We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hatch Station

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hatch Station to your Saves list
Hatch Station
177 S Main, Hatch, UT 84735   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hatch
GreenLeadersSilver level
Anchorage, AK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Very clean, small rooms located near Bryce Canyon Natl' Park. Owners will contact you if you haven't checked in by 4pm or so. Let them know when you'll arrive and save your sweet room :) once in cell reception, there was a msg from the owner, then a msg left with them, then I received an email as well. When they say 8pm, they mean it, I think!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    36
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
13
49
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed at this local spot after reading great reviews and wasn't disappointed. We checked in after hours and were thrilled to have cute country chic room. The room was on the small side but had everything we needed. The room had spacious queen size beds, a refrigerator and microwave. The room was very clean. Would definitely recommend this place and would stay again if I was ever in the area again.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hatch Station motel on our return from California. This is our second time to stay there. The motel is modest in size but has a quirky charm that we love. The manager, Bob, is very personable and we had several nice conversations with him. He gave us areas to visit to view wildlife that are off the main roads. The room was clean and large enough for the both of us with a spectacular view of the valley and mountains. The attached restaurant is wonderful with great food. On our previous stay, we each had the best prime rib we have ever eaten. Unfortunately, the prime rib is only served on Friday and Saturday now so we missed out but the steaks were very, very good. Jeff, the chef, knows how to prepare great meals and we had a couple of nice chats with him as well. He actually remembered us from our previous visit. We also enjoyed eating breakfast at the Galaxy diner (50's themed) a short drive down the road that is also owned by Mike, the motel owner. Didn't get the manager's name, but he and his wife were very personable and we enjoyed talking to them. Breakfast was very good both times we were there. We highly recommend both the motel and diner for anyone traveling in southwest Utah. Close to Bryce Canyon and Zion parks with clean and comfortable rooms at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

In short:
+ Clean
+ Comfortable beds
+ Shower which worked
+ Very low rates
+ Nice and helpful staff
+ Just 25 minutes commute to Bryce canyon
- Terrible Wifi
- Noisy traffic at night
- Small rooms where you don't want to spend your evening.

Bottom line: Something special after all these chain hotels but don't expect any comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Our stay at Hatch Station was great! Our experience of hospitality was exactly what the West (and everywhere) should be like. We stayed one night in late October. Having watched the sunset at Bryce Canyon the day after a snowfall, we got there after dark. We soon realized there were no other cars there except one by the convenience store which belonged to the manager (Mike, I believe). We were very late in the season, especially being about a half-hour from Bryce and he told us many others canceled reservations when the government shutdown closed the parks for awhile. It's sad that good local businesses were hurt unnecessarily. We were hungry and wondered about a place to eat. Again, time of season and time of night meant nothing was open in a small town. He was very kind and understanding, insisting on making a nice collection of items from the convenience store for us without charge and we bought a couple additional items to supplement. With that and the fridge and microwave in our room, we had a good simple meal for supper and breakfast along with great memories of western hospitality! The room is not huge, but had everything we needed. The bathroom as others mentioned is rather small, but definitely manageable. Our room was set back from the road and what little traffic there was certainly didn't bother us. It was a cold night down to about 20 degrees and the heater kept the room very comfortable. Only slight issue was that the heater made a noise each time it cycled to heat, but we soon ignored that. You won't want to stay here if you expect a fancy hotel. But if you want a good clean room in a rustic setting at a great value with a friendly host, you'll enjoy Hatch Station!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
261 reviews 261 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Driving at night and looking for somewhere to sleep and we came across this Jewel. It doesn't look like much but it was one of the cleanest rooms we have stayed at. Two queen beds in our room. Small bathroom but neat and clean. Refrigerator/freezer and microwave in each room. Modern and they work well. Their office is in their convenience store with motel hours from 4PM to 10PM at this time of the year. We were checked in by Bob who was friendly and helpful. He also cooked for us in their attached restaurant (see separate report). During this low season they have reduced staff and hours but still met our needs. Several other rooms were occupied that evening too. This is just what weary travelers want, a clean comfortable room at a reasonable price. Don't need room service, etc. Highly recommend and will stay there again if we pass that way again. It is located in Hatch, UT between Zion and Bryce Canyon National Parks, closer to Bryce. Bob told us that the recent stupid Government Shutdown caused them to have 200 reservations cancelled. This was lost revenue that they will never make up. It wasn't just the government workers that suffered.

Room Tip: A little road noise but not bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Quaint little motel in a small little Utah roadside town...this is the kind of place that comes to mind from some independent film about the American West and old school roadside motels in small towns. It is a 30 min drive to Bryce Canyon from here-better located for Bryce than Zion. The rooms are fine for one night with a small tv, small refrig and room heater that worked just fine. Bathrooms are small but serviceable.Nothing fancy but for the price not bad at all. I would not plan my whole vacation around this place but not a bad option for a night when exploring the beautiful parks of Utah. Chances are if you are in this part of the world you are not here to hang out very long in your room-to much natural beauty to explore outside. Has a small train dining car themed little cafe attached that fits with the theme. Like an old vision of route 66. Important note: if you want beer or wine to enjoy after a day of hiking stock up before hand and bring your own to enjoy in your room! Did not see any beer in this town-just saying.

Room Tip: maybe try and get an end room-less walls to share
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hatch Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hatch Station

Address: 177 S Main, Hatch, UT 84735
Location: United States > Utah > Hatch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Hatch
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 guest rooms, including 2 family suites. Newly refurbished interiors. All rooms have Direct TV on LED TV's, FREE wi-fi access, pets okay(with deposit), all rooms non-smoking, air conditioning, heat. Public Laundromat and convenience store on premises.New Expresso and Coffee house to open this season. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hatch Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hatch Station Utah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hatch Station, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.