.

The building is very pretty from the outside. However, once upon entering we noticed stained an dirty carpets. The hallway to our room had "rolls" in the carpet and stains ( a very large red stain too) and even stained carpet in our room.

The staff is less than friendly. We did arrive at about 7:05pm and were greeted by staff that didn't seem very happy to be staying after her allocated depature time. Overall, just seems very odd that after 7pm is considered "late check-in".

As for the hotel room, it was pretty small and crowded. I have stayed at La Quinta Inn's that have better floor plans than this. The TV was a joke. Not even centered in front of the bed or chairs. Odd angle to watch from. And the TV was small and had a VHS player. No DVD. Really? When I called the dest to ask if they had a room w/ a DVD player or if they had one we could use, she said that "they owners just don't put money into the rooms anymore. Most of them purchased the units about 10 years ago and have lost 1/3 of their investment" Wow! They did end up letting us use a DVD player that could be plugged into the TV, but what a pain.

The baseboards in our bathroom were warped. The curtains broke when we tried to close them. The Lodge at Stillwater just looked so nice from the website. When I left all I could think of is the scence in European Vacation when the Griswalds check into the hotel that looks nothing like the brochure pictures.

Grouon or no Grouon, I would not stay here again. It is not even worth the $119 they have listed on their site for a hotel room. We could of saved money by staying at a motel in SLC and had a better room than this.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I had the pleasure of residing in the Lodge at Stillwater for an extended period of time during the Winter of 2011. This place is great: it has charm, palatial views of the surrounding mountains and reservoir, top-knotch accommodations, and a tremendously friendly staff. Amy, the Lodge manager, could not be more accommodating of my needs and boy is she easy on the eyes. I would highly recommend this property to any prospective lodgers.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrLauren, Director of Sales at Lodge at Stillwater, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are so happy you enjoyed the lodge and hope that we will be seeing you again this winter.
Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogden, Utah
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We also got a groupon for this hotel. I was terrified after reading reviews about how horrible it is closer to our stay, because it was a lot of fun.

The Lodge was easy to find, right off the freeway and very accessible. I checked in within minutes - my family waited in the car. They have free underground parking which was nice and we were able to get a spot every time very close to the elevator. The hotel has three floors and is pretty cozy. We got to our room. It's not huge, but I've definately stayed in smaller. We had the smallest option of rooms. It was VERY clean and very updated. The linens were clean and high quality, the towels were very large and super soft and fluffy. I was really impressed with little things like that. There was a TV with VCR that would have been very easy to hook in an aux-type device if the TV was a higher priority on our list. The furniture was nice, and although we didn't have a patio, the sliding door opened all the way and we had a great view and had good circulation throughout the room. The weather was wonderful. The bathroom was spacious and I loved the stone tile. We cheched out the pool which was open and the three small hot tubs. Two of the three were warm, and one was pool-temperature which was perfect for our daughter to play in.

Our stay was meant to be an anniversary stay but when babysitting fell through our 2 year old daughter came. It was still a lot of fun. It's about 10 minutes to park city where we went to eat and enjoy the shops and scenery. They have an outlet mall that I was able to spend hours at and they had a play area for my daughter.

The bed was super comfy and we slept well with no other noise. They do not staff the front desk from 7pm-11am but there is a number to call and I assume some sort of housekeeping or other staff was available on site - we didn't need any other services so it didn't matter to us. Check out was a breeze - we just left our cards. I was thoroughly impressed despite all the reviews I read.

The cons: there was a washcloth from a previous stay that was crunched in the shower curtain and when we moved the bedside table for the pack-n-play you can tell it hadn't been vacuumed under recently. Otherwise everything was REALLY clean. The TV was older but for us that wasn't a priority. Also, it would have been nice to be able to ready things about the hotel (times things are open and closed, info about the pool and activities, check out procedures, ect) because I didn't find anything on those things. Some people complained about the "breakfast" which was a biscottiand a water but we didn't care about that. For the price we paid ($70) It was a lot of fun and would stay again if the price was right.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MgrLauren, Director of Sales at Lodge at Stillwater, responded to this review, November 1, 2011
Thank you for staying with us Kate B. If you have the opportunity to return please call directly and let me know.
We appreciate your kind words and feedback.

For those future travelers reading reviews I wanted to clarify a bit of miscommunication... the Lodge does not offer a breakfast... we do however have a simple welcome amenity delivered to the room. It is a little something to say welcome and thank you for staying with us.

Our cafe will be reopening for the winter season December 15 serving breakfast Thursday - Sunday and dinner Thursday - Saturday.

Kate B. , thanks again - hope to see you soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lodge at Stillwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Stillwater

Address: 1364 West Stillwater Dr, Heber City, UT 84032
Location: United States > Utah > Wasatch Range > Heber City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Heber City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lodge at Stillwater 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With such an abundance of lodging options in the Park City area, we appreciate your consideration of The Lodge at Stillwater. The Lodge at Stillwater is one of the few remaining “undiscovered” gems in the Park City area. Located at the Jordanelle Reservoir, and just across the road from Deer Valley’s Jordanelle Express Gondola- The Lodge at Stillwater is the perfect base camp for whatever adventure awaits you.We are located just minutes outside of Park City, Utah. Enjoy complimentary shuttle service to area skiing, shopping, dining, and more.We look forward to your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Lodge at Stillwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Stillwater Hotel Heber City
Hotel At Stillwater
Lodge At Stillwater Heber City, Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lodge at Stillwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.